Jump to content
Subscribe to the Spin Axis Podcast! ×
Note: This thread is 5209 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Recommended Posts

Posted

Last night on the Golf Channel, I saw a highlight from some tourny over the weekend.  I had the TV muted, was caring for our foster dog who just came home from back surgery and didn't catch 100% of what was going on on TV.

Apparently, there was a golfer in a green side bunker.  After his shot, the ball came back to rest in the bunker.  As this happened, a caddie (I assume his) was raking the bunker about 10 feet behind the golfer.

Judging by the body language of the caddie, it looked like that was a no-no and I'm guessing they got a stroke penalty for it or worse.

Can anyone elaborate on this ruling for me?

I'm just curious.  The caddie looked very embarrassed.

Member: Branch River Country Club

Taylormade Burner Superfast Driver

Warrior Custom 3 hybrid

Taylormade Burner Superlaunch Irons 4-PW

Taylormade White Smoke MC-72 putter


Posted
13-4. Ball in Hazard; Prohibited Actions

Except as provided in the Rules , before making a stroke at a ball that is in a hazard (whether a bunker or a water hazard ) or that, having been lifted from a hazard , may be dropped or placed in the hazard, the player must not:

a. Test the condition of the hazard or any similar hazard ;

b. Touch the ground in the hazard or water in the water hazard with his hand or a club; or

c. Touch or move a loose impediment lying in or touching the hazard .

Exceptions:

1. Provided nothing is done that constitutes testing the condition of the hazard or improves the lie of the ball, there is no penalty if the player (a) touches the ground or loose impediments in any hazard or water in a water hazard as a result of or to prevent falling, in removing an obstruction , in measuring or in marking the position of, retrieving, lifting, placing or replacing a ball under any Rule or
(b) places his clubs in a hazard .

2. After making the stroke, if the ball is still in the hazard or has been lifted from the hazard and may be dropped or placed in the hazard , the player may smooth sand or soil in the hazard , provided nothing is done to breach Rule 13-2 with respect to his next stroke . If the ball is outside the hazard after the stroke , the player may smooth sand or soil in the hazard without restriction.

3. If the player makes a stroke from a hazard and the ball comes to rest in another hazard , Rule 13-4a does not apply to any subsequent actions taken in the hazard from which the stroke was made.

Note: At any time, including at address or in the backward movement for the stroke , the player may touch, with a club or otherwise, any obstruction, any construction declared by the Committee to be an integral part of the course or any grass, bush, tree or other growing thing.

Penalty For Breach of Rule:
Match play - Loss of hole; Stroke play - Two strokes.

To prevent any discussions/confusion with playing partners: Don't touch the sand


Posted

13-4/36 Smoothing Irregularities in Bunker After Stroke But Before Ball Extricated

Q. A makes a stroke in a bunker but fails to extricate his ball from the bunker. He smoothes irregularities in the area where the stroke was made. The smoothing does not breach Rule 13-2 with respect to his next stroke. However, B, his opponent, claims that the smoothing assisted A in his subsequent play of the hole because it constituted testing the consistency of the sand. Is B right?

A. No. In such circumstances Exception 2 to Rule 13-4 permits smoothing, provided nothing is done to breach Rule 13-2 with respect to the player's next stroke.

As long as the area smoothed was not on his line of play for his next shot, then no rule was breached.  It is reasoned that since he already played a stroke from that bunker, he already knows the condition of it and raking no longer constitutes testing the condition.

Rick

"He who has the fastest cart will never have a bad lie."

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted


Originally Posted by Fourputt

As long as the area smoothed was not on his line of play for his next shot, then no rule was breached.  It is reasoned that since he already played a stroke from that bunker, he already knows the condition of it and raking no longer constitutes testing the condition.

Yeah, the caddie was racking nowhere near the golfer nor his line to the green, so I was confused.

I wish I had a DVR to rewind and see it again.  Nothing on the web about it either...

Member: Branch River Country Club

Taylormade Burner Superfast Driver

Warrior Custom 3 hybrid

Taylormade Burner Superlaunch Irons 4-PW

Taylormade White Smoke MC-72 putter


Posted

Patrick Cantlay was playing Kelly Kraft in the final of the US Amateur at Erin Hills, Wisconsin on Sunday.  What I saw on TV was this.  His ball stayed in the trap after his first shot.  He glanced over his shoulder and saw his caddie raking the other end of the bunker.  He believed that was a penalty, and conceded the hole.  Only then did he discover (as explained in earlier posts) that there was no penalty, but a concession cannot be retracted so the hole was lost by Cantlay.  The championship was finally lost by Cantlay at the 36th hole. He made 2 or 3  errors that which proved fatal for his chances.

In addition to the points made earlier about the bunker rule, permission to rake after a shot but away from the line of play exists for extremely long bunkers (such as alongside a water hazard where I've seen bunkers100+ yards in length).  Who wants to knock his ball forward 30 yards, then another 20, then another 20 before finally hitting it out of the sand, and then has to go back and smooth over every place from which he played?

Incidentally, there are other situations when the sand can be touched prior to a shot being taken in a bunker.  For example, you can take several clubs into a bunker with you, and lay down all those you don't want to use.  You could take your whole bag into the bunker and lay it down (not recommended!).  No rule would be breached.


Posted

Really? I wasn't aware of this at all.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Alistair

Incidentally, there are other situations when the sand can be touched prior to a shot being taken in a bunker.  For example, you can take several clubs into a bunker with you, and lay down all those you don't want to use.  You could take your whole bag into the bunker and lay it down (not recommended!).  No rule would be breached.




Posted


Quote:

Originally Posted by Alistair

Patrick Cantlay was playing Kelly Kraft in the final of the US Amateur at Erin Hills, Wisconsin on Sunday.  What I saw on TV was this.  His ball stayed in the trap after his first shot.  He glanced over his shoulder and saw his caddie raking the other end of the bunker.  He believed that was a penalty, and conceded the hole.  Only then did he discover (as explained in earlier posts) that there was no penalty, but a concession cannot be retracted so the hole was lost by Cantlay.  The championship was finally lost by Cantlay at the 36th hole. He made 2 or 3  errors that which proved fatal for his chances.

In addition to the points made earlier about the bunker rule, permission to rake after a shot but away from the line of play exists for extremely long bunkers (such as alongside a water hazard where I've seen bunkers100+ yards in length).  Who wants to knock his ball forward 30 yards, then another 20, then another 20 before finally hitting it out of the sand, and then has to go back and smooth over every place from which he played?

Incidentally, there are other situations when the sand can be touched prior to a shot being taken in a bunker.  For example, you can take several clubs into a bunker with you, and lay down all those you don't want to use.  You could take your whole bag into the bunker and lay it down (not recommended!).  No rule would be breached.



  • Upvote 4

Mizuno MP600 driver, Cleveland '09 Launcher 3-wood, Callaway FTiz 18 degree hybrid, Cleveland TA1 3-9, Scratch SS8620 47, 53, 58, Cleveland Classic 2 mid-mallet, Bridgestone B330S, Sun Mountain four5.


Posted

Quote:

Really? I wasn't aware of this at all.


Bahaha, I see what you did there. Although you do know that what Shorty said in that thread was correct....

My Home Course: http://chilliwackgolf.com/

In my Taylormade Bag:

The Big Stick: Calloway FT-I / Mini Big Stick: Calloway FT

2HY - Nickent 4DX IW

Irons 4-PW: Taylormade Burner 09

52' - Cleveland CG 15

56' Cleveland CG 12

60- Wilson Unknown.

Money Maker - Odessy White Hot Tour #5


Posted

I'm not sure what you are on about

Originally Posted by djackson89

Quote:

Bahaha, I see what you did there. Although you do know that what Shorty said in that thread was correct....




Posted


Originally Posted by deasy55

I'm not sure what you are on about



He quoted the wrong post - he was referring to my post where I paid homage to the diminutive one from down under.

Mizuno MP600 driver, Cleveland '09 Launcher 3-wood, Callaway FTiz 18 degree hybrid, Cleveland TA1 3-9, Scratch SS8620 47, 53, 58, Cleveland Classic 2 mid-mallet, Bridgestone B330S, Sun Mountain four5.


Posted








I know what you mean, but these knowledge gaps seem to happen every once in a while when you'd think they would know the rule. Last example I can think of is when Judy Rankin, waiting on the tee during an LPGA event last year (I believe) put a weighted metal ring on het club and was swinging to try and stay limber. I believe that was a DQ, unfortunately for her. Happens to the best of them!

In my Sun Mountain 14 Way Stand Bag:

Driver - Ping G30 10.5* : Fairway - Ping G30 18* : Hybrids - Titleist 915H 21* & 915 H 24* : Irons - Mizuno JPX 850 Forged 5 - GW : Wedges, Vokey 54.14, Vokey 58.12 : Putter - Scotty Cameron Studio Select Newport 2 or Ping Craz-E-R  : Ball - Bridgestone B330RX, Cart - Cliqgear 3.5


Posted
Even if they didn't know a common ruling like that, you'd think there'd at least be enough doubt in their mind that they'd consult a rules official before taking an irreversible penalty.

"Golf is an entire game built around making something that is naturally easy - putting a ball into a hole - as difficult as possible." - Scott Adams

Mid-priced ball reviews: Top Flight Gamer v2 | Bridgestone e5 ('10) | Titleist NXT Tour ('10) | Taylormade Burner TP LDP | Taylormade TP Black | Taylormade Burner Tour | Srixon Q-Star ('12)


Note: This thread is 5209 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now


×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.