IGNORED

Lessons?

Note: This thread is 6565 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

I'm new to this site, but I have been browsing for the past month -- I impressed by the advice and tips given by members.

I have been playing for about five years, and am going nowhere fast. The more I play, the worse it gets. The newer the equipment I buy, the more inconsistent I am. I started maintaining a handicap around 1/1/06, and it is currently at 22. The trend I notice is that I keep making the same mistakes again and again. Slice of the tee, iron play is inconsistent, etc., etc. Up until now, instruction has consisted of the Golf channel, Golf Digest, Golf Magazine, fellow golfers, etc.

I am seriously considering getting lessons to overhaul my swing (a la Tiger after the 1997 Masters!). I need help to make sure my grip, address, swing, etc. is correct. I need a repeatable swing - now when I step up to the ball, I'm not sure which swing is going to show up.

Can anyone please share their thoughts regarding lessons, how it helped them, what to look for in a quality instructor, what to focus on, etc.

I'm addicted to this game - I don't think I can give it up.

WITB: Driver: Titleist 910 D2 10.5 R / 5 Wood: r7 ti / Irons: Ping G15 Steel R (3-P, U), / Wedges: Vokey SM4 56/11 SM4 60/07 / Putter: Scotty GoLo 33" / Ball: Titleist Velocity / Shoes: Adidas Tour 360 4.0 / GPS: SG3

Lessons are a tricky thing because it all really depends on two things - your relationship with the instructor, and your willingness to stick with the things he shows you even when it seems like you can't hit the green from 20 yards away.