• Announcements

    • iacas

      Introducing TST "Clubs!"   08/28/2017

      No, we're not getting into the equipment business, but we do have "clubs" here on TST now. Groups. Check them out here:
Sign in to follow this  
saevel25

Ball didn't get past the ladies tees

Recommended Posts

saevel25    1,073

So I play in a mixed league on Monday's. This one guy was playing against this on girl. On the 2nd hole, a par 5. The white tees are some 60-70 yards away from were the women tee off. So he duffs his drive about 40 yards in front of him. The girl was about to hit, but my opponent held her up to allow the other guy to play his 2nd shot because he was away. I got to thinking, is that correct. We are pretty lax about "Order of Play", and who has honors. So it was no big deal, but I was just curious as to what would happen in an official match were competition has people hitting from different tee boxes.

So a bit of research,

10-2. Stroke Play

a. When Starting Play of Hole

The competitor who has the honor at the first teeing ground is determined by the order of the draw. In the absence of a draw, the honor should be decided by lot.

The competitor with the lowest score at a hole takes the honor at the nextteeing ground. The competitor with the second lowest score plays next and so on. If two or more competitors have the same score at a hole, they play from the next teeing ground in the same order as at the previous teeing ground.

Exception: Rule 32-1 (handicap bogey, par and Stableford competitions).

b. During Play of Hole

After the competitors have started play of the hole, the ball farthest from thehole is played first. If two or more balls are equidistant from the hole or their positions relative to the hole are not determinable, the ball to be played first should be decided by lot.

From this I presume, it doesn't matter if the guy duffed it a foot or 40 yards, the girl would then proceed to hit. Then the hole is now currently in play, the person farthest would play first.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Sign up (or log in) today! It's free (and you won't see this ad anymore)!

Sign up (or log in) today! It's free (and you won't see this ad anymore)!

Fourputt    922
So I play in a mixed league on Monday's. This one guy was playing against this on girl. On the 2nd hole, a par 5. The white tees are some 60-70 yards away from were the women tee off. So he duffs his drive about 40 yards in front of him. The girl was about to hit, but my opponent held her up to allow the other guy to play his 2nd shot because he was away. I got to thinking, is that correct. We are pretty lax about "Order of Play", and who has honors. So it was no big deal, but I was just curious as to what would happen in an official match were competition has people hitting from different tee boxes.

So a bit of research,

Quote:

10-2. Stroke Play

a. When Starting Play of Hole

The competitor who has the honor at the first teeing ground is determined by the order of the draw. In the absence of a draw, the honor should be decided by lot.

The competitor with the lowest score at a hole takes the honor at the nextteeing ground. The competitor with the second lowest score plays next and so on. If two or more competitors have the same score at a hole, they play from the next teeing ground in the same order as at the previous teeing ground.

Exception: Rule 32-1 (handicap bogey, par and Stableford competitions).

b. During Play of Hole

After the competitors have started play of the hole, the ball farthest from thehole is played first. If two or more balls are equidistant from the hole or their positions relative to the hole are not determinable, the ball to be played first should be decided by lot.

From this I presume, it doesn't matter if the guy duffed it a foot or 40 yards, the girl would then proceed to hit. Then the hole is now currently in play, the person farthest would play first.

His ball can't be "away" if she hasn't put a ball in play.

As a side note:  If she had played and hit her ball out of bounds, she would have played a stroke and even though she is playing again from tee, with the option of teeing the ball, he is now away as both players have started play on the hole.  In this case it doesn't matter that she doesn't yet have a ball in play.  The fact that she played a stroke means that both players have begun play on the hole.  The same ruling would apply if she had whiffed the ball.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

saevel25    1,073
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fourputt View Post

His ball can't be "away" if she hasn't put a ball in play.

That is what I said.

Quote:
From this I presume, it doesn't matter if the guy duffed it a foot or 40 yards, the girl would then proceed to hit. Then the hole is now currently in play, the person farthest would play first.

I guess it would have read better this way,

Quote:
From this I presume, it doesn't matter if the guy duffed it a foot or 40 yards, the girl would have to hit her tee shot before he hit is 2nd shot.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

Sign in to follow this  



  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • 2017 TST Partners

    Talamore Golf Resort
    PING Golf
    FlightScope Mevo
    Mission Belt
    Snell Golf
    Frogger Golf
    PitchFix USA
  • Posts

    • I've often had the problem of not hitting the driver as well as irons.  Over the last few rounds I came up with something that works pretty well for now:  Activate the wrists a little more with the driver.  With irons I've been swinging with a kind of "dead hands" feel in an attempt to cast/flip less and get a nice inline impact.  It just doesn't work the same for me with the driver. Now I'm trying to get a little more of a "swinging" feel with the driver.  Not afraid to let the club swing the wrists back into a hinged position, then not afraid the feel them swing unhinged in the downswing.  Sort of conciously unhinging them.  Not too much though.  Still have to swing the arms and body.  I'm just sort of letting the club head go more instead of my normal bunt/block kind of shot. I hope some of that made sense and was helpful.
    • Okay, I feel a little better now. Thanks for the info guys. Saved me a little worry
    • I just didnt get it. I have a. Odyssey metal x milled 1 that I love and works great for me and I have an odyssey white hot rossie, that I also love the feel, balance, weight, and the way it plays. I got them both for about 200, 200 for both clubs, their used, except that the metal x is in mint condition, but 200 for two good clubs I get, 350 for a putter....it better guarantee that u jar it from 90 ft before I pay that much. But thats my opinion. I just didnt know if they're was something amazing or mystical about these that I was unaware of for that price
    • Maybe thick grip on putter trend seeping into full swing clubs? Heck if I know. Do thick grips make it harder to install via air compressor?
    • did not know where exactly where to place this thread, but........ Okay, I have been struggling with iron play so have been working diligently on it at the expense of losing faith in Driver, fairway woods, and lower lofted hybrids. I have gotten much better at the irons, hitting all of them crisp and even being able to stop on a green. Today it was almost like throwing darts in that most of the iron approaches stopped dead in their tracks, however the greens were recently heavily "sanded" and therefor hardly any roll out at all. Just "thud craters". Not complaining mind you, as its always nice to lay one right up pin high within three feet or so (but sometimes shorter than expected).  That being said, now I just can not seem to hit driver e.t.c.  (nothing new here, and a lot of discussion in the past).  It would be nice to have a practice routine that would benefit me in both ways or as the subject line says, achieve balance.  Just a mild moment of "introspection" and muse.......
  • TST Blog Entries

  • Blog Entries

  • Today's Birthdays

    1. grilljm
      grilljm
      (71 years old)
    2. Joe92385
      Joe92385
      (32 years old)
  • Get Great Gear with Amazon