• Announcements

    • iacas

      GAME GOLF Ryder Cup Contest   09/22/2016

      Join our GAME GOLF Ryder Cup Challenge to win an autographed GAME GOLF, a Pebble Steel watch, and many more great prizes!
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
BuckeyeNut

How about a golf ruling..................

7 posts in this topic

I know many of you like ruling threads. I played golf today and had 2 rules SNAFU issues!!

1.

I played my 2nd shot on a par5 and pushed it towards OB.   I make a point to check the ball number after my drop so I would know which ball I hit 2nd......and I hit a provisional....... a carbon copy shot!!  LOL   I get to my balls and both are within 6' of each other.  One is OB by about 6 inches......and the other is safe.

Both balls are the same exact model and number and wear the same personalized "SHIT BALL" marking!!  Aaaaaargh!  I had no way of telling which ball was hit first!  I assessed myself a 2 stroke penalty and played the in-bounds ball as it lie.  My feelings are that if I am such a dumb@ZZ that I can't ID which ball I hit first......I deserve a 2-stroke penalty.  If I was in a tourney, I would have known the number of the ball I hit first and made sure the 2nd was identifiable from the first.........  Since it was casual play....I didn't pay attention to details.

Oh well...I hate it when that happens!!

2.

It's getting late and I am playing straight into the setting sun.   I hit a very solid feeling t-shot, I'm blinded by the sun and I don't know where it went.  Leaves are on the ground and there is  no telling what leaf it crawled under......... I thought to myself this is BS....I know it's around somewhere in play!!   I was a single and alone on the course, I called it a lost ball, and re-teed with a 2 stroke penalty and salvaged a double Bogey.....

ONE:  What would you have done in each situation?

TWO:  What is the official ruling for each situation?

PS

I actually played well today and scored a respectable 79 in spite of those two stupid doubles!!  It could have easily been a 75...iffa, coulda, woulda....hahaha

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Want to get rid of this advertisement? Sign up (or log in) today! It's free!

I know many of you like ruling threads. I played golf today and had 2 rules SNAFU issues!!

1.

I played my 2nd shot on a par5 and pushed it towards OB.   I make a point to check the ball number after my drop so I would know which ball I hit 2nd......and I hit a provisional....... a carbon copy shot!!  LOL   I get to my balls and both are within 6' of each other.  One is OB by about 6 inches......and the other is safe.

Both balls are the same exact model and number and wear the same personalized "SHIT BALL" marking!!  Aaaaaargh!  I had no way of telling which ball was hit first!  I assessed myself a 2 stroke penalty and played the in-bounds ball as it lie.  My feelings are that if I am such a dumb@ZZ that I can't ID which ball I hit first......I deserve a 2-stroke penalty.  If I was in a tourney, I would have known the number of the ball I hit first and made sure the 2nd was identifiable from the first.........  Since it was casual play....I didn't pay attention to details.

Oh well...I hate it when that happens!!

2.

It's getting late and I am playing straight into the setting sun.   I hit a very solid feeling t-shot, I'm blinded by the sun and I don't know where it went.  Leaves are on the ground and there is  no telling what leaf it crawled under......... I thought to myself this is BS....I know it's around somewhere in play!!   I was a single and alone on the course, I called it a lost ball, and re-teed with a 2 stroke penalty and salvaged a double Bogey.....

ONE:  What would you have done in each situation?

TWO:  What is the official ruling for each situation?

PS

I actually played well today and scored a respectable 79 in spite of those two stupid doubles!!  It could have easily been a 75...iffa, coulda, woulda....hahah

Situation one:   Decision 27/11 includes one situation which delineates exactly your situation.  You would play the ball found in bounds as if it was indeed your provisional ball, lying 4, playing 5:

Situation 3:One ball is found in bounds and the other ball is lost or is found out of bounds.

Solution 3:The ball in bounds must be presumed to be the provisional ball.

Situation two:  The original ball was lost.  Return to previous spot under penalty of stroke and distance.  In your case, you would be hitting 3 from the tee with your second ball.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

I'll be honest, in your 2nd scenario I would have either re-teed without taking a stroke or dropped a ball where I thought my ball would be without taking a stroke. Of course this is assuming I am just playing for fun and am not going to submit the score or anything like that. If it happened in a competitive situation I assume the rule would be just like a ball OB

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I'll be honest, in your 2nd scenario I would have either re-teed without taking a stroke or dropped a ball where I thought my ball would be without taking a stroke.

Why not go the whole hog, assume your ball is in the hole and walk to the next tee.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Why not go the whole hog, assume your ball is in the hole and walk to the next tee.

I guess hitting that white ball at least sometimes is part of golf, not just picking up the ball from the hole.

OP presented two questions and tiger answered one of them.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I guess hitting that white ball at least sometimes is part of golf, not just picking up the ball from the hole.

Hitting it from the right place is a pretty fundamental part of golf ;-)

1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I was just being honest, like I said if it was any kind of competitive setting or anything of that nature obviously I wouldn't do that. But if I'm playing by myself, I don't keep an official handicap or anything and that's probably what I would do. I don't see it as any different than when you hit extra shots when playing alone to try stuff
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0