• Announcements

    • iacas

      GAME GOLF Ryder Cup Contest   09/22/2016

      Join our GAME GOLF Ryder Cup Challenge to win an autographed GAME GOLF, a Pebble Steel watch, and many more great prizes!
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Beachcomber

Ball came to rest at the trunk of a tree - and a cart path

15 posts in this topic

So here is a questionable ruling that came up in a recent round of golf (non-tournament round)... And I just want to see if the way our foursome played the shot was correct and get your feedback.

I hit a shot from ~ 145yds that came to rest at the base of a large tree (right of the green side).  The base of the tree was very large and my ball was nearer the left side of the tree.  If I took my stance from my normal playing side - hitting the ball right handed... I literally could barely place the club between the ball and the tree base.  There was no way I could swing right handed.

Now, if I went to the left side of the tree, and flipped my iron around to hit the shot left handed with a right handed club - I could take a swing with no interference with the tree.

Here comes the tricky part...

On both the normal right handed stance - and left handed stance... A cart path was at the base and my feet were standing on it.  The ball was not on the cart path - but basically dirt between the cart path and the tree base.  There was maybe 12 inches between the base of the tree and cart path.

When we first walked up to my ball, my buddies in the foursome were laughing and saying good luck hitting that shot.  Then I pointed out that I could get a free drop (one club length - no closer to the hole) due that the cart path was at my feet in my normal stance.

They agreed, and I took the free drop.  I just want to make sure that we used the correct ruling and the shot was played correctly.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Want to get rid of this advertisement? Sign up (or log in) today! It's free!

As the stroke with a LH stance was reasonable and as a result your stance was on the path then you were entitled to relief.

However the relief is not simply 1cl not nearer. You first have to determine the nearest point of full relief then drop within 1cl not nearer the hole.

http://www.usga.org/Rule-Books/Rules-of-Golf/Decision-24/#24-2b/1

http://www.usga.org/Rule-Books/Rules-of-Golf/Decision-25/#25-1b/2

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I should have added that you must determine the npr for the LH stroke (position of ball, swing and stance) using the club you would have used if the path had not been there.

You may use any club in your bag to determine the 1cl from there.

Once you have dropped the ball you may then make a RH stroke with any club.

If the path now interferes with the RH stroke, you may now take relief for the new situation.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I think the above is correct---if it's a LH swing that's practical and you're interfered with by the cart path, it's a LH swing that you calculate the NPR for (this is being beaten to death in another thread right now).  If your stance for the RH swing is also interfered with by the cart path, you could also take relief with an RH swing.

One important note. Your NPR may well be inside the tree. You are entitled to relief from the cart path only .

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thanks guys for the clarifications.  Let me ask this slightly different scenario...

What would the ruling be if a RH swing was not possible due to the location of the ball - and the tree, but there was no cart path interfering with my RH stance?  And I decided that in order to advance the ball - I would need to take a LH swing.  And only taking the LH swing, did I find myself standing on the cart path?

How would the ruling change under these slightly different layout of RH vs LH swing?  Could I still take the free drop at the NPR using the LH 1CL?  The only thing keeping me from making a RH swing was the tree.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

That is perfectly OK. See the parts in red in the Decision below.

24-2b/9.5

After Relief Taken from Obstruction for Stroke Towards Green, Obstruction Interferes with Stance for Necessary Sideways Stroke

Q. With regard to the diagram, Point X is the original position of the ball and Point A is the nearest point of relief from the obstruction (cart path). The player drops his ball within one club-length of Point A (within the shaded area) and it comes to rest on the cart path at Point B. He re-drops as required by Rule 20-2c , again dropping within one club-length of Point A and the ball comes to rest at Point C.

At Point C there is no interference by the cart path for a stroke towards the green. However, the player cannot play towards the green from Point C because of intervention by the tree. His only reasonable stroke is sideways to the fairway, and his stance for such a stroke would be on the cart path. Is the player now required to place the ball as near as possible to the spot where it first struck the ground when re-dropped in accordance with Rule 20-2c ?

A. No. The player is not entitled to place the ball because at Point C there is no interference by the cart path for a stroke towards the green, the intended direction of play when relief was taken. However, as a result of the tree, the player has a new situation. He is entitled to take relief under Rule 24-2b(i) for the sideways stroke since this is not an unnecessarily abnormal direction of play - see Exception under Rule 24-2b - and his nearest point of relief would be Point D. After the ball is dropped within one club-length of Point D (within the shaded area) and it comes to rest at Point E, the player may play in any direction he wishes.

2

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Rulesman, I need your cell phone number.  I'm going to 'phone a friend' when I come across some strange situation on the course in the future.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Is there a good iPhone app for rules? It would be a conundrum if you used an iPhone to check the rules since iPhones are sort of banned -- but not really always banned... that's another thread.

Seriously, is there an app? The few I found searching the App store seemed questionable and neither was free.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Originally Posted by rustyredcab

Is there a good iPhone app for rules? It would be a conundrum if you used an iPhone to check the rules since iPhones are sort of banned -- but not really always banned... that's another thread.

Seriously, is there an app? The few I found searching the App store seemed questionable and neither was free.

I have one the USGA made.

http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/the-rules-of-golf/id347349889?mt=8

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades



Originally Posted by iacas

I have one the USGA made.

http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/the-rules-of-golf/id347349889?mt=8



Does it have Decisions offline, i.e. installed on the phone? R&A; has a Rules app as well but no Decisions.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites



Originally Posted by rustyredcab

Is there a good iPhone app for rules? It would be a conundrum if you used an iPhone to check the rules since iPhones are sort of banned -- but not really always banned... that's another thread.

You may always use your iPhone (or any other mobile phone) for checking the Rules from a Rules app. Just checked it from R&A.;

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites



Originally Posted by Ignorant

You may always use your iPhone (or any other mobile phone) for checking the Rules from a Rules app. Just checked it from R&A.;



Providing you are not using it as a DMD AND it has non-conforming apps on it.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Originally Posted by Ignorant

Does it have Decisions offline, i.e. installed on the phone? R&A; has a Rules app as well but no Decisions.


Yep.

IMG_2613.PNG

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0



  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • 2016 TST Partners

    GAME Golf
    PING Golf
    Lowest Score Wins
  • Posts

    • The point that I was specifically responding to was, just because you're on top of another group, it still may be appropriate to allow others through.  Just because @No Mulligans hadn't experienced it, didn't mean that the concept was moot by any means... And fwiw, our relatively fast group has allowed 5-somes through....
    • These guys haven't gotten to where they are without being ultra-competitive.  I don't think the lack of money had any real effect on their desire to win.
    • The slice is just such a devastating miss for your game. It is a shot that I really have to eliminate from my game. I am an incredibly inconsistent player, to the point where I can be hitting a beautiful high fade and start to go pin hunting for several holes, having several looks at birdie in a row and then within the next several holes be almost unable to hit the ball without hitting a horrendous slice. I am so inconsistent that it is not abnormal for me to go something like par, birdie, par, birdie, par, quad, quad, quad in an eight hole stretch.
    • I recently won some pro shop credit ($100) at a semi-private course nearby.  Thing is, I need to use it before November or it expires. I don't really need any clothes or accessories so I was thinking I might put it towards a new driver.  The problem is, while I'm sure I can test it out on the range, they just have regular old range balls and I'm doubtful there's any kind of fitting process.  I also can't really play a round there with a demo club unless I'm someone's guest or I'm willing to shell out $100+ to play off-peak times (which I'm not).  There's a decent golf shop down the road from the course that offers fittings for $75/hour, with a $50 credit toward a related purchase within 30 days.  I've never had a proper fitting, so would it make sense to go to the golf shop, get fit, assume I'll probably get a custom shaft, go buy the same driver at the pro shop using my credit, and then buy the shaft from the golf store, applying the fitting credit?  When you get fit and end up with a custom shaft, is the shaft price usually totally on top of the full price of the off-the-rack driver, or is there typically a discount since you're not getting the OEM shaft? Obviously different stores do things differently, but I'm just wondering what is common practice. I'm trying not to overthink it but I also don't want to waste my pro shop credit. Any advice would be much appreciated!
    • The whole thing gets started with: Single Plane Swing, Full Extension at address, which is where you will be at impact - so start there; also the opportunity for Single Length irons, which would make it easier in establishing a consistent swing. Wishon says we are victims of Marketing (someone selling you Lighter is better, lower lofted clubs for faster swing) buying the mass produced clubs off the shelf. Yep - I agree! These clubs do not fit me; not worth the cost. My intent is not to increase my swing speed, or see how far I can Drive the ball off the tee. (Leave it in your pants; no one cares how long you are except maybe your lover.) I am in the game of Golf to play good. Accuracy trumps distance in my book. I watch all the Tell-a-vison crap Pro's driving great distances into the rough and trees. Just not fun for me to do that. You see they cut the grass much lower on the fairway so the second shot is easier. My PW is very heavy. Bryson's Single Irons are 280+grams head weight. I wanted to try a 6 iron heavy at 280grams. Can't get one. You can't skim read my first post and understand much. I have listened to interviews with Mo Norman several times. He states very clearly what he needed to do with his clubs. This helps a great deal. But the fitter can't help me (though Wishon tells me to go see one) because he has never heard of single plane, he has never built a heavy club head, and he can't purchase anything over 274grams. He is programmed somewhat like the mass produced manufacturers Wishon speaks out against. And it still comes back to my favorite club in the bag: a heavy PW X18R. It's short and heavy and I want to try this in the lower number irons. I'll build it myself and I will stop asking the so-called "experts" for help. If we stop comparing ourselves against others we can focus on our game. So what if your neighbor hits his 6i 200 yards. I'll pull out my 3 hybrid to get there. So What!!! My focus is accuracy. First target is the fairway on the way to the Green (short grass); then there is the Pin on the Green and that little hole. Targets require accuracy; "Left-Right-Left-Right" all the time is unacceptable to me. Lately I have noticed that one mass-produced club is going heavier - against the industry norm. Boccieri Golf seems to headed my way.   RLW
  • TST Blog Entries

  • Images

  • Today's Birthdays

    1. wadekilpatrick76
      wadekilpatrick76
      (40 years old)
  • Blog Entries