Jump to content
Subscribe to the Spin Axis Podcast! ×
IGNORED

Marking Another Player's Ball


Note: This thread is 4163 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Recommended Posts

In pro golf I seen phil the thrill mark another players ball in the china tourney.I was surprised,I thought that wasnt allowed or would be frowned upon on the tour.


It is allowed and it is not frowned upon.

Why would you think otherwise?

In the race of life, always back self-interest. At least you know it's trying.

 

 


  Shorty said:

It is allowed and it is not frowned upon.

Why would you think otherwise?

Lets see.Ive been watching pro golf for a good 2 years solid and its the first time I seen it happen,I guess thats why


  Blitz28179 said:
Lets see.Ive been watching pro golf for a good 2 years solid and its the first time I seen it happen,I guess thats why

While you don't see it very often, it's perfectly alright for a fellow competitor to lift a players ball if the player authorizes him to do so. 20-1. Lifting And Marking A ball to be lifted under the Rules may be lifted by the player, his partner or another person authorized by the player. In any such case, the player is responsible for any breach of the Rules.

In David's bag....

Driver: Titleist 910 D-3;  9.5* Diamana Kai'li
3-Wood: Titleist 910F;  15* Diamana Kai'li
Hybrids: Titleist 910H 19* and 21* Diamana Kai'li
Irons: Titleist 695cb 5-Pw

Wedges: Scratch 51-11 TNC grind, Vokey SM-5's;  56-14 F grind and 60-11 K grind
Putter: Scotty Cameron Kombi S
Ball: ProV1

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  David in FL said:

While you don't see it very often, it's perfectly alright for a fellow competitor to lift a players ball if the player authorizes him to do so.

20-1. Lifting And Marking

A ball to be lifted under the Rules may be lifted by the player, his partner or another person authorized by the player. In any such case, the player is responsible for any breach of the Rules.

I do it fairly often when senior players are in our group, just to save them the trouble. One day I marked the same person's ball 5 times during the round with a quarter and each time he put the quarter in his pocket. I'm pretty sure he didn't even realize he was keeping my quarters and since he's a really nice guy I didn't have the heart to ask for my 5 quarters back.


  Blitz28179 said:

Quote:

Originally Posted by Shorty

It is allowed and it is not frowned upon.

Why would you think otherwise?

Lets see.Ive been watching pro golf for a good 2 years solid and its the first time I seen it happen,I guess thats why

Two whole years? ;-)

I've been watching the pros for 40 years, and I have seen it before.  It's rare for them because they have caddies, and they usually get to the green together, or at least close enough that it's not necessary.  I've seen it before when one player had to wait on a ruling for his approach while his fellow competitor played and went straight to the green.  The FC was away once both balls were on the green, and was ready to putt before the delayed player got to the green, so he signaled his intent, got permission, and lifted the FC's ball.

Rick

"He who has the fastest cart will never have a bad lie."

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Note: This thread is 4163 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now


  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • TST Partners

    PlayBetter
    TourStriker PlaneMate
    Golfer's Journal
    ShotScope
    The Stack System
    FitForGolf
    FlightScope Mevo
    Direct: Mevo, Mevo+, and Pro Package.

    Coupon Codes (save 10-20%): "IACAS" for Mevo/Stack/FitForGolf, "IACASPLUS" for Mevo+/Pro Package, and "THESANDTRAP" for ShotScope. 15% off TourStriker (no code).
  • Popular Now

  • Posts

    • Option #2 because I'd add the condition that it's in a tournament. Because that'd mean I'd break par in a tournament. And I already have a hole in one.
    • Hole in one is nice, but those low rounds stick in my memory better. I have two holes in one (and a third on a pitch and putt course which I count as a half). I've shot in the 60s three times in the last 10 years or so and I remember each one pretty well. I'd take the low round.
    • Would You Rather #68: Would you rather make a hole-in-one on a perfectly struck shot, during a round where you otherwise played pretty poorly.  or  Would you rather play well all day and beat your personal best by let's say 3 strokes, but with no eagles.    I'd take option 2.   Although option 1 is always exciting, and rewarding. playing well all day is very exciting because I can also do the opposite. 
    • I've got two of them.  So for me it depends. If I'm playing with friends and they know me. I'm taking the hole-in-one. Because they know my game anyway. Let's go for the awesome moment/bragging rights.  If I'm in a tournament I'm taking the low round, because I want to win.  If I'm playing with a bunch of strangers, and I just show up, and get paired up. I'm leaning toward taking the low round. I could leave them thinking I'm better than I am. Plus for me that would be a 73. ... That would be cool. 
    • Hole in one is a lifetime achievement, so that.
×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...