• Announcements

    • iacas

      Introducing TST "Clubs!"   08/28/2017

      No, we're not getting into the equipment business, but we do have "clubs" here on TST now. Groups. Check them out here:
Sign in to follow this  
gsu_paintballer

Is it within the rules to ground your club IN FRONT OF the ball?

Recommended Posts

One alignment tool that I started using today was to ground my club perpendicular to the impact point (essentially creating a target line), then align my body as necessary before moving the club around behind the ball.

Is this legal?

Yes, I realize it's unorthodox and weird, but it worked.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Sign up (or log in) today! It's free (and you won't see this ad anymore)!

Sign up (or log in) today! It's free (and you won't see this ad anymore)!

Fourputt    922

Yes.  Keep in mid that it is still considered as grounding, and all of the issues with the ball moving after grounding still apply.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Originally Posted by Fourputt

Yes.  Keep in mid that it is still considered as grounding, and all of the issues with the ball moving after grounding still apply.

Thanks for your help

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Rulesman    166

Definition

A player has “addressed the ball” when he has grounded his club immediately in front of or immediately behind the ball, whether or not he has taken his stance.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

frazzled924    0
That's why Nicklaus said he never grounded his club. If it accidentally moved, he technically, had not addressed the ball. So, if you ground the club in front, just don't hit the ball as you move your club back over the ball.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Rulesman    166
Originally Posted by frazzled924

That's why Nicklaus said he never grounded his club. If it accidentally moved, he technically, had not addressed the ball.

So, if you ground the club in front, just don't hit the ball as you move your club back over the ball.

You may touch (but not move) the ball with your club when addressing it.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

Sign in to follow this