Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
MEfree

Aeration Plug partial underground- Loose Impediment?

42 posts in this topic

Is an aeration plug that is partially above the surface of the grass and partially stuck in its original hole a loose impediment that you can remove?

This would seem to say yes-

23/8

Worm Partially Underground

Q. Is a worm, when half on top of the surface of the ground and half below, a loose impediment which may be removed? Or is it fixed or solidly embedded and therefore not a loose impediment?

A. A worm which is half underground is not "fixed or growing" or "solidly embedded" within the meaning of those terms in the Definition of "Loose Impediments." Accordingly, such a worm may be removed under Rule 16-1a(i) or Rule 23 .

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Want to get rid of this advertisement? Sign up (or log in) today! It's free!

You answered your own question.  If it isn't still attached, then it's loose.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Once again, you've posed a rules question without giving your own opinion first. I've asked you to post your own answers in the past, and am asking again.

Please show off that great understanding of the Rules that you've claimed to have (though one could easily make the case that by having to ask such basic questions…).

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Is an aeration plug that is partially above the surface of the grass and partially stuck in its original hole a loose impediment that you can remove?

This would seem to say yes-

23/8

Worm Partially Underground

Q.Is a worm, when half on top of the surface of the ground and half below, a loose impediment which may be removed? Or is it fixed or solidly embedded and therefore not a loose impediment?

A.A worm which is half underground is not "fixed or growing" or "solidly embedded" within the meaning of those terms in the Definition of "Loose Impediments." Accordingly, such a worm may be removed under Rule 16-1a(i) or Rule 23.

Many, many Rules questions can be resolved by first consulting the Definitions. (It's often the first place an experienced rules official will go.)

Loose Impediments

Loose impediments ’’ are natural objects, including:

  • stones, leaves, twigs, branches and the like,
  • dung, and
  • worms, insects and the like, and the casts and heaps made by them,

provided they are not:

  • fixed or growing,
  • solidly embedded, or
  • adhering to the ball.

Sand and loose soil are loose impediments on the putting green , but not elsewhere.

Snow and natural ice, other than frost, are either casual water or loose impediments , at the option of the player.

Dew and frost are not loose impediments .

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Seriously? Do any of you play a course that has been aerated with plugs and holes still out there, and the course does not then have a local rule for lift clean and place?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

You answered your own question.  If it isn't still attached, then it's loose.

What, no popcorn this time?

;-)

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Seriously? Do any of you play a course that has been aerated with plugs and holes still out there, and the course does not then have a local rule for lift clean and place?

Not for plugs, and only relief for holes.  This is not a preferred lies (or lift, clean, place if you like the non technical terms) situation.  You only get relief if the ball actually lies in an aeration hole, and then the local rule requires that the ball be dropped, not placed, unless the ball lies on the green.

d. Aeration Holes

When a course has been aerated, a Local Rule permitting relief, without penalty, from an aeration hole may be warranted. The following Local Rule is recommended:

“Through the green, a ball that comes to rest in or on an aeration hole may be lifted, without penalty, cleaned and dropped, as near as possible to the spot where it lay but not nearer the hole. The ball when dropped must first strike a part of the course through the green.

On the putting green, a ball that comes to rest in or on an aeration hole may be placed at the nearest spot not nearer the hole that avoids the situation.

PENALTY FOR BREACH OF LOCAL RULE:

Match play – Loss of hole; Stroke play – Two strokes.”

And plugs are only loose impediments.  You can move them, but you don't get to move your ball away from them.
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Is an aeration plug that is partially above the surface of the grass and partially stuck in its original hole a loose impediment that you can remove?

This would seem to say yes-

You answered your own question.  If it isn't still attached, then it's loose.

Once again, you've posed a rules question without giving your own opinion first. I've asked you to post your own answers in the past, and am asking again.

Please show off that great understanding of the Rules that you've claimed to have (though one could easily make the case that by having to ask such basic questions…).

I thought I was providing my interpretation when I said "This would seem to say yes"

For the record, I didn't realize that the plug was still partially embedded in the ground when I started to remove it, but the resistance that I got made me look more closely and realize that it was.  I went ahead and removed it anyway.  Based on the responses so far, it appears I was correct.

Many, many Rules questions can be resolved by first consulting the Definitions. (It's often the first place an experienced rules official will go.)

Loose Impediments

“Loose impediments’’ are natural objects, including:

stones, leaves, twigs, branches and the like,

dung, and

worms, insects and the like, and the casts and heaps made by them,

provided they are not:

fixed or growing,

solidly embedded, or

adhering to the ball.

Sand and loose soil are loose impediments on the putting green, but not elsewhere.

Snow and natural ice, other than frost, are either casual water or loose impediments, at the option of the player.

Dew and frost are not loose impediments.

I read the definition before posting.  The "solidly embedded" part was what I wasn't certain about.  Approximately half the plug was embedded.

Seriously? Do any of you play a course that has been aerated with plugs and holes still out there, and the course does not then have a local rule for lift clean and place?

No lift, clean and place posted.  The maintenance crew was actually in the process of raking up after having punched this fairway.  There was a posting in the Men's room that said fairway aeration would take place from ~Sept 5-25 and most of the other holes have not been aerated yet.

On the same shot in question, there was a fully loose aeration plug behind my ball that my ball was resting on.  I did not try to remove that one.  Correct?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Worms are a specific case, hence the decision.  I've never seen an aeration plug, "stuck" in it's old hole.  Aeration plugs are loose impediments, like dirt clogs.  I wouldn't want to get into whether a plug in an aeration hole was solidly embedded.  When in doubt, leave it alone.

As far the plug resting on your ball, assuming the ball was not in a hazard, it may be removed.  If you ball moves, 1ps and replace your ball.  If the plug was adhering to your ball you can not remove it.  IF the ball was on the plug, you obviously can not remove the plug without moving the ball.

Honestly, if I was playing a course while it was being aerated, I wouldn't get too hung up on loose impediment rules.  It's not a tournament......I hope.  Move your ball/plug as necessary.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

I thought I was providing my interpretation when I said "This would seem to say yes"

You weren't. I asked four people, and given my own interpretation, we're 5 for 5 on how that's more of a question and/or saying that it is what the book says, it's not about your interpretation or understanding of what it says.

Fourputt was saying you answered your own question by citing the rule, not because you specifically shared your own answer.

And as seems typical with your threads, you're already into the "adding details not present in the first post" stage. Please learn to just get it all out in the first post.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Worms are a specific case, hence the decision.  I've never seen an aeration plug, "stuck" in it's old hole.  Aeration plugs are loose impediments, like dirt clogs.  I wouldn't want to get into whether a plug in an aeration hole was solidly embedded.  When in doubt, leave it alone.

As far the plug resting on your ball, assuming the ball was not in a hazard, it may be removed.  If you ball moves, 1ps and replace your ball.  If the plug was adhering to your ball you can not remove it.  IF the ball was on the plug, you obviously can not remove the plug without moving the ball.

Honestly, if I was playing a course while it was being aerated, I wouldn't get too hung up on loose impediment rules.  It's not a tournament......I hope.  Move your ball/plug as necessary.

It was definitely "stuck" in its own hole...Not so stuck that it didn't come out when I pulled on it, but it did offer some resistance.  I understand that worms are a specific case, but was trying to use the same logic here.  So do you disagree with the majority here that it was clearly within the rules to remove the partially embedded plug?

It was not a tournament BUT I do have the semi-finals of the Passholder Match Play Tournament coming up on the same course, which is why I asked the question.  Keystone does not host many internal club tournaments and seems more in the habit of letting golfers decide for themselves whether they want to play lift, clean and place as opposed to posting it.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

It was definitely "stuck" in its own hole...Not so stuck that it didn't come out when I pulled on it, but it did offer some resistance.  I understand that worms are a specific case, but was trying to use the same logic here.  So do you disagree with the majority here that it was clearly within the rules to remove the partially embedded plug?

I don't see a majority saying that.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Is an aeration plug that is partially above the surface of the grass and partially stuck in its original hole a loose impediment that you can remove? This would seem to say yes-

23/8

Worm Partially Underground

Q. Is a worm, when half on top of the surface of the ground and half below, a loose impediment which may be removed? Or is it fixed or solidly embedded and therefore not a loose impediment?

A. A worm which is half underground is not "fixed or growing" or "solidly embedded" within the meaning of those terms in the Definition of "Loose Impediments." Accordingly, such a worm may be removed under Rule 16-1a(i) or Rule 23 .

:-D :-D

I am fourth generation Cherokee. I would first consult with the worm before any talk of removal became serious. :)

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I don't see a majority saying that.

You might be right, looking back at the posts, it is a lot of rules quoting.

So, let's start over.

Who thinks that the rules allow you to remove an aeration plug that is half above the surface and half in its original hole?  Who thinks you can't?  Who is unsure? (Is it too late to add a poll?)

I think that the logic behind the worm decision should apply the same to aeration holes.  Put another way, my opinion is that the rules allow you to remove a partially embedded aeration plug as a loose impediment.  Going a bit further with my thinking (beyond the worm decision), I think that the partially embedded plug has been cut away from the earth/grass that it was originally attached to and is more just "stuck" in its original hole as opposed to still being attached or "solidly" embedded.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

23/2

Meaning of "Solidly Embedded" in Definition of "Loose Impediments"

Q. The Definition of "Loose Impediments" states that a stone is a loose impediment if it is not "solidly embedded." When is a stone solidly embedded?

A. If a stone is partially embedded and may be picked up with ease, it is a loose impediment. When there is doubt as to whether a stone is solidly embedded or not, it should not be removed.

And before you ask, it's a judgment call on what "with ease" means.

I would not remove it. I would penalize you if you did and I noticed that it was still "stuck."

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dormie1360

Worms are a specific case, hence the decision.  I've never seen an aeration plug, "stuck" in it's old hole.  Aeration plugs are loose impediments, like dirt clogs.  I wouldn't want to get into whether a plug in an aeration hole was solidly embedded.  When in doubt, leave it alone.

As far the plug resting on your ball, assuming the ball was not in a hazard, it may be removed.  If you ball moves, 1ps and replace your ball.  If the plug was adhering to your ball you can not remove it.  IF the ball was on the plug, you obviously can not remove the plug without moving the ball.

Honestly, if I was playing a course while it was being aerated, I wouldn't get too hung up on loose impediment rules.  It's not a tournament......I hope.  Move your ball/plug as necessary.

It was definitely "stuck" in its own hole...Not so stuck that it didn't come out when I pulled on it, but it did offer some resistance.  I understand that worms are a specific case, but was trying to use the same logic here.  So do you disagree with the majority here that it was clearly within the rules to remove the partially embedded plug?

It was not a tournament BUT I do have the semi-finals of the Passholder Match Play Tournament coming up on the same course, which is why I asked the question.  Keystone does not host many internal club tournaments and seems more in the habit of letting golfers decide for themselves whether they want to play lift, clean and place as opposed to posting it.

Did you see my post of the correct local rule for this?  If the local rule had been invoked solely for the aeration conditions, they are not warranted in using the Preferred Lies local rule.

Quote:

Originally Posted by iacas

I don't see a majority saying that.

You might be right, looking back at the posts, it is a lot of rules quoting.

So, let's start over.

Who thinks that the rules allow you to remove an aeration plug that is half above the surface and half in its original hole?  Who thinks you can't?  Who is unsure? (Is it too late to add a poll?)

I think that the logic behind the worm decision should apply the same to aeration holes.  Put another way, my opinion is that the rules allow you to remove a partially embedded aeration plug as a loose impediment.  Going a bit further with my thinking (beyond the worm decision), I think that the partially embedded plug has been cut away from the earth/grass that it was originally attached to and is more just "stuck" in its original hole as opposed to still being attached or "solidly" embedded.

The worm decision doesn't really apply because the worm is a living thing capable of putting up resistance to being removed.  The aeration plug is not.  If it offers any significant resistance to movement, then it is firmly embedded.  As Erik says, that's a judgement call.  It may be a bad break, just like if the ball comes to rest partially supported by a plug, but those are the breaks.

You have the choice of hitting the ball as it lies, or declaring the ball unplayable and dropping clear.  However, a drop is a chancy thing too, as the ball could end up in a similar lie if you don't do a good job of cleaning  up the dropping area.  Sometimes it's actually not the worst thing to remove the loose impediment, and if it does cause the ball to move, replace the ball and take the one stroke penalty that way, with the loose impediment no longer a factor.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

So if the dirt that comes out of the hole is called a plug, then why do we call those delectable little breakfast bites "donut holes?" Sorry jamo or boogie, I'm not ever calling them "munchkins" so don't bother. ;)
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

It was not a tournament BUT I do have the semi-finals of the Passholder Match Play Tournament coming up on the same course, which is why I asked the question.  Keystone does not host many internal club tournaments and seems more in the habit of letting golfers decide for themselves whether they want to play lift, clean and place as opposed to posting it.

Having thought about this some more, I might be inclined to be a little more lenient on judging what is solidly embedded.  I don't think "play it as it lies" envisioned a Toro aerator.  Having said that, you still need to follow the definition of a Loose Impediment the best you can.

You said match play, which is a little different anyway.  If you and your opponent agree on a loose impediment, again believing you are applying the rule correctly, you don't need me or anyone else to rule on it for you.  If you and your opponent agree it's done.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0



  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • 2016 TST Partners

    GAME Golf
    PING Golf
    Lowest Score Wins
  • Posts

    • What Are Your 2016 Golf Goals? Official Thread
      Handicap card completed - Off a 23 which is a bit higher than I'd like, Going to play in my first comp next month hopefully. Still working on those blow up holes. Shot an 86 yesterday which is my best round in a long time! 
    • What would a PGA Tour player shoot at your home course?
      @iacas Not sure why you feel the need to try and make people feel stupid? What's the attitude all about?

      Because you seem to think that nobody else has any valid arguments, I felt compelled to contact a friend of mine and ask him about the subject. He has won twice on the MacKenzie Tour, 4 times on the Gateway Tour and played in the US Open in 2010 at Pebble Beach. I Facebooked him a few days ago and heard back from him today. He said that his Tour buddies of that calibre typically shoot in the mid 60's (or lower) if they play an "average" course for a Pro-Am or a sponsor's event or for a casual round. He added that he played a municipal course in Phoenix last week (he didn't say which one) and shot -8 without ever having seen the course before. And he was never able to make it through the final stage of Q-School so he self-admittedly doesn't have the skillset of the PGA guys. I still say the average Tour player would shoot in the low 60's at my course. Here's the scorecard of it, and Nick Taylor's scores from the 2006 Provincial Tournament. He was only a junior at the time and hadn't played for the University of Washington yet. Safe to say his handicap has improved a little bit since then  and he still shot 68 twice and under difficult tournament conditions! No way he'd shoot that now. 
        Nick Taylor   Round: 4 Position: 1 Score: -11 Strokes: 277 Tip: Click on a hole number to compare Nick’s score to the field. Hole 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Out 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 In Total Yards 363 381 374 191 496 406 524 197 401 3333 530 197 424 487 559 166 393 428 286 3470 6803 Handicap 16 4 14 18 10 2 12 8 6   11 15 3 1 7 13 9 5 17     Par 4 4 4 3 5 4 5 3 4 36 5 3 4 4 5 3 4 4 4 36 72 Round 1 5 3 4 3 4 4 4 3 4 34 4 3 4 4 5 3 3 3 5 34 68 Round 2 4 3 4 3 4 3 6 3 5 35 5 3 4 4 5 3 4 4 4 36 71 Round 3 4 4 3 2 5 4 4 3 4 33 4 3 3 4 6 3 4 4 4 35 68 Round 4 4 3 4 3 5 3 5 3 4 34 5 3 4 4 5 3 4 4 4 36 70 Key:   Eagle   Birdie   Bogey   Dbl Bogey
    • Standing on Tee Marker for Aiding a Swing
      However, the ruling given by the RBs that, when Preferred Lies are in operation, a player may place his ball on a stray tee already in the ground, may suggest that he make take advantage of the tee marker.  A tee being defined as a device. But a tee is designed for the specific purpose of raising the ball off the ground. The tee marker is not designed to provide a footstand.
    • Your worst golf bargain
      Golf can be an obsession in terms of equipment, so my worse bargain this past offseason was stock piling several boxes of Golf Balls.  I over did it ten fold...duh.  
    • My Swing (PumaAttack)
      @pumaAttack, please read what I've said, I've answered your questions and spent my free time trying to help you. I'll try to be as clear as I can. It's not just about hitting positions or angles, you have to consider the entire motion and how you arrived there. The golf swing is a dynamic movement. There is no "perfect" A4 or A6, etc. @iacas has already answered this but if you go shallow to steep (what you're doing) the sweetspot is going to want to kick out. You can make compensations so it looks ok but it's not an effective way to hit the ball. It's going to cost you contact control, face control and speed. If you can go steep to shallow you'll have a better chance of creating the most speed and best contact. A sweetspot kicking out (which yours is) leads to pulls, inconsistent contact and glancing blows. We've answered your questions but here is more detail (more detail than most students should get): Shallow to steep = Not Effective, the weight of the clubhead is going to want to be "thrown" out which will have the club working across the ball. It will also widen the arc so in order not to fat it you have to make compensations with your hands/body. Steep to shallow = Most Effective, potentially creates more speed, on downswing you can load into the ground and rotate while still swinging out (without trying to swing out). Easier to rotate and maintain your tilt because if the sweetspot is kicking out (widens the arc) you have to do something to make room. Very, very few good players swing across the ball on the downswing. Nobody is out to get you, I had no idea you were still on Evolvr, it would have been helpful to post something like "Here is my latest swing, here's what my Evolvr instructor said my priority is". If you did I would have never posted what I did. I was just trying to help. If @iacas offers his opinion, rather than take the defensive route, give him the benefit of the double and listen to what he's saying, he knows what he's talking about. Even after this post I get the feeling you'll want to say "But my A6 is perfect!", I'd recommend you take a look at these threads.    
  • TST Blog Entries

  • Images

  • Today's Birthdays

    1. bigtosh90
      bigtosh90
      (26 years old)
    2. dopplegvnger
      dopplegvnger
      (24 years old)
    3. Frank62
      Frank62
      (54 years old)
  • Blog Entries