IGNORED

New Member from DC Metro Area

EngineerGolfer
Note: This thread is 5417 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Greetings all:

Nice to be part of the forums. I have been playing golf for about 23 years (hard to believe). I was bitten by the bug when I was just shy of 14 years old, and probably have a fairly unique tale about where I cut my teeth. Due to my father's position with the State Department, we moved to Mombasa Kenya in the fall of '86. The local golf course was cheap, relatively well-conditioned, and most importantly, right behind our house. I probably played weekly for almost our entire two years there and went from a complete hack to a 18 handicapper in that time. Here's the link to my original home course:

http://www.nyaligolf.co.ke

Since then, time on the course was frequent still through high school, college, and post-college life, up until having children. Now I play when I can, and have gotten into a weekly 9-hole golf league this summer. I am a fan of all things golf and look forward to taking part in the discussions on this forum. Also if anyone's looking for a game in the DC Metro area, I live in Frederick MD.

Dave

Hey Dave -- I live in Martinsburg...not too far away!

Where do you play in Frederick? I've got friends from Baltimore and whenever we try to find somewhere that is relatively equidistant from ourselves, we come up empty...

Maryland National and (shoot, I'm drawing a blank...the Joe Lee design off of I-70 right there in Middletown?? Grrr....) well, that other one, are nice but a little expensive for me. Hagerstown has a few good munis -- Black Rock is really nice for the price.

- Micah

Greetings all: