• Announcements

    • iacas

      Visit FlagstickRule.com   03/13/2017

      Visit the site flagstickrule.com to read about and sign a petition for the USGA/R&A regarding the one terrible rule in the proposed "modernized" rules for 2019.
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
rustyredcab

Ball outside hazard -- can you ground club in hazard?

5 posts in this topic

-- ball just outside the hazard line

-- can you take practice swings and/or ground your club inside the hazard line?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Sign up (or log in) today! It's free (and you won't see this ad anymore)!

Sign up (or log in) today! It's free (and you won't see this ad anymore)!

It is a penalty to damage, bend, break or otherwise purposely alter any part of the course; except while taking a swing with the intention of striking the ball.  It is also a penalty to improve your stance by altering the surface area.  And it is a penalty to use any other ball or object for the purpose of a practice shot while playing through the green.  So if your stance places you in a hazard, proceed with care.  If you scrub your feet back and forth vigorously so as to smooth out or settle into a firmer position, it is a penalty.  If loose debris impedes your stance, you may gently lift and move that debris.  If you take your club and whack an object out of the way, two strokes---1 for purposely altering the course, 1 for using a practice object while playing through the green.

If there are movable objects in the way of your stance you can move them.  If you gently ground your club in the hazard before you address the ball, that is fine.  if you take a practice swing in the hazard and anything moves, bends or breaks (even a leaf or a blade of grass) it's a penalty.  You should always take a practice swing away from the ball and not toward the pin, and take care to not needlessly damage the course (take a divot, swing through the rough, etc.)---or take a stroke.  If, while taking a practice swing you accidentally break a rule (i.e. you slip and strike a pine cone or gouge a divot), as long as you did not strike your ball in play and repair the damage as best you are able, there is no penalty.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Originally Posted by stangmark

It is a penalty to damage, bend, break or otherwise purposely alter any part of the course; except while taking a swing with the intention of striking the ball.  It is also a penalty to improve your stance by altering the surface area.  And it is a penalty to use any other ball or object for the purpose of a practice shot while playing through the green.  So if your stance places you in a hazard, proceed with care.  If you scrub your feet back and forth vigorously so as to smooth out or settle into a firmer position, it is a penalty.  If loose debris impedes your stance, you may gently lift and move that debris.  If you take your club and whack an object out of the way, two strokes---1 for purposely altering the course, 1 for using a practice object while playing through the green.

If there are movable objects in the way of your stance you can move them.  If you gently ground your club in the hazard before you address the ball, that is fine.  if you take a practice swing in the hazard and anything moves, bends or breaks (even a leaf or a blade of grass) it's a penalty.  You should always take a practice swing away from the ball and not toward the pin, and take care to not needlessly damage the course (take a divot, swing through the rough, etc.)---or take a stroke.  If, while taking a practice swing you accidentally break a rule (i.e. you slip and strike a pine cone or gouge a divot), as long as you did not strike your ball in play and repair the damage as best you are able, there is no penalty.

100% bull.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0



  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • 2017 TST Partners

    PING Golf
    Leupold Golf
    Snell Golf
    Talamore Golf Resort
    Lowest Score Wins
  • Posts

    • I don't know anyone personally, but I think we've all heard a story about some guy who was in the middle of some tournament, hit a bad shot and proceeded to throw his clubs in the pond then walked off the course never to play again.
    • Oh yeah, I've know several. Not really giving up the game entirerly, but giving up on going pro. They went on mini tours or play events the (now) web.com tour and just give up after a year or so. They didn't really have a gauge of how much time and skill it really takes to make a living playing golf. If you dont win or make a name for yourself in the college ranks or big international am tournaments, you're really behind the 8ball. 
    • The video was not made for this discussion but a good chunk of it applies - just because you lift your heel off the ground doesn't mean you transfer 95% of your weight right. That's what you had to say in response to "I don't see how the left knee moves as a point of contention"? Again, the other thread existed because there was a huge myth out there about maintaining the same flex in the trail knee. No such myth or disparity exists re: the lead knee. Her head doesn't move off the ball much (well within the "steady head" idea, particularly with a driver), of course she has some tilt away from the target - because her hips don't sway back, and her weight shifts slightly to the right. Very little more than someone with a "modern" golf swing. It's not the only place there's "tension." And no, "loaded" may be a common word, but it can have a bunch of meanings. Your right leg is not the only thing that's "loaded" in ANY full swing in golf. Again, the wrists, the arm across the chest, the elbow, your ankles, your torso is turned… all can be "loaded." That's my point. One of 'em anyway. I haven't attacked whatever it is you're trying to talk about. I am, however, trying to suss out what it is you're trying to talk about. Because if it's "the left knee should be allowed, sometimes, to move back to the right" then I don't think you'll find much disagreement. You seem to think it's more than that, though. I don't think they did either, but the reasons they did it may have changed, or the amount of understanding we have of the golf swing has certainly changed, or what's important in the golf swing may have changed, or a bunch of other things. While writing this, @billchao answered that pretty well too, IMO. I guess, since I don't know what you're actually trying to convey here, I'll drop out for now until you can figure out what it is you're trying to say.
    • I could also just learn to perfect my draw as the article said. Become good/great at a certain shot type. 
    • From a fellow Sconnie, welcome to the site.  Many, many golfers play fades from a closed stance.  They are mostly pull slicers.  Basically your club face is just closed in relation to the path you are swinging on.  Maybe start a swing thread sometime if you want and someone can try and help.  Otherwise there is not really much anyone can tell you.  Hope you stick around and become involved in the site.
  • TST Blog Entries

  • Blog Entries

  • Today's Birthdays

    1. Just trying
      Just trying
      (33 years old)
    2. Peter_b
      Peter_b
      (45 years old)
    3. SACgolf
      SACgolf
      (51 years old)
    4. Weluvgolf
      Weluvgolf
      (53 years old)
  • Get Great Gear with Amazon