Jump to content
Subscribe to the Spin Axis Podcast! ×
Note: This thread is 3483 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Recommended Posts

Posted

Ok, here's my situation. At the course I'm a member, we have many out of bound areas. They are marked by white stakes. No lines at the moment. Is the out of bounds line from "stake to stake" or does it follow the curves of what is out of bounds? The stake might be hundreds of feet apart, which if from stake to stake what might seem to be out of bounds will be inbounds and mowed grass will be out of bounds.  We have the same problem with hazards too. Might only be three or four stakes for a pond. What is the ruling on this?


Posted
9 minutes ago, Coop33 said:

Ok, here's my situation. At the course I'm a member, we have many out of bound areas. They are marked by white stakes. No lines at the moment. Is the out of bounds line from "stake to stake" or does it follow the curves of what is out of bounds? The stake might be hundreds of feet apart, which if from stake to stake what might seem to be out of bounds will be inbounds and mowed grass will be out of bounds.  We have the same problem with hazards too. Might only be three or four stakes for a pond. What is the ruling on this?

Quote

Check the Local Rules on the score card to identify the boundaries of the
course.
These are normally defined by fences, walls, white stakes or white lines.
If your ball is lost outside a water hazard or out of bounds you must play
another ball from the spot where the last shot was played, under penalty of
one stroke, i.e., stroke and distance.

Normally, I go stake to stake, but it depends upon local rules. It also sounds like there is a defined boundary that follows some kind of contour? I would guess that is the intended OB boundary.

:ping:  :tmade:  :callaway:   :gamegolf:  :titleist:

TM White Smoke Big Fontana; Pro-V1
TM Rac 60 TT WS, MD2 56
Ping i20 irons U-4, CFS300
Callaway XR16 9 degree Fujikura Speeder 565 S
Callaway XR16 3W 15 degree Fujikura Speeder 565 S, X2Hot Pro 20 degrees S

"I'm hitting the woods just great, but I'm having a terrible time getting out of them." ~Harry Toscano

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • Moderator
Posted

If there are no lines, the inside (course-side) edge of the stakes define the OB, and you do indeed go stake to stake.  The same would apply to water hazards if there are no lines.  Again, a Local Rule might clarify those limits, especially if it references property lines, neighboring fences, that kind of thing.  If the boundary really should be curved, the course (the Committee) really should use enough stakes and/or paint to define it accurately, but that doesn't always happen.  If its me, in casual play, I'd base things on natural contours and obvious property limits.  For tournament play, I'd go by the letter of the law, and that would mean stake-to-stake unless they painted the boundaries. 

  • Upvote 3

Dave

:callaway: Rogue SubZero Driver

:titleist: 915F 15 Fairway, 816 H1 19 Hybrid, AP2 4 iron to PW, Vokey 52, 56, and 60 wedges, ProV1 balls 
:ping: G5i putter, B60 version
 :ping:Hoofer Bag, complete with Newport Cup logo
:footjoy::true_linkswear:, and Ashworth shoes

the only thing wrong with this car is the nut behind the wheel.

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted (edited)

This situation happened to me at a tournament once. I was unsure about where the OB was between two far placed stakes. You look at it from one direction along the stakes, the ball looked in - turned around looked front the other direction and it looked out.  I played two balls two balls through that hole and asked for a ruling when i got in. When I'm in doubt about a rule, i always do that. Either tournament or rec play. 

Edited by Groucho Valentine

Posted
2 hours ago, DaveP043 said:

If there are no lines, the inside (course-side) edge of the stakes define the OB, and you do indeed go stake to stake.  The same would apply to water hazards if there are no lines.  Again, a Local Rule might clarify those limits, especially if it references property lines, neighboring fences, that kind of thing.  If the boundary really should be curved, the course (the Committee) really should use enough stakes and/or paint to define it accurately, but that doesn't always happen.  If its me, in casual play, I'd base things on natural contours and obvious property limits.  For tournament play, I'd go by the letter of the law, and that would mean stake-to-stake unless they painted the boundaries. 

Dave, you are correct about the stakes defining OB in the absence of paint. The same does NOT apply to WH's however; stakes identify, lines define. 

26/2

 

Ball Within Natural Margin of Water Hazard But Outside Stakes Defining Margin

Q.Stakes defining the margin of a water hazard were improperly installed. As a result, an area which clearly was part of the water hazard was outside the stakes and, thus, technically was outside the hazard. A player's ball came to rest in water in this area. The player claimed that, in view of the alignment of the stakes, his ball was in casual water through the green. Was the claim valid?

A.No. The Committee erred in not properly defining the margin of the hazard as required by Rule 33-2a, but a player is not entitled to take advantage of such an error. Since it was clear that the place where the player's ball lay was within the natural boundaries of the water hazard, the claim should not be upheld.

  • Upvote 2

  • Moderator
Posted
20 minutes ago, Martyn W said:

Dave, you are correct about the stakes defining OB in the absence of paint. The same does NOT apply to WH's however; stakes identify, lines define. 

Obviously you're right, I looked at the definition and not the decisions.  Yet another lesson to me, and perhaps to others.  First check the rules, then definitely check the decisions too.

Dave

:callaway: Rogue SubZero Driver

:titleist: 915F 15 Fairway, 816 H1 19 Hybrid, AP2 4 iron to PW, Vokey 52, 56, and 60 wedges, ProV1 balls 
:ping: G5i putter, B60 version
 :ping:Hoofer Bag, complete with Newport Cup logo
:footjoy::true_linkswear:, and Ashworth shoes

the only thing wrong with this car is the nut behind the wheel.

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Note: This thread is 3483 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now


×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.