IGNORED

Measuring shot distance

Note: This thread is 2335 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

As a newbie, I have absolutely no idea how far I shoot each of my clubs, and my sense of distance isn’t brilliant (doesnt help that I am used to metres and most discussions tend to be in yards). I’d like to get at least a rough sense of distance, I have a TomTom running watch which I figure I could use, or possibly an iphone app. I spent too much money on starter gear already, so would prefer not to get another gadget just yet. Any advice?

4 minutes ago, RJN12 said:

As a newbie, I have absolutely no idea how far I shoot each of my clubs, and my sense of distance isn’t brilliant (doesnt help that I am used to metres and most discussions tend to be in yards). I’d like to get at least a rough sense of distance, I have a TomTom running watch which I figure I could use, or possibly an iphone app. I spent too much money on starter gear already, so would prefer not to get another gadget just yet. Any advice?

Go out to a course when it isn't busy. Go out to the 100 yard marker. Pick a club you think goes 100 yards. Hit about 10 shots. Pace off the distance to the average distance, disregard really bad shots. You might take the best 6 or 7 out of the 10 shots.

From there, just add/subtract 10 yards per club.

Typically, golf clubs are designed to have gaps of 10-12 yards depending on how far you hit the ball. Higher swing speeds will have larger gaps, depending on the iron set configuration.

Matt Dougherty, P.E.
 fasdfa dfdsaf 

What's in My Bag
Driver; :pxg: 0311 Gen 5,  3-Wood: 
:titleist: 917h3 ,  Hybrid:  :titleist: 915 2-Hybrid,  Irons: Sub 70 TAIII Fordged
Wedges: :edel: (52, 56, 60),  Putter: :edel:,  Ball: :snell: MTB,  Shoe: :true_linkswear:,  Rangfinder: :leupold:
Bag: :ping: