IGNORED

Hello from the UK

andy_gtfc
Note: This thread is 2741 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Hello,

A new member here. I'm considering playing golf a lot more, to give me something to do when I have a quiet weekend, or when I want to use my holidays up at work. Currently, I've never played before at all, apart from taking a putter around when my Dad used to play and throwing the ball on the green and seeing if I could quickly putt it. Also, I occasionally have a game of Crazy Golf too. Other than that, I have no experience at all. I'm thinking about taking some lessons with a local pro and seeing how it goes from there. Also, I want to play golf to hopefully lose some weight that I have. 

So my current set up is nothing, no clubs, no balls, no bag.

Any hints and tips that you could give me would be great though, starting from scratch!

Cheers,

Andy

Welcome the site. You'll find a wealth of great info and advice here. 

If you are starting from scratch the best advice i could give is to spend as little as possible until you know for certain golf is a hobby you are going to carry on with.

Start with maybe a half set of clubs (you can get sets from Direct golf and sports direct), or you can build a good starter set again using sports direct as they sell individual Dunlop clubs that you can get for about £7 per iron, less than £20 for driver and same for wedges and putter. Check out their range of balls as well as they stock some decent ones at reasonabkle prices or Dunlop 15 for £7.

If you are just begining then you could do a lot worse than dunlop (some may say otherwise but hey). If you must have big names then Ebay is the way to go. Go for the most forgiving clubs (cavity backs not blades).