Jump to content
Subscribe to the Spin Axis Podcast! ×
Note: This thread is 3217 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Recommended Posts

Hypothetical Scenario that I noticed in a game once.

If you're ball is in play, but a large fence, net or boundary is out of bounds, and isn't a boundary for the course ( the white posts are ) can a free drop be giving?

So pretty much can you stand out of bounds, and hit a shot with the ball laying in bounds?  What is the ruling on a large net, pole that is outwith the course.  I mean you'd just have to hit the shot assuming it wasn't there, however how can you take an unplayable lie anyway, when this object is actually out of bounds.

Probably an easy answer to that.  


  On 6/13/2016 at 1:43 AM, Gary Page said:

So pretty much can you stand out of bounds, and hit a shot with the ball laying in bounds?

Expand  

Yes. 

  Quote

A ball is out of bounds when all of it lies out of bounds. A player may stand out of bounds to play a ball lying within bounds.

http://www.usga.org/rules/rules-and-decisions.html#!definitions

Expand  

 

  On 6/13/2016 at 1:43 AM, Gary Page said:

If you're ball is in play, but a large fence, net or boundary is out of bounds, and isn't a boundary for the course ( the white posts are ) can a free drop be giving?

Expand  

No, if the immovable obstruction is out of bounds then it is not considered a movable obstruction for the golfer. 

  Quote

24-2b/21

 

Interference by Immovable Artificial Object Situated Out of Bounds

Q.An immovable artificial object situated out of bounds interferes with a player's swing. May the player obtain relief as provided in Rule 24-2b?

A.No. Immovable artificial objects off the course are not obstructions (see Definition of "Obstructions"); therefore, the Rules provide no relief without penalty

Expand  

If the object is a movable obstruction you may move it.

  Quote

24-1/3

 

Movable Artificial Object Lying Out of Bounds

Q.A movable artificial object lying out of bounds interferes with a player's stance. May the player remove it?

A.Yes. Rule 24-1 applies.

Expand  

 

Matt Dougherty, P.E.
 fasdfa dfdsaf 

What's in My Bag
Driver; :pxg: 0311 Gen 5,  3-Wood: 
:titleist: 917h3 ,  Hybrid:  :titleist: 915 2-Hybrid,  Irons: Sub 70 TAIII Fordged
Wedges: :edel: (52, 56, 60),  Putter: :edel:,  Ball: :snell: MTB,  Shoe: :true_linkswear:,  Rangfinder: :leupold:
Bag: :ping:

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  On 6/13/2016 at 1:43 AM, Gary Page said:

I mean you'd just have to hit the shot assuming it wasn't there, however how can you take an unplayable lie anyway, when this object is actually out of bounds.

Expand  

As long as your ball is on the course and not in a water hazard, you may deem your ball to be unplayable (rule 28). So if the out-of-bounds object is in your way, you may take an unplayable lie (with the 1-stroke penalty).

Craig
What's in the :ogio: Silencer bag (on the :clicgear: cart)
Driver: :callaway: Razr Fit 10.5°  
5 Wood: :tmade: Burner  
Hybrid: :cobra: Baffler DWS 20°
Irons: :ping: G400 
Wedge: :ping: Glide 2.0 54° ES grind 
Putter: :heavyputter:  midweight CX2
:aimpoint:,  :bushnell: Tour V4

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Interesting discussion.  What happens if a white marker post is clearly removed from the ground, and the ball would be in play if this post was present?  visible square hole where it should be.

This was years ago, went back to tee as the post being missing would have it out of bounds.  Just had to assume the greenekeepers had moved this purposely.


  On 6/13/2016 at 3:00 AM, Gary Page said:

Interesting discussion.  What happens if a white marker post is clearly removed from the ground, and the ball would be in play if this post was present?  visible square hole where it should be.

Expand  

By Definition Out of Bounds does not need to be marked. 

  Quote

"Out of bounds" is beyond the boundaries of the course or any part of the course so marked by the Committee.

Expand  

 

Matt Dougherty, P.E.
 fasdfa dfdsaf 

What's in My Bag
Driver; :pxg: 0311 Gen 5,  3-Wood: 
:titleist: 917h3 ,  Hybrid:  :titleist: 915 2-Hybrid,  Irons: Sub 70 TAIII Fordged
Wedges: :edel: (52, 56, 60),  Putter: :edel:,  Ball: :snell: MTB,  Shoe: :true_linkswear:,  Rangfinder: :leupold:
Bag: :ping:

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  On 6/13/2016 at 1:54 AM, saevel25 said:

No, if the immovable obstruction is out of bounds then it is not considered a movable obstruction for the golfer. 

If the object is a movable obstruction you may move it.

Expand  

Pedant alert.

They are not obstructions as defined. They are simply objects. Using the word obstructions leads to confusion.


Pedant alert II.

The rules calls these immovable and movable artificial objects when they are not on the course.

Regards,

John

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Note: This thread is 3217 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now


  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • TST Partners

    PlayBetter
    TourStriker
    Golfer's Journal
    ShotScope
    The Stack System
    FitForGolf
    FlightScope Mevo
    Direct: Mevo, Mevo+, and Pro Package.

    Coupon Codes (save 10-20%): "IACAS" for Mevo/Stack/FitForGolf, "IACASPLUS" for Mevo+/Pro Package, and "THESANDTRAP" for ShotScope. 15% off TourStriker (no code).
  • Posts

    • Yeah I really want to avoid the rabbit hole if I can  🤣 I'm not sure I'm going to make my lesson Tuesday though, whatever I did to the back of my hand at the range is getting worse, but that's a whole separate issue 🤣  
    • Rory becomes the second person after Tiger to pass $100 million in earnings on the PGA Tour. Earnings always favor recency since purses go up. Scottie's first win was in 2022, but he's already at $75 million with "only" 18 professional wins. Rory McIlroy $100 million career earnings PGA Tour, joins Tiger Woods Until Sunday, Tiger Woods was the only golfer in the history of the PGA Tour to surpass $100 million in career earnings. Now he has company.  
    • Can't tell 100% from your videos but if your right hand is too far underneath the grip the tendency for most folks is to roll it close through impact little too early. Try putting your right (trail) hand more on the side of the grip instead of underneath at address for a simple enough adjustment. This might help. In general match-ups matter greatly and you might have to make corresponding changes. I wouldn't even begin to suggest whatever those might be. Best to get a good pro to help. Self-diagnosis/experimentation can work for some but for most it's a rabbit hole.  
    • Been away for a few weeks. A bit of tumultuous times at work. We had about 4% our exempt workforce laid off. My project from hell won’t let up. Just been burnt out the past couple of weeks and the cold crappy weather. Back at it now. Backswing drill - working on swing path feels. Right wrist bent, more feeling the palm facing away from me. Feeling the hands stay in front of me more.  Downswing- Feel like I make a big long arc with the butt end of the club to my right pocket. More out away from my shoulder. Combining this with recentering for timing. When I make a 60% swing, the clubhead feels like it’s arching from the inside and lower way more. 
    • Its tough, "greatest" is subjective, measured in many different ways, while goals and assists are simple numbers.  And even simple numbers aren't always directly comparable across eras, as you mention.  A truly amazing coincidence, if Ovi scores 2 goals in the next 2 games, he'll have exactly the same number as Gretzky (894), in exactly the same number of games (1487).  
×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...