IGNORED

Changing My Practice Routine, Influenced by LPGA Tour Winners at My Home Course

Nave

Hello everyone

To my surprise LPGA tour pro and 2017 US Open winner Park Sung-hyun has recently been practicing at my home course in Las Vegas every day.
There is a TPC facility nearby, but for some reason she and other players from Korea are hanging out at the low-key Siena GC.

I am sharing my story and learnings here.
It is my first time to ever see or meet a top tour pro in person and watch them regularly close-up. Maybe my observations are not new for you.

My observations are from regularly seeing them for two weeks on the practice range and on the course.
I did get a chance to speak with Park as I play twice a week and practice there regularly.

Practice Range:
Simply said one can tell that Park hits each shot with a purpose.
She spends hours on the range, but she practices very slowly and hits fewer balls in total than most folks do in one hour.
For example:
- Without hitting a ball, she starts with slow motion swings with an emphasis on hip movement and body part sequencing
- Then she steps back to the thinking zone behind the ball for 12-14 seconds each time (I actually timed it)
- Once she commits, she steps into the action zone and swings one practice swing and hits the ball always within 7 seconds (I timed it)
- She spends a long time in her finishing pose and then steps away to review recordings

Occasionally I see her spending minutes on fine tuning her stance only.
She literally stands and moves her feet and ball position, wiggles her hip, shifts weight from leg to leg.

On the Course:
During an afternoon off-peak time I had the tee time behind Park and got to observe her play.
She played so slow that I arrived to watch her tee off.
The reason she was playing slow is that she was analyzing each lie, target, and shot.
On the field she discussed her actions with another person who seemed to be another Korean professional player.