IGNORED

flex regular or stiff hybrid

Note: This thread is 2898 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Hi, i was fitted 6 months ago for a driver and some irons and the fitter was certain that i get a regular flex, as i was a beginner who wasn't getting massive head speeds, i have played a ton of golf lately (18 holes twice a week) and have improved my game immensely, i went in a few weeks ago to get a hybrid and after hitting a few at 80-95 mph head speed, the fitter then (different person) said he thinks that a stiff shaft would be more ideal. i told him i had a regular flex driver and irons but he was still set on the stiff hybrid shaft. im not sure what to do, i like the regular flex on my irons but i think my driver could need a stiffer flex. im not sure whether the stiff shaft hybrid will be good for me, it felt really good hitting some balls but i have always thought the hybrid should be the same flex as my irons?
questions...
should i go stiff or regular hybrid?
should i replace my regular driver shaft with a stiff shaft?

I typically play x-flex, but have been comfortable hitting reg before in irons.

Personally, I would prioritize my driver.

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

1 hour ago, nwalsh8 said:

i went in a few weeks ago to get a hybrid and after hitting a few at 80-95 mph head speed, the fitter then (different person) said he thinks that a stiff shaft would be more ideal

Did he give you a good reason why? How did the shots from the regular flex compare with the stiff flex?

Bill

“By three methods we may learn wisdom: First, by reflection, which is noblest; Second, by imitation, which is easiest; and third by experience, which is the bitterest.” - Confucius

My Swing Thread

38 minutes ago, billchao said: