Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
owens251109

out of bounds

12 posts in this topic

Morning, I was playing in a tournament this past monday, one of the players in the foursome hit it in to the thick fescue along the course, but it was not marked white or nor we were told that if you hit it there it was OB, i personally thought it was lateral. could someone help maybe clarify this for me? thanks
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Want to get rid of this advertisement? Sign up (or log in) today! It's free!

If it was outside the course boundary it's OB. If it's not marked it's not a hazard so no lateral either way.
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

the thing about it is that it was not outside the course it was maybe 5 yards of the rough on both sides. so would that still be OB. personally i thought it always had to be marked atleast white to be OB. thanks
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Out of Bounds typically is marked with white stakes.  As Bezatron states, anything off the course property is also OB- this typically includes anything the wrong side of a boundary fence.

If there were no stakes and the area appears part of the course property, then I would say it was in bounds and play it as if it was through the green (unless a local rule indicated otherwise).

Edit- your 2nd post confuses me more than it clarifies things.  Why would it "still be OB'?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

so what would the ruling be? is it a lost ball retee or is it 2 club lengths for the point of entry, (no closer to the hole)?
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Was the ball lost? If it was then it is stroke and distance, i.e. penalty and retee. It does not matter if it was lost in OB or just in fescue. If the ball was not lost and it was not OB, then he can continue from there.

It is not lateral hazard if it is not marked as such. If it was lateral hazard (red stakes/line) then there are more options than just 2 cl.

So was it OB or not?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

so what would the ruling be? is it a lost ball retee or is it 2 club lengths for the point of entry, (no closer to the hole)?

Lost ball.  If it's not marked with white stakes or white line (or not obviously off the course) then you're correct that it's not OB.  But to be a lateral , it would have to be marked with a red line or red stakes (or on a lot of courses, just full of water), and since it was neither, it's just grass on the course.  Go back and re-tee.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

So was it OB or not?

The ball was not lost in was short of the high stuff. so the conclusion is if it did go in but you can find it you may hit it. just as marked red. Basically my whole questions boiles down to is if it is not marked white and is not off the course it is not OB. correct?
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

It is a question of fact as to the status of the ball.  Any questions as to where the ball is would be directed to the committee.  If an answer were not readily available, the player could play two balls.  OB is marked with white stakes, white line, or something is identified on your rules sheet.  Hazards are marked yellow or red

If it is not OB, the player would need to find his ball.  If unable to find the ball, it's a lost ball and the player would have to proceed under R27-1.  If the area was a hazard, doesn't sound like it from your description, the player could proceed under the hazard rule R26-1.

Hope this helps.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

The ball was not lost in was short of the high stuff. so the conclusion is if it did go in but you can find it you may hit it. just as marked red.

Basically my whole questions boiles down to is if it is not marked white and is not off the course it is not OB. correct?

The ball was in play. Correct.

Let´s not bring any red/yellow in this as it has nothing to do with ball being in grass. When there are some colourful lines, it makes things more complicated.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

yes the ball was in play. thanks for the help
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

What made you think of Out of Bounds in the first place?  There is nothing in what you describe to suggest it.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0