Here is something that happened yesterday to my playing partner in our tournament. I want to make sure that the ruling I gave him was correct.
Scenario: He was 240 out and was hitting his second shot to a par 5 green. He hooked his 3 Wood near the boundary/OB chain link fence. He declared he was playing a provisional because he could not tell if it was in or out. He used a 4 Iron for his provisional and hit a great shot to just in front of the green. When we got up to the green complex we found his ball just barely inside of the fence but almost impossible to get a club on it. He decided to take an unplayable, and I informed him of his options and he decided to do 2 club lengths. Before he messed with dropping his ball, he asked me since one of the options was to re-hit from as close to the original, if he could use his provisional as that option. I told him "No" because the provisional was for the possible OB situation and not just laying around for other scenarios that could arise. I assume that once his original was found that the provisional is no more and if he decided to use the re-hit option for the unplayable, that he would have to go back and hit again.
Is that correct what I told him? I think I have explained it properly and put all of the pertinent info in the post.