Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0

One of those days....

2 posts in this topic

Needed to get out for a quick nine after suffering though a kidney stone Thursday & Friday. (This too shall pass... and it did thank goodness). Thought the fresh air and getting around would help. Apparently I was rewarded for my suffering... kinda. I missed EVERY fairway, but it was like that commercial with the dog moving the ball. Missing every fairway and winding up with an opening on 6 of the 9. FIR: 0 GIR: 6 Another stat was I was getting 20-30 more yards on the driver, which I suppose helped get to the open parts. Final hole was a prime example of how the day went. A Par 5, around 470, 480 or something. Into the wind- 15-20 mph with gusts quartering off the left. I hit a kind of pull hook that ran through the trees onto a nice clean lie in the rough of the parallel hole (#1). I get to the ball (230 to the center) and I have a tall tree about 30 yards ahead with some hanging braces, then slightly smaller trees along the fairway that I have to get over to get back to the fairway on 9. My friend came over and asked, "you punching back out?"... I looked, checked the wind, checked the lie, looked again... and said... (kind of jokingly) "nah- I'm gonna take the 5 wd, get it under these branches, have it rise up and catch the wind so it will drift back onto the fairway just to the left of the trap (60 yards from green) and have a little punch shot in..." "Okay- yeah right" Lined up and checked again, took the swing a damned if it didn't do EXACTLY what I wanted. And I KNEW it as soon as I hit it. I started jogging back to the 9th fairway, and watched fall like a dead duck 65 yds out. My buddy gave me "that look", because he's seen me do similar things in the past when I constantly tell them to "Just get it back in play" and keep the 8's off the card. But once in awhile you have to go for the gusto- especially after what I had been through and was just out enjoying myself and the company. I then punched it up below the hole and just missed the bird. didn't putt the best on the day, Thus the resulting 41.

Share this post

Link to post
Share on other sites

Want to get rid of this advertisement? Sign up (or log in) today! It's free!

Nice round.

I have had similar experiences.  But, I have had the other hold true as well.

Last week, 5th hole, 390 yard par 4, trouble in the form of tree's on the left, and a dog leg right.  I hit a high fade, end up in the tree's on the left, about 200 from the green.  I look straight ahead, and I see that I can hit a low punch shot, and have open fairway.  If I go 50-150 yards, I will leave myself something between a 150 yard shot off the left rough, to a 50 yard shot from the right rough.  I take out the 4 iron, back of my stance, choke up to the edge of the grip, half back swing.

The club makes clean contact with the ball, in a kind of flyers lie and climbs RIGHT smack into the ONLY branch that was in the weigh, and it was probably 30 yards ahead and 15~20' in the air.  The ball hits the branch, goes straight up in the air, hits another tree and falls further left leaving me in deeper trouble than I was before.  I scrambled for a triple on that hole.  In hind sight, I probably could have hit a chocked down 3h, and left it to the right of the green for an up and down chance at par.


Share this post

Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0

  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • 2016 TST Partners

    GAME Golf
    PING Golf
    Lowest Score Wins
  • Posts

    • I took a quick look at the beginning video before I purchased the GG, and ignored the "friendly hawker guy." After looking at the swingsetter ad, and speed stick -- the Gabe Golf Trainer is different. Leds doesn't really pause at the top with the swingsetter, the speed stick is a device for speed. With the GG Trainer, it's not about hearing the bearings snap at impact. You are getting better sequencing of the swing and tempo. Yes, you will have a long pause at the top using it, but with your regular club you will not pause  long - the objection to the long pause with the Trainer does not carry over to your regular club. Your lower body is working at the top, instead of the arms. If you go back too fast and incorrectly, you will know, if you do not sequence properly, you will know. For example. if you use your arms going back instead of the body, and the club gets stuck, I found the bearings will not go down the shaft. If you get too laid off, the bearings tend not to go down the shaft. If you grab the club and start down with your arms, you will hit dirt or mishit. If you sequence properly with the lower body - you will hit better shots. When you swing with your regular club, you will not pause -- it will look like a pause because your lower body is working and you are not grabbing the club from the top. As a result, the swing is not paused with your regular club, but the proper sequence is utilized. Good luck.
    • Lemme guess, you broke 80 yesterday?  And good luck earning a participation site badge (or an organizer badge). I'd imagine we've got quite a few folks in your area. I've done a couple meetups here with guys I met here, and it's definitely cool to be faces to the names and online personas.
    • Welcome! If you're looking for good instructional threads, here are a bunch to get you started:  To learn how things work around here, browse some of the stuff under "How To..." up at the top menu bar.  Mainly, just be a decent guy, chime in on stuff that interests you, and you'll be fine around here.
    • Hi all I was quite intrigued by the latest talk of sidesaddling so I tried it out. I struggled a bit with consistency so I tried sitting on my haunches with right hand near bottom of shaft and left on the grip. I was very surprised by my accuracy. Now I just want to know if this stance is legal. I can not find anything in the rulebook that forbids this. Anyone out tried this before?    
    • Hi everyone Golfnut here from South Africa. A struggling golfer who loves the game. 
  • TST Blog Entries

  • Images

  • Today's Birthdays

    1. matteson83
      (33 years old)
    2. Michael Riedy
      Michael Riedy
      (67 years old)
    3. Zeke Widjaja
      Zeke Widjaja
      (52 years old)
  • Blog Entries