Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
heggis

Bunker and water rules

9 posts in this topic

i was playing at the weekend and my ball went in a bunker half full of water now my ball was not in the water as i know it would have been a free drop (inside the bunker). But where i would have to stand was 4 inches deep. what is the rule here do i get a free drop inside the bunker still? it was a friendly game so i took a free drop in the bunker but was wondering for competition`s.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Want to get rid of this advertisement? Sign up (or log in) today! It's free!

Rules say: Interference by an abnormal ground condition occurs when a ball lies in or touches the condition or when the condition interferes with the player’s stance or the area of his intended swing.
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

OK thanks. The person i was with was adamant i didn't get relief but said oh its friendly so have a free drop in that soaking wet bunker. ha

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

OK thanks. The person i was with was adamant i didn't get relief but said oh its friendly so have a free drop in that soaking wet bunker. ha

It's worth mentioning....when you drop in a bunker you almost always get some kind of plugged lie. In that particular situation, if the original lie were good, I'd probably deal with the wet stance......

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

You get free relief from standing water interfering with your stance or swing, even in a bunker.  The relief, as you said, must be in the bunker and not be nearer to the hole.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Originally Posted by stangmark

You get free relief from standing water interfering with your stance or swing, even in a bunker.  The relief, as you said, must be in the bunker and not be nearer to the hole.

Amazing, you got one right.  Although it had been answered long ago.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

What if the only place you can drop in the bunker is closer to the hole?, also, 1 of our players said " you are allowed to placed the ball, (not drop), I didn't think that was correct, but he was my partner.
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

What if the only place you can drop in the bunker is closer to the hole?, also, 1 of our players said " you are allowed to placed the ball, (not drop), I didn't think that was correct, but he was my partner.

You may not drop closer to the hole.

You may not place the ball.

Here's what Rule 25-1b has to say about abnormal ground conditions in a bunker:

(ii) In a Bunker: If the ball is in a bunker , the player must lift the ball and drop it either:

(a) Without penalty, in accordance with Clause (i) above, except that the nearest point of relief must be in the bunker and the ball must be dropped in the bunker or, if complete relief is impossible, as near as possible to the spot where the ball lay, but not nearer the hole , on a part of the course in the bunker that affords maximum available relief from the condition; or

(b) Under penalty of one stroke, outside the bunker keeping the point where the ball lay directly between the hole and the spot on which the ball is dropped, with no limit to how far behind the bunker the ball may be dropped.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

As you can see from the above, relief from casual water in a bunker differs importantly from relief elsewhere in that if you cannot find a place in the bunker completely free from the casual water, you are allowed to take partial relief where there is the maximum relief possible.  Elsewhere you must be completely clear of the condition you are taking relief from.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0



  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • 2016 TST Partners

    GAME Golf
    PING Golf
    Lowest Score Wins
  • Posts

    • You are a tad close. I would say the ball is about a ball width too close. When you move the ball away don't adjust to that by bending over at the waist more.  Even still, the ball looks to be in the middle of your stance. That is not a good ball placement for a 6 iron. I would say it's two ball widths to far back. Hover your mouse icon over the text A4 . 
    • Sorry we'll miss you, @Big C.  If this one is remotely successful, I'll try to see to it that one happens in winter (organizing it myself if I need to), and hopefully you can join us then. 
    • I do not like hot temperatures... at all.  Being from the northeast, if it got above 90 degrees, you'd find me stationed in front of the nearest window air conditioner.  Then I moved south and I quickly realized that if I took that mentality, I wouldn't do anything for 2/3 of the year.  

      Last September, I played a round during a weekday at a local course in 98 degree temperatures.  As I usually do, I packed 2 frozen waters, 2 unfrozen waters and 2 sports drinks.  I had learned earlier in the year that I need 128 ounces of fluids, at a minimum, during rounds in warm weather.  I almost never walk (puts too much strain on my knees throughout a round and I can't move the next day), and that day was no different.  I took a cart and found shade as much as possible.  

      I had been drinking more water than normal that day.  All 4 waters and the sports drinks were gone by the 14th hole.  No cart girl on the course that day.  I started looking for a water cooler on the 16th hole because I was starting to feel a little weak.  The only place I had seen to get water was at the comfort station between the 11th and 12th holes, but it was from a water fountain that had brown tinted water, so I figured I'd be find to make it the last 3 holes with no problems.  15 minutes later, after I hit my approach shot on the 17th hole, I told my cart partner that I'd walk up the path in the shade.  Truth was, I was felling really sick at that point and I didn't want to vomit from the cart.

      I sat on a rock off the edge of the path and things got REALLY dark REALLY quick.  Sounds were muffled.  I was dizzy.  

      The guys in the other cart stopped to see if I was okay.  I told them I wasn't and that I felt off.  I knew I needed water.  Luckily, one of them had a bottle of water in his bag and offered it to me.  I slowly sipped it and the other guy went to my cart and grabbed an ice pack out of my cooler so I could put it on my neck.  It took about 5 minutes before I could stand up.  

      After putting out on the 17th, I considered just packing it up and sitting in the cart for the last hole, but I managed to play out the 18th hole.  Got to the clubhouse and drank a few cups of ice water and a Gatorade while trying to cool down.  

      I was out of it for 2-3 days before I started to feel normal again.  I learned my lesson that day and now I will fill up my water bottles even if I feel like I 'have plenty' for the rest of the round.  It was easily one of the scariest moments, health-wise, in my life.  I was extremely lucky to have been playing with others that day otherwise, things could have been real bad.

      Stay hydrated... stay in shade... and if you feel even a LITTLE off, make sure to get yourself somewhere safe and around people in a hurry.  As others have said... it will overtake you in a hurry.

      ETA - By the way... I'm not in 'good shape' by any means, but I'm only mid 30s and not easily 'gassed' or anything.  It just hit me quickly and I wasn't at all prepared for it.  Also, the course I played that day is now closed.  I suppose that's why they didn't have water in the coolers or anything that day.  

      CY
    • I won't walk above 95 deg. and only 9 holes max if above 85 deg. (I carry). Don't get too hung up on being in shape.   Dehydration recovery is also a mini race that your replenishment effort could lose. The 'water-ade' you are drinking may not make it fast enough to all of your body to make up for the sweat loss. So you can actually drink more than you sweat and still dehydrate (and have a bloated belly). Happens to people all the time - "but, but, I drank so much water..!!"  If the de-hy % exceeds certain amount then you could be in trouble. Sometimes you don't feel/recognize till a few hours later. Also, core temps take longer to cool down once heated up.   +1 to the umbrella recommendation. Priceless. Scores? IDK, don't think much difference but haven't paid attention to heat vs. scores before.
    • Darn, 0-for-2! I'll be out of town for a work trip that weekend. But (subtle brag alert), it's the good kind of work trip where I get to play some golf. I'll be teeing it up at Erin Hills, WI that day.  Regardless, that date sounds like it will work for others, so run with that and I'll try to make the next one.
  • TST Blog Entries

  • Images

  • Today's Birthdays

    1. chriswuk
      chriswuk
      (25 years old)
    2. Gero
      Gero
      (73 years old)
    3. SUPGolfer
      SUPGolfer
      (46 years old)
  • Blog Entries