Per the rules of the game, I think that I probably played it correctly. My playing partner was adamant afterwards that the ball was obviously in a hazard to begin with and I should have simply played it as such. He then informed me that once I drop, the ball will be in play and I should play it from there as if I had not taken an unplayable and subsequently gone into the pond. Hence, this begs the second question. If I did misplay the situation, the strokes that I accumulated would obviously still count would they not?
I'm super excited! I was just told by my son's high school golf coach that he and another player will be competing in the individual class at our state championships. (We live in NH.)
Some of you may recall, I started a thread a couple of months ago trying to find a similar used driver to the Taylormade M2 for my son. We can't afford much for equipment. @RandallT kindly sent us a SLDR driver that he had, and @Buckeyebowman sent a golf bag. @iacas was also really helpful, and @amoline has become a good friend that I chat with daily! Many others here on TST have been incredibly kind and helpful as well, and I'm so grateful!
Anyway, our main goal was for him to make the team - which he did. Then out of the team of 12, 7 get to play in the tournaments based on their practice scores. Mack has always made the top 7 and has played the tourneys. Then he made it to the #1 slot and has been hitting in Group 1 and playing against seniors and juniors mostly. (He's a skinny freshman.) Now, I'm told he's going to state!
I'm incredibly proud of him. He has worked very hard practicing. He has a lot going against him - parents who don't golf, little access to driving ranges, budget clubs and equipment, a neurological disability (APD) - yet he still perseveres. :)
Thank you all for following my son's journey! I'll keep you updated if you'd like. Here's a pic of him all dressed up for homecoming last weekend. ;)