IGNORED

Teeing off for beginners

shermanM4A1
Note: This thread is 5505 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Is there a rule that golfers may only tee off using a driver?

I am a beginner and I find the driver a difficult club to play with due to its long shaft. I feel more comfortable teeing off with my 5 wood since the shaft is not as long. Distance is not really a factor yet, as I hit my woods around the same distance.

Eventually, I'll get a driver, but I just don't feel I am ready to use one yet.

In my bag:

R540 Driver
Stan Thompson "Ginty" 5 wood
Burner LCG 3-PW, SW, LW putter (mallet) and golf balls

You can use any club heck you can whip out your putter on the first tee

In My Hank Haney IJGA Bag
Driver: FT Tour 9.5 w/ Aldila Voodoo Stiff
3 Wood: i15 15.5 w/ avixcore red stiff
Hybrids: Rescue 09 19, 22 w/ fujikara fit on stiff
Irons: 4 & 5 MP-52, 6-PW MP-58 w/ KBS Tour Stiff Wedges: MP T-10 52*, 58* w/ KBS Tour StiifPutter: Fastback 1 34 inBall: : Pro...

You may tee off with any club you would like.

In my Xtreme Sport bag
'09 Burner 9.5*
F50 15* 3 Wood
Burner 18* 5 Wood
MX-19 4-GW SV Tour 54.12 & 58.08 White Hot 2-Ball SRT

Use a club you're comfortable with. If you can't hit your driver comfortably on the range, it's not going to suddenly start working for you when you get to the tee...

In the bag:
FT-iQ 10° driver, FT 21° neutral 3H
T-Zoid Forged 15° 3W, MX-23 4-PW
Harmonized 52° GW, Tom Watson 56° SW, X-Forged Vintage 60° LW
White Hot XG #1 Putter, 33"

Is there a rule that golfers may only tee off using a driver?