IGNORED

Loss of depth perception and eye-hand coordination and what I did about it

chipandcharge
Note: This thread is 810 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Prior to 2011, I had very good depth perception and eye-hand coordination.  I had a history of doing quite well in racquet sports. I started playing golf in 2007, and my index was progressing downward at a reasonable rate.

Then I developed double vision due to scar tissue developing behind the retina in my left eye.  In 2011, my index went up six points in less than a month.  My number of bad contacts in a round of 18 went from 2 to 3 to 15 to 20.

One day while waiting on the tee box for my turn to hit, I tried to nudge the ball on the grass with the handle of the club, and I missed it by one inch. On an optometrist's test with the concentric cylinders that protrude from the paper, I scored zero out of max, whereas I used to almost max out the test.

I received some advice from a teaching pro that I should try to learn to play golf like a blind person so that I wouldn't have to depend on depth perception.