or Connect
TheSandTrap.com › Golf Forum › The Clubhouse › Rules of Golf › Bunker and water rules
New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:

Bunker and water rules

post #1 of 6
Thread Starter 

i was playing at the weekend and my ball went in a bunker half full of water now my ball was not in the water as i know it would have been a free drop (inside the bunker). But where i would have to stand was 4 inches deep. what is the rule here do i get a free drop inside the bunker still? it was a friendly game so i took a free drop in the bunker but was wondering for competition`s. 

post #2 of 6
Rules say: Interference by an abnormal ground condition occurs when a ball lies in or touches the condition or when the condition interferes with the player’s stance or the area of his intended swing.
post #3 of 6
Thread Starter 

OK thanks. The person i was with was adamant i didn't get relief but said oh its friendly so have a free drop in that soaking wet bunker. ha 

post #4 of 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by heggis View Post

OK thanks. The person i was with was adamant i didn't get relief but said oh its friendly so have a free drop in that soaking wet bunker. ha 

It's worth mentioning....when you drop in a bunker you almost always get some kind of plugged lie. In that particular situation, if the original lie were good, I'd probably deal with the wet stance......
post #5 of 6

You get free relief from standing water interfering with your stance or swing, even in a bunker.  The relief, as you said, must be in the bunker and not be nearer to the hole.
 

post #6 of 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by stangmark View Post

You get free relief from standing water interfering with your stance or swing, even in a bunker.  The relief, as you said, must be in the bunker and not be nearer to the hole.
 

 

Amazing, you got one right.  Although it had been answered long ago. d2_doh.gif

New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:
  Return Home
  Back to Forum: Rules of Golf
TheSandTrap.com › Golf Forum › The Clubhouse › Rules of Golf › Bunker and water rules