IGNORED

Golf Beginner needs help w/ clubs

Note: This thread is 5358 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Hey guys,
I'm a golfing beginner and looking to buy my golf clubs soon so I can get into a class and learn the game.
What are the essential clubs I need in my bag? (Obviously a driver, putter, irons). I'm confused with the woods/Hybrids and the wedges. Like, do I need woods if Im going to get a hybrid? What hybrids would I need? How do I decide what the club degree needs to be? Regular or Stiff flex? What number wood/hybrid do I need? etc....

Any advice would be appreciated as none of my immediate family members know anything about golf.

Thanks.

I would check ebay for a set of used clubs. This is what I did, and substituted my own putter and a few wedges, etc for feel. You can always take out clubs you don't like, and get an idea of which clubs work best for you... worst case scenario, you don't like any and put it back on ebay for the next beginner golfer... and there is no exact measurement really, golf equipment is completely about what works best for YOU

Bag: Cheapo
Driver:983K
Woods: Steelhead
Irons-PW: X-12
SW: 56* CG14LW: 60* CG14Putter:Craz-E "I Series"BallNY, NY"Chinch Bugs"

Its a nice set, but if you find out you dont like this game alot you might regret it, but its a great set 4 u.

OHIO

In my Revolver Bag
R9 460, RIP
R9 TP 3 Wood, Diamana 'ilima 70*Idea Pro Black 20*Titleist AP1 712 4-AW Spin Milled Black Nickel 56.08 & 60.10

DUDE... don't do it!! Look up those clubs on golfsmith or Rockbottomgolf... you can buy them all new for less. I just looked and the price was $660. No offense to the seller or the bidders, but that's gettin a little pricey for that set. Yes, it's in nice shape, but remember that they're used. 149 on golfsmith for the driver, 399 for the iron set, both new.