Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
QuazerSKITS

Flooded Bunker: Relief?

8 posts in this topic

Last Friday i played in a society day at a course i hadn't played before. I was playing pretty well and was looking to just play to my handicap.

On the 18th hole im looking to make par and i've played to my handicap. Its not a hard hole, relativley short, dogleg to the right. The person im playing with (who is a member at this course) say's that as long as i keep the ball in play off the tee i should be good. I hit my drive, in play.. perfect. I play my second shot into the green but leak it left and end up in a bunker. Now here's the problem..

The course is pretty soaked due to heavy rain and subsequently they have initiated "preferred lies" (lift, clean, replace). The bunker im in is completely flooded, literally no sand, just water. I know im allowed to take the ball and drop it back in the bunker into the sand, but there is none! its completely flooded. My thought was that because of the water i can take a drop without penalty out of the bunker due to the "casual water" rule. I do that play over the bunker and make par.

When i get in im told that i have incurred a 1 stroke penalty because i chose to take relief from the bunker and because the bunkers where all deemed in play i cant do that. Due to it already being a hazard i cant take relief due to the water.. That makes sense i agree but still...

Can someone clarify this ruling?

Was a little dissapointed because that bogey made me shot +1 over my handicap... :(

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Want to get rid of this advertisement? Sign up (or log in) today! It's free!

Unless the Committee had declared the specific bunker to be GUR then your only practical option was to drop the ball Under penalty of one stroke , outside the bunker keeping the point where the ball lay directly between the hole and the spot on which the ball is dropped, with no limit to how far behind the bunker the ball may be dropped.

If you did not drop it on that spot you will have played from a wrong place with a 2 stroke penalty.

But no Serious Breach problem

Rule 25-1b(ii) applies

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thanks for clearing that up. I did in fact drop the ball about 3ft behind the bunker in line with the ball and the flag so a 1 stroke penalty was the justified penalty it looks like.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

For the OP, some additional information.

Casual water, as well as Ground Under Repair, fall under Abnormal Ground Conditions.  The committe ruled correctly because you can not drop outside a bunker due to an AGC without penalty.  Reason being the bunker does not lose it's status as a hazard, even when full of casual water.

The issue with all this is changing the status of the bunker from hazard to "though the green" and how to do it.

Decision 25/13 does say if a bunker is deemed to be total GUR, do to renovation , it loses it's status as a hazard, but the rules treat casual water differently.

25/13

Bunker Totally Under Repair

If a bunker is being renovated and the Committee defines the entire bunker as ground under repair, the bunker loses its status as a hazard and is automatically classified as "through the green." Therefore, unless a Committee specifically states otherwise, Rule 25-1b(i) applies, not Rule 25-1b(ii) .

What the committee needed to do is spelled out in Decision 33-8/27.

33-8/27

Local Rule Providing Relief Without Penalty from Bunker Filled with Casual Water

Q. May a Committee make a Local Rule allowing a player to drop out of any bunker filled with casual water, without penalty, contrary to Rule 25-1b(ii) ?

A. No. The Committee may not make a Local Rule providing generally that flooded bunkers are ground under repair through the green, as such a Local Rule waives a penalty imposed by the Rules of Golf, contrary to Rule 33-8b .

However, in exceptional circumstances, where certain specific bunkers are completely flooded and there is no reasonable likelihood of the bunkers drying up during the round, the Committee may introduce a Local Rule providing relief without penalty from specific bunkers. Prior to introducing such a Local Rule, the Committee must be convinced that such exceptional circumstances exist and that providing relief without penalty from specific bunkers is more appropriate than simply applying Rule 25-1b(ii) . If the Committee elects to introduce a Local Rule, the following wording is suggested:

"The flooded bunker on [insert location of bunker; e.g., left of 5th green] is ground under repair. If a player's ball lies in that bunker or if that bunker interferes with the player's stance or the area of his intended swing and the player wishes to take relief, he must take relief outside the bunker, without penalty, in accordance with Rule 25-1b(i) . All other bunkers on the course, regardless of whether they contain water, maintain their status as hazards and the Rules apply accordingly."

In a competition played over more than one round, such a Local Rule may be introduced or rescinded between round.

In my opinion you got a raw deal.  The ruling was correct, however IMHO the committee did not properly do it's job.  It sounds like the bunker was flooded before the round started and as such the local rule should have been in effect.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

I agree that the committee did a bad job and you got the short end because of it. You also could have never found the ball on the flooded bunker and then, I think you would have needed to treat it as a lost ball.

To the rules experts, is a ball lost on a flooded bunker (still not declared GUR) considered a lost ball? What if the committee did its job and declared the flooded bunkers as GUR yet you still can not find the ball?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Originally Posted by rustyredcab

To the rules experts, is a ball lost on a flooded bunker (still not declared GUR) considered a lost ball? What if the committee did its job and declared the flooded bunkers as GUR yet you still can not find the ball?

Good question, I had to think about this one........I'm no expert.

In both cases, you are still dealing with a ball lost in an Abnormal Ground Condition.

If no local rule is in effect, you lost a ball in casual water (AGC) in a bunker and 25-1c(ii) applies.  Assuming you can not take relief inside the bunker you drop outside the bunker staying on an extended line from the pin to where the ball last crossed the outer most portion of the AGC.  Add a one stroke penalty.

If a local rule were in effect, 25-1c(i) applies.  In this case, you find the Nearest Point of Relief from where the ball last crossed the margin of the GUR and drop within one club length no closer to the hole.  No penalty

One thing to add is that it must be Known or Virtually Certain that the ball is in fact lost in the AGC.  Otherwise, you are required to play it as a lost ball.  27-1 Stroke and Distance

Anyway,  that's my stab at it.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

One more clarification:  If there was a spot where he could drop in the bunker and play a shot, even if it didn't offer complete relief, then in this one instance he is allowed to take partial relief.  If there was a point in the bunker which met the other requirements for relief, but he had to stand in water and/or play the ball from shallow water, then he could take that relief without incurring a penalty.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Originally Posted by Fourputt

One more clarification:  If there was a spot where he could drop in the bunker and play a shot, even if it didn't offer complete relief, then in this one instance he is allowed to take partial relief.  If there was a point in the bunker which met the other requirements for relief, but he had to stand in water and/or play the ball from shallow water, then he could take that relief without incurring a penalty.

Hi Fourputt, since you brought it up.........

Normally in taking relief from an AGC, when determining the Nearest Point of Relief, you must take complete relief.  With water in a bunker you get some help from the rules.   As Fourputt correctly explained you can take partial relief, keeping the ball in the bunker without dropping outside of the bunker and thereby avoiding a penalty.  You may drop in the bunker that affords maximum available relief from the condition.

Here are two decisions that help explain what this means.

25-1b/5

Explanation of "Maximum Available Relief" from Casual Water in Bunker

Q. In a bunker completely covered by casual water, is the place providing "maximum available relief" the spot which will provide the most relief for both lie and stance or just lie?

A. The term applies to both lie and stance. The spot providing "maximum available relief" might be such that the ball will be in shallower water than the player's feet after he takes his stance, or vice versa.

25-1b/6

Ball Dropped from Casual Water in Bunker at Point of Maximum Relief Rolls Elsewhere

Q. A player whose ball lies in a bunker completely covered by casual water drops his ball under Rule 25-1b(ii) at a spot where there is 1⁄4 inch of casual water. This spot is the nearest spot providing maximum available relief. The ball rolls into a spot where there is about 1⁄2 inch of casual water. What is the ruling?

A. In equity (Rule 1-4 ), and under the principle of Rule 20-2c(v) , the player may re-drop and, if the ball so rolls again, place the ball where it first struck a part of the course when re-dropped.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0



  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • 2016 TST Partners

    GAME Golf
    PING Golf
    Lowest Score Wins
  • Popular Now

  • Posts

    • Darts does have the advantage of being played in many venues where you can get a pint at any time during the game, as opposed to golf, where you only get the reward when you're done.  Unless you're in the US, of course, where many courses have a roving bar-cart to help you enjoy your round.
    • Furyk getting tight under Ryder Cup pressure could well be true or at least partly true. That critique seems partly true of the U.S. squad in general, doesn't it? Bubba's record is comparably poor at 3-8-0. Considering his dominance and winning percentage in stroke play and beat the field average, Tiger's Ryder Cup record isn't too stellar either. I'm just saying that Furyk (& Tiger too) may not have been used as smartly by the Captains as say, Luke Donald given his relative strengths and weaknesses. Donald tended to be sat for fourball where Furyk played both formats about the same amount, and maybe not with the right complementary partners for the foursomes. When Donald's relative approach game and putting (& birdie/bogie ratio) ranking slipped in 2014 he wasn't picked for the Euro team, because it seems his relative potential contribution (producing birdies) in alternate shot / foursomes had diminished.   Furyk Donald   SG-Tee SG-Putt SG-Appr SG-ARG Bird/Bog Bird+ % Bog Avd SG-Tee SG-Putt SG-Appr SG-ARG Bird/Bog Bird+ % Bog Avd 2016 -0.294 0.195 0.458 0.285 121 165 69 -0.583 0.060 0.645 0.449 82 181 16 2015 0.064 -0.024 1.081 0.513 15 83 8 -0.793 0.289 0.573 0.514 121 171 46 2014 0.121 0.091 1.175 0.408 5 97 1 -0.493 0.517 0.315 0.351 93 108 93 2013 0.023 0.092 0.950 0.323 25 78 14 -0.459 0.528 0.583 0.628 45 42 58 2012 0.225 0.423 0.830 0.275 9 145 1 -0.188 0.818 0.582 0.430 13 66 7 2011 -0.017 -0.160 0.643 0.190 77 147 32 0.040 0.870 1.094 0.273 1 4 1 2010 0.150 0.402 0.641 0.367 21 76 21 -0.506 0.870 0.661 0.464 16 109 9 AVG 0.039 0.146 0.825 0.337 39 113 21 -0.426 0.565 0.636 0.444 53 97 33 10-'13 0.095 0.189 0.766 0.289 33 112 17 -0.278 0.772 0.730 0.449 19 55 19 Furyk's record is horrible in the better ball / fourball format. I think that may be due to his relative lack of distance where it's harder for him to contribute much and bogey avoidance (his strength) is less important than making birdies. I expect Furyk's often been set up in a fourball pairing like Kuchar and Watson in '14 where the relatively short, but good putter / short game guy (Kuchar) was expected to complement the long hitter (Watson). Watson and Kuchar made many birdies, but still got smoked by two superior ball-strikers with average putting due to the better ball / fourball format. Rose's excellent short game helped that team in the alternate shot/foursomes format where their ball-striking was maybe less of an overt advantage than in better ball.
    • Yeah. Their products have been really solid. The 5C was iffy, but then again, the price was dirt cheap (relatively speaking). I may or may not be working for a company that supplies parts for them now, so I hope they get more popular.
    • It's all part of the deal. Especially when you are golfers like us (note my HI). Look at it this way. A couple of weeks ago I traveled three hours to our TST outing in Norwalk, OH and proceeded to barf on my shoes for 18 holes solid. Had one of my best rounds last week. It happens. Get away from it for a bit, get over it and when you come back you'll do better.
    • This sounds really really dull.  The kind of dull I'd really like to get used to seeing n my own game. 
  • TST Blog Entries

  • Images

  • Today's Birthdays

    1. Jason141
      Jason141
      (27 years old)
    2. ngreed86
      ngreed86
      (30 years old)
  • Blog Entries