• Announcements

    • iacas

      GAME GOLF Ryder Cup Contest   09/22/2016

      Join our GAME GOLF Ryder Cup Challenge to win an autographed GAME GOLF, a Pebble Steel watch, and many more great prizes!
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
JohnnyB

I am missing all of my putts right

9 posts in this topic

About a month ago I started just not making anything over like 10 feet.  Literally can go out and hit 14 greens and make one birdie.   I have always been a straight back and straight through putter.   I was using a Scotty Cameron 2.6.   I recently even bought a center shafted two ball Odyssey and put an oversized, ok jumbo, Winn group on it.   I actually lag putter even better with this putter, but still can't help but miss putts right.

I probably need to give more information on this, but any tips that may be something I need to look for or check would be great.  And please, no one tell me to aim further left, this somehow hasn't helped either.

I am striking the ball as good as I ever have, and can't get a putt to fall.   Any help ( maybe center shafted putters aren't for me? ) would be appreciated.   Thanks

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Want to get rid of this advertisement? Sign up (or log in) today! It's free!

Check to make sure that you arent bringing the club to the inside on your backswing and make sure you have your eyes over the ball on your setup.

If you dont have your eyes over the ball its going to totally screw up your aim.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

As simple as chipotle's advice sounds. I'd recommend equally as simple advice.

Keep your head still.

A lot of people like to watch their ball fall into the hole, more often then not they peek even before the ball has been struck. Your head comes up, your shoulders open to the target, you push your putt. Gary Player says to listen for the ball to fall into the hole. This is extra important on the downhill sliders. Keep yourself as still as possible.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Check your alignment. It could just be where you are aiming.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I was pushing the ball right too until my golf pro noticed I was bringing my core up while I putted. Keep your head down yes but you need to keep your core down too.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Are you swinging the putter with your arms or rocking your shoulders? Putting with the arms can lead to pushes.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I've just recently experienced the same issue after 20 years of pulling putts left.  I noticed Friday that the ball had crept back in my stance to the center instead of below my LEFT eye (slightly forward).  To fix this, I took an old CD (one I got in junk mail) to the practice putting green and placed the ball in the hole.  I set-up over the ball and make sure I can see my reflection of my right eye in the CD behind the ball.  Putt the ball from the CD with your chest or sternum, the same turn around your central core or spine as in full shots.  This seemed to cure my pushes.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Couple of things.

Ball could be to far back in your stance (not slightly left of center)?

Secondly, if all things are equal with your setup and aim, then I noticed the putter equipment you're playing is all setup to prevent the hooking of putts. Your Newport 2.6 doesn't have much Toe Hang.  Also, I'm not to sure but the center shafted two ball Odyssey, I'm sure, is also fully face balanced or has a slight Toe Hang and coupled with the oversized grip, you are doing everything possible to eliminate putts from going left...lol.

Maybe play around with a normal gripped Toe Hang putter that will close easier and who knows, that may just get your putts moving down your line.  If a putter with extreme Toe Hang gets you hooking putts, then you know somewhere inbetween is where you need to be.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0



  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • 2016 TST Partners

    GAME Golf
    PING Golf
    Lowest Score Wins
  • Posts

    • 27/6   Player Unable to Find His Ball Because Another Player Played It Q.A and B hit their tee shots into the same general area. A found a ball and played it. B went forward to look for his ball and could not find it. After a few minutes, B started back to the tee to put another ball into play. On the way, he found A's ball and knew then that A had played his (B's) ball in error. What is the ruling? A.In match play, A lost the hole (Rule 15-3a). In stroke play, A incurred a penalty of two strokes for playing a wrong ball and must then play his own ball (Rule 15-3b). A's ball was not lost even if A and B had been searching for more than five minutes because A had not "begun to search for it (his ball)"; the searching had been for B's ball - see Definition of "Lost Ball." On the other hand, B began to search for his ball as soon as he went forward to look for it. If less than five minutes had elapsed before B found A's ball, B should have placed a ball on the spot from which A had wrongly played his (B's) ball and continued play, without penalty - see last paragraph of Rule 15-3b. However, if five minutes had expired, B's original ball was lost and he was obliged to put another ball into play under penalty of stroke and distance (Rule 27-1).
    • No offense, but in my opinion this makes you unprepared to discuss it.
    • Every year, something is changed in a club design.  The real differences are minimal, assuming your current clubs are from within the last 10 or so years (just throwing out a random number).

      However, I just got upgraded to the Ping G driver from the Ping G30, and the big change I noticed is the face of the driver has a bit more friction on the G (at least as I understand it).  What it seems to do is reduce side spin, while retaining normal-ish back spin (I use the low-spin tec version).  When I miss-hit a drive with my old driver vs the newer one, I see noticeably less slice or hook with the newer version.
        When I go through those articles, I mostly read through the reviews of them.  It gives a better idea of what might be better.
    • Right, but then you're just getting into however different people value different things (including money, the performance of their golf clubs, the looks of the golf clubs, the value of a name brand, etc.). People have different values. For something like this, there's rarely any agreement on those, nor is there any "right" or "wrong" answers. I use a set of muscle backs that could just as easily be from the 1950s as now. The tech on those isn't really improving much (though the shafts are undoubtedly much better).
    • We went round and round a bit on this last year, but I don't remember seeing decision 15-3b/1 mentioned.  The difference between this decision and 27/6 seems to be that B's ball is found in a timely manner.  The finding of the "other" ball makes it virtually certain that A's ball was moved by an outside agency (Player B).  In the other thread, B's ball is never found.  27/6 allows the same kind of relief as long as the "other" ball is found within the 5-minute search limit.  As I read the rules and decisions, this is a timing issue,  the rules require a decision to be made within 5 minutes of beginning the search for A's ball.  If the "other ball" isn't found, its presumed lost.   In a way this is somewhat similar to another discussion we had, where a player's ball apparently hit a cart path and went much further than anticipated.  He searched and didn't find it at the expected distance, went back and played another tee shot for the lost ball, and eventually found the original much closer to the green.  He couldn't then put the original into play and "negate" the second tee ball, as he'd already searched for 5 minutes. I don't know if the difference in the timing of the discovery is adequate justification for the different outcomes, but that seems to me to be the defining factor.  It would be interesting to get the take of some of the USGA rules experts on this, not on what the rules say, but on why they draw the distinction.
  • TST Blog Entries

  • Images

  • Today's Birthdays

    1. bandstan
      bandstan
      (46 years old)
    2. boobiemiles
      boobiemiles
      (25 years old)
    3. ElsieOlson
      ElsieOlson
      (77 years old)
    4. Matt66
      Matt66
      (26 years old)
  • Blog Entries