IGNORED

Suggestions: Lessons or Clinic ?

Scott L
Note: This thread is 6243 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Hey all, Im new to golf. I actually bought most of my clubs and started last year. But didnt take it too seriously and only played about 6-7 times all last year. I made it my own personal commitment to play alot more this year and TRY and get better. I really enjoy the game of golf.

So to date, I have probably only played 10 rounds max. So I was thinking, I assume golf is like anything else and bad habbits are hard to break. So I thought that since Im so new and dont really have any habits yet, I should learn the correct stance, swing, etc...

I was thinking of getting some personal lessons. But not really sure how to find the right teacher. I dont want to just drive up to the closest course and hire their "pro" and he suck and it be a waste of my money or worse, not help me.. Also, what should I expect? How many lessons should I take to get me on my feet? What is the average price?

I did some internet searching and came across Hank Haney's site. As some of you probably know, he is Tiger Wood's trainer. Golfdigest.com ranks him as the #4 teacher in America. But hiring him is like $600/hour and I cannot really afford that. Not to mention I suspect he is probably geared more toward experienced golfers and not hackers like me... But he does have a whole staff of guys he supposedly trained and they teach using his techniques.. The range from $60/hour to $250/hour depending on the experience of the instructors.

I called and they said they also offer a beginners clinic. Its only $199. Its 5 days (1 day a week, 1 hour each). You are in a small group of only 4 people and they cover all aspects of game. They video you and analyze your swing, etc.