• Announcements

    • iacas

      Introducing TST "Clubs!"   08/28/2017

      No, we're not getting into the equipment business, but we do have "clubs" here on TST now. Groups. Check them out here:
Sign in to follow this  
cliffj

Ball in woods hit further in

Recommended Posts

cliffj    8
What is the rule if when taking an unplayable either 2 club rule or going backward still results in an unplayable lie. Yesterday guy hit into woods. Tried to hit out and ball hit tree and went way further into woods. What are his options now (along with penalty strokes).

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Sign up (or log in) today! It's free (and you won't see this ad anymore)!

Sign up (or log in) today! It's free (and you won't see this ad anymore)!

Wansteadimp    23

1) Play it where it lies

2) Replay from the previous spot (in the trees not where he hit from to get in the trees originally) - 1 shot penalty

3) 2 club lengths from where the ball lies now - not nearer the hole - 1 shot penalty

4) Go back as far as he wants on a line going through where his ball finishes and the pin - 1 shot penalty

Things can get ugly when this happens, Kevin Na had it a couple of years ago in a PGA event and clocked up a double figure score.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Dormie1360    63

Hi Cliff,

Couple of decisions that might help..  A player that wants to deem his ball unplayable needs to consider the drop area carefully.  At times the best option may be to replay the stroke from the previous spot.

This will help when reading the decisions.

28a Replay from the previous spot.

28b Drop on an extended line from the flagstick to the ball.

28c Drip within two club lengths.

http://www.usga.org/Rule-Books/Rules-of-Golf/Decision-28/#d28-3

http://www.usga.org/Rule-Books/Rules-of-Golf/Decision-28/#d28-6.5

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Fourputt    922

What is the rule if when taking an unplayable either 2 club rule or going backward still results in an unplayable lie. Yesterday guy hit into woods. Tried to hit out and ball hit tree and went way further into woods. What are his options now (along with penalty strokes).

When he played the shot in trees, he sealed his fate.  Sounds from the description like his best option is to try the hero shot again and hope he misses the tree this time.  One needs to examine not only the options of the current shot, but the ramifications if it goes wrong.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Dormie1360    63

I should have read your question more carefully.  You asked what to do if the player has played another stroke after taking an unplayable.  Sorry.

This example/decision is more relevant.  It's what Wansteadimp said.

http://www.usga.org/Rule-Books/Rules-of-Golf/Decision-28/#d28-5

Unlike Rule 26, playing from a hazard, there is no "regression" under the unplayable ball rule.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Rulesman    166

It is interesting that the Course Rating formula gives a figure for the likelihood of a scratch player being able to get to his next target (whatever that might be). 75-100%, 50-75%, etc.

No such rating adjustment is given for the bogey player. The premise seems to be that, they will go for the hero shot whatever the odds. And won't make it !!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

cliffj    8
Thanks all

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

Sign in to follow this  



  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • 2017 TST Partners

    Talamore Golf Resort
    PING Golf
    FlightScope Mevo
    Mission Belt
    Snell Golf
    Frogger Golf
    PitchFix USA
  • Posts

    • As per the specs on XR irons, the stock shaft lengths are: 6i = 37.875" PW = 35.75" AW = 35.50" SW = 35.25" So, your 6I + 1" now is 38.875" long. If you have already extended these two wedges 1" also, then you would extend their shaft length by 2". If you have not already extended your wedges, you would be increasing the shaft length by 3". A couple of things to consider: Shaft length + loft helps determine how far a given golf club will launch the ball. If you make the wedge shafts 2 to 3 inches longer, you likely will get yardage compression. You might get a PW that flies longer than your 9i. Safety factors: The clubsmiths at GolfWorks do not recommend extending non-putter shafts beyond 1". You run the risk of creating shear points, with club possibly coming apart. If you like longer shafts in the short clubs, try the single-length irons. 
    • I will be posting some next week sometime. I have been in the Fitness business for 20 years. These will include 3 levels for beginners, intermediate and Advanced so you can work your way up. I will also include some easy warm up drills. watch for my posts  "Ten minutes to better golf "  check out my ten minutes to pain free golf in the meantime
    • I hear you. Having the playoffs is definitely better than not, hopefully the Labor Day finish and some slight format tweaks down the road can help. 
    • I as blown away this morning when I saw the new Cleveland woods and irons in Golf Digest. At the 2015 St. Louis Golf Expo, the regional Cleveland/Srixon rep had told me that Cleveland was going to focus on wedges and recreational clubs, while Srixon would focus on clubs for competition golfers. I noted, however, that the past 18 months the Cleveland site only talked about wedges and putters. So, it was good to see the GD ad on the new Cleveland Launcher woods and irons. Circa 2009, the Cleveland CG16 irons lost out to the Callaway X20 irons when I was redoing my bag. And,  I played a mix of CG14 wedges until last summer. Good to see Cleveland rebounding beyond wedges and putters.  Several golf club manufacturers have used variations on CB in the designations of their cavity-back iron models. I doubt such a suit would go anywhere; it would be like trying to copyright the terms grooves and dimples.
    • Yup.  I'm happily in the "I will not be getting a Scotty" club.
  • TST Blog Entries

  • Blog Entries

  • Today's Birthdays

    1. StevenR84
      StevenR84
      (33 years old)
  • Get Great Gear with Amazon