Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
joekelly

Errant shot hits tree, then power line.

3 posts in this topic

Seems to be in the Local Rule category that balls hitting power lines must be replayed.  I had thought a general Rule.

But today the poorly played wedge went way right and hit the upper branches of the tree,  fell onto the power lines and then into the rough.

If Local Rule in effect, must this shot be replayed?  If no Local Rule in effect, play as it lies in rough?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Want to get rid of this advertisement? Sign up (or log in) today! It's free!

For a bit more discussion on this....

In my experience, the local rule is generally only invoked when the power lines are in play for a "normal" shot - usually if the lines are strung across the hole or are otherwise likely to be a factor in the normal play of the hole.  One course I play has a string of high tension lines down the left side, well into the rough, and they do not have the local rule in place.  If you hit those lines, play it as it lies.  I've never actually hit the lines on that hole, but I've bounced a couple of drives off one of the big (about 3 feet in diameter at the base) metal poles.  A friend hit a high hook and clipped the lines once, and they saved him from going OB, so I guess it's not necessarily a bad thing.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0