• Announcements

    • iacas

      Create a Signature!   02/05/2016

      Everyone, go here and edit your signature this week: http://thesandtrap.com/settings/signature/.
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Nimrod84

Claiming I made a double hit

10 posts in this topic

I was chipping my ball on a downslope next to the green. My wedge brushed the grass before I made contact with the ball. The ball went in the direction I intended and rolled up short of the hole. From my own perspective during the chip I never felt or heard the ball hit my wedge twice through the stroke.

My buddy however said he saw the shaft of my wedge hit the ball in the air during my chip. He said I hit the ball twice and was very adamant about it.

What happens in this situation? Do I give myself a one stroke penalty because he claimed I made a double hit?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Want to get rid of this advertisement? Sign up (or log in) today! It's free!

Your buddy needs to relax
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

What happens in this situation? Do I give myself a one stroke penalty because he claimed I made a double hit?

Did you?

If you don't agree, then no. You're the one with the best chance of having the best answer.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Casual round? If you don't believe you hit it twice, score as if you didn't. Match play tournament? You need to get it resolved before moving to the next tee. Stroke play tournament? He can take it up with the tournament committee later. A guy I used to play with would call all sorts of nonsense penalties to try to get in my head. For example, if there's a water hazard on the left or right hand side of the fairway, and I hook/sliced it, he'd claim I crossed the hazard at a particular point. It wasn't uncommon for me to find my ball 20-30 yards further down than where he was claiming it. I wonder if he knows why I don't play with him anymore. Is your friend similarly prone to making claims to try to get in your head? I hope it didn't affect your play for the rest of the round.
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Thank you for your replies. The reason I was unsure about this situation was because this was the first time he called me out on something and he seemed very convinced that I made a double hit.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I was chipping my ball on a downslope next to the green. My wedge brushed the grass before I made contact with the ball. The ball went in the direction I intended and rolled up short of the hole. From my own perspective during the chip I never felt or heard the ball hit my wedge twice through the stroke. My buddy however said he saw the shaft of my wedge hit the ball in the air during my chip. He said I hit the ball twice and was very adamant about it. What happens in this situation? Do I give myself a one stroke penalty because he claimed I made a double hit?

When you say that you brushed the grass before actually making contact, what do you mean? If you hit behind the ball and that propelled the ball forward, and then, in following through your club struck the ball, it's treated the same as if you actually struck the ball twice with the club. 14-4/3 Player Hits Behind Ball and Then Strikes Moving Ball Q.In playing a chip shot, a player's club strikes the ground several inches behind the ball and does not come into contact with the ball. However, the ground is struck with enough force to cause the ball to move. The player's club continues and strikes the ball while it is moving. What is the ruling? A.The player must count his stroke and add a penalty stroke under Rule 14-4. Even though the club itself did not initially strike the ball, the ball was put into motion due to the stroke; therefore, Rule 14-4 applies.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

[quote name="Nimrod84" url="/t/72691/claiming-i-made-a-double-hit#post_954212"]I was chipping my ball on a downslope next to the green. My wedge brushed the grass before I made contact with the ball. The ball went in the direction I intended and rolled up short of the hole. From my own perspective during the chip I never felt or heard the ball hit my wedge twice through the stroke. My buddy however said he saw the shaft of my wedge hit the ball in the air during my chip. He said I hit the ball twice and was very adamant about it. What happens in this situation? Do I give myself a one stroke penalty because he claimed I made a double hit?

When you say that you brushed the grass before actually making contact, what do you mean? If you hit behind the ball and that propelled the ball forward, and then, in following through your club struck the ball, it's treated the same as if you actually struck the ball twice with the club. 14-4/3 Player Hits Behind Ball and Then Strikes Moving Ball Q.In playing a chip shot, a player's club strikes the ground several inches behind the ball and does not come into contact with the ball. However, the ground is struck with enough force to cause the ball to move. The player's club continues and strikes the ball while it is moving. What is the ruling? A.The player must count his stroke and add a penalty stroke under Rule 14-4. Even though the club itself did not initially strike the ball, the ball was put into motion due to the stroke; therefore, Rule 14-4 applies.[/quote] Not trying to be an ass, but wouldn't this happen (somewhat) on every fat shot?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Not trying to be an ass, but wouldn't this happen (somewhat) on every fat shot?

This is a distinct striking of the ball well after it leaves its lie. Think of it like an explosion shot out of a bunker. The club never even actually touches the ball, but if during the follow through, you actually hit the ball after it's in the air, you incur the penalty. The decision is explaining that it's not necessary for the club to have actually touched the ball in the first place in order for it to be deemed a double hit.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nimrod84

I was chipping my ball on a downslope next to the green. My wedge brushed the grass before I made contact with the ball. The ball went in the direction I intended and rolled up short of the hole. From my own perspective during the chip I never felt or heard the ball hit my wedge twice through the stroke.

My buddy however said he saw the shaft of my wedge hit the ball in the air during my chip. He said I hit the ball twice and was very adamant about it.

What happens in this situation? Do I give myself a one stroke penalty because he claimed I made a double hit?

When you say that you brushed the grass before actually making contact, what do you mean?

If you hit behind the ball and that propelled the ball forward, and then, in following through your club struck the ball, it's treated the same as if you actually struck the ball twice with the club.

14-4/3

Player Hits Behind Ball and Then Strikes Moving Ball

Q.In playing a chip shot, a player's club strikes the ground several inches behind the ball and does not come into contact with the ball. However, the ground is struck with enough force to cause the ball to move. The player's club continues and strikes the ball while it is moving. What is the ruling?

A.The player must count his stroke and add a penalty stroke under Rule 14-4.

Even though the club itself did not initially strike the ball, the ball was put into motion due to the stroke; therefore, Rule 14-4 applies.

I just took "the test" and that very question was on it.

cm

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Casual round? If you don't believe you hit it twice, score as if you didn't.

Match play tournament? You need to get it resolved before moving to the next tee.

Stroke play tournament? He can take it up with the tournament committee later........

FIrstly, the player has to decide whether he hit the ball more than once.  If you say that you did not hit the ball twice and your opponent or fellow competitor say you did, then ....

In match play, you do not have to get it resolved before moving to the next tee; if there is no referee or committee member on the spot to make a ruling, your opponent has to inform you that he will be making a claim on the basis of your having hit the ball twice before starting play of the next hole or if at the 18th before leaving the green.  The outcome of the hole is decided at that point on your stated score i.e. without any penalty and the outcome of the match is determined accordingly.  You then report the situation to the  Committee for a ruling.  The state of the match is adjusted if necessary following that ruling.

In stroke play, you would  record your score without a penalty.  Your marker is not a referee and could only say that he was sure you hit the ball twice and that it needs to be ruled on by the Committee before your card is signed and submitted.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0



  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • 2016 TST Partners

    GAME Golf
    PING Golf
    Lowest Score Wins
  • Posts

    • TST Fantasy Golf 2016
      I had Jimmy Walker in, and pulled him since he didn't score well the first two rounds. Then he fires a 63 today. Damn.
    • Most Stressful Shot for You
      For me, it's a long carry of any kind, over water, over a cross hazard and somewhat less stressful over a fairway bunker. My miss is hardly ever too long, but it's short (right of course as a righty, but also left) aplenty. My second most stressful shot is with a severe downhill lie, especially when height is needed, to carry water, carry a bunker, stop it quickly to a green sloping away from me, etc... The first tee jitters exist too, depending on the event, competition or not, known course or not, known people or not, but after feeling completely outside my body and nearly missing the ball entirely during my first sanctioned NCGA tourney (right after they call my name), it never has been that bad and actually feels less stressful than those first two types of shot.
    • Club face angles
      No way to adjust it but you can grip the club so the face is square or open at address. The closed face angle doesn't usually effect things unless you sole it prior to gripping.
    • My Swing (Zooz)
      Glad to hear it bud! The driver is a longer club, so it is not possible to keep it underneath you as much. In golf terms they say it is a wider and slightly flatter swing. Essentially the bucket will swing more around the body, while still being connected. The basic concept is since the face has less loft, and the ball is on a tee, you need more of a sweeping motion. Don't help it or scoop up with the wrists, this can also cause a high slice. Trust the club to get the ball in the air just by contact. The driver sweeps up on the teed ball. The irons can be very descending and still work great. Without video I cannot say how descending of a blow you were achieving. It is very difficult for some people to make the two different swings but I find it can also be very easy. The tough part is understanding that this new upward sweeping swing is still a swing. It is not a lift. It still involves turn, weight transfer, acceleration. Almost all pros teach that you should just adjust your setup for driver as follows, and let the adjustments do the work for you:  First, it helps a lot if the ball is toward the front of the stance, just inside the heel of the front foot (foot closer to the target). Next you want to tilt your shoulders so the front shoulder is slightly higher and pointing up, to guide the path of the club upwards. Setting up with your shoulders slightly closed to the target of your feet and minds eye (in your case shoulders pointed a little left of target), can help too. Most importantly everything has to fire a little bit upward, the hips and shoulders. Basically it is like throwing the bucket over an obstacle, the obstacle would be like a small animal. Everything has to aim up a little more (but not fall back). Always complete the swing and weight shift 100%. Remember you can let the longer clubs be a little less underneath you. You will feel with driver as if you are swinging more around the ball as opposed to down into it. Sometimes I have people make the set up adjustments and they lose it during the swing. You have to keep the adjustments until just after impact. The best way is to get an understanding in the mind (as always) of how the club is shaped differently and how best to use it. The pros are very good at having the hands in front of the ball at impact with driver, but swinging upwards as well. This gives the ball more height and less spin. Most amatuers have the hands too far behind the ball, and don't swing up enough. Stay confident with driver and be positive. There are millions of golfers that will tell you they "cannot hit driver." Many leave it at home, or hit a slice and then say, "see I told you!" Don't be like this. Tell yourself you will be a great driver of the ball once you completely grasp it. People who beat themselves in their head have no chance of hitting a good drive. Always give yourself a chance. Also most people like this have an ingrained descending swing tbat only works with irons. The problem is on windy days the can't shallow out the plane to hit low shots. They certainly can't handle long courses. I think of the driver as my most accurate club. It's such a long club with a big sweet spot I can basically bunt it 200 yards down the fairway if I had to. Don't try to over do it. You will find more joy in hitting a low solid drive that carries 200 and rolls another 50 in the fairway, then one that carries 260 all over the place.
    • My Swing (coop6)
      yea, nice edit.  lol. seriously though, nice swing too! 
  • TST Blog Entries

  • Images

  • Today's Birthdays

  • Blog Entries