Jump to content
IGNORED

Flooded Bunker Question from Today's Round


gbogey
 Share

Note: This thread is 1156 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Recommended Posts

I don’t run into situations I don’t know how but happened again today. Ball went into bunker totally flooded with casual water - no place to drop in bunker to get relief from water.  Found the ruling confusing- it says if there is no relief take maximum relief in bunker, but there wasn’t a place to do so. Thoughts 

Link to comment
Share on other sites


  • Administrator
2 hours ago, gbogey said:

I don’t run into situations I don’t know how but happened again today. Ball went into bunker totally flooded with casual water - no place to drop in bunker to get relief from water.  Found the ruling confusing- it says if there is no relief take maximum relief in bunker, but there wasn’t a place to do so. Thoughts 

There’s always maximum available relief even if it means dropping in 5” of water instead of 10”.

You can also take the new unplayable option for two strokes.


Edit: Or better yet do what @Asheville suggested. Derp. Brain fart.

Erik J. Barzeski —  I knock a ball. It goes in a gopher hole. 🏌🏼‍♂️
Director of Instructor Development, 5 Simple Keys®/Golf Evolution • Owner, The Sand Trap .com • AuthorLowest Score Wins • Golf Digest "Best Young Teachers in America" 2016-17 • "Best in State" 2017-20 • WNY Section PGA Teacher of the Year 2019 • Penn-State Behrend Head Coach • • • • • • • • • • :aimpoint: :edel: :true_linkswear:

Check Out: New Topics | TST Blog | Golf Terms | Instructional Content | Analyzr | 5SK.com | LSW | Instructional Droplets

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

R16.1c2

(2) Penalty Relief: Playing from Outside Bunker (Back-On-the-Line Relief). For one penalty stroke, the player may drop the original ball or another ball (see Rule 14.3) in a relief area based on a reference line going straight back from the hole through the spot of the original ball:

  • Upvote 1
"Age improves with wine."
 
Wishon 919THI 11*
Wishon 925HL 4w
Wishon 335HL 3h & 4h
Wishon 755pc 5i, 6i, 7i, 8i & 9i
Tad Moore 485 PW
Callaway X 54*
Ping G2 Anser C
Callaway SuperSoft
Titleist StaDry
Kangaroo Hillcrest AB
Link to comment
Share on other sites


You have been given the "official" Rules of Golf ruling.  That said, we don't have the option of playing under PGA Tour conditions where they have crews to pump the water out of bunkers before allowing play.  

To that end, I play in 2 tournament leagues where play is under the USGA Rules of Golf.  The committee has the option of declaring specific bunkers as Ground Under Repair...basically taking them out of play.  This is only done in cases where a bunker is completely filled with water, such as you describe, and it is not applicable to every bunker on the course.  If other bunkers are not completely filled with water and there is the ability to take relief inside the bunker itself...those bunkers are in play.  However right or wrong this may seem, it is equally fair.  

Edited by RickK

Bag: Titleist
Driver: TM RBZ 9.5
Fairway metals: TM RBZ 3 wood
Hybrids: TM RBZ 3, 4 and 5
Irons: TM Burner 1.0 6 thru LW stiff steel shafts
Putter: Ping B60
Ball: TM Tour Preferred X or ProV1x
Check out littlejohngolfleague.com  A Greater Houston TX traveling golf league.

Link to comment
Share on other sites


Rick is correct. However, absent a Local Rule, the player's best bet is to play a second ball under Rule 20.1c3.

"Age improves with wine."
 
Wishon 919THI 11*
Wishon 925HL 4w
Wishon 335HL 3h & 4h
Wishon 755pc 5i, 6i, 7i, 8i & 9i
Tad Moore 485 PW
Callaway X 54*
Ping G2 Anser C
Callaway SuperSoft
Titleist StaDry
Kangaroo Hillcrest AB
Link to comment
Share on other sites


Why is a flooded bunker not considered casual water?  A sand trap is not designed to be a water hazard.  Are we supposed to treat a bunker as a small pond?  Why?

In der bag:
Cleveland Hi-Bore driver, Maltby 5 wood, Maltby hybrid, Maltby irons and wedges (23 to 50) Vokey 59/07, Cleveland Niblick (LH-42), and a Maltby mallet putter.                                                                                                                                                 "When the going gets tough...it's tough to get going."

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

21 minutes ago, Piz said:

Why is a flooded bunker not considered casual water?  A sand trap is not designed to be a water hazard.  Are we supposed to treat a bunker as a small pond?  Why?

Temporary water anywhere on the course except in a penalty area is afforded relief, mostly free except in a couple of circumstances one of which is in bunkers, and is covered in Rule 16.1.

 https://www.usga.org/content/usga/home-page/rules/rules-2019/rules-of-golf/rules-and-interpretations.html#!ruletype=fr&section=rule&rulenum=16&subrulenum=1

"Age improves with wine."
 
Wishon 919THI 11*
Wishon 925HL 4w
Wishon 335HL 3h & 4h
Wishon 755pc 5i, 6i, 7i, 8i & 9i
Tad Moore 485 PW
Callaway X 54*
Ping G2 Anser C
Callaway SuperSoft
Titleist StaDry
Kangaroo Hillcrest AB
Link to comment
Share on other sites


12 minutes ago, Asheville said:

Temporary water anywhere on the course except in a penalty area is afforded relief, mostly free except in a couple of circumstances one of which is in bunkers, and is covered in Rule 16.1.

 https://www.usga.org/content/usga/home-page/rules/rules-2019/rules-of-golf/rules-and-interpretations.html#!ruletype=fr&section=rule&rulenum=16&subrulenum=1

I understand and reckon my score accordingly.  The thing is...a bunker full to the brim, in these parts, is hardly an "abnormal" condition.  The last few months it is the norm.  My gripe is that the greens were not intended to be defended by ponds.  One day I'm trying to get up and down from a greenside bunker.  No problem...an interesting challenge.  The next day it's a lost ball.  That does not seem right.

In der bag:
Cleveland Hi-Bore driver, Maltby 5 wood, Maltby hybrid, Maltby irons and wedges (23 to 50) Vokey 59/07, Cleveland Niblick (LH-42), and a Maltby mallet putter.                                                                                                                                                 "When the going gets tough...it's tough to get going."

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • Administrator
1 minute ago, Piz said:

The next day it's a lost ball.

Huh?

Erik J. Barzeski —  I knock a ball. It goes in a gopher hole. 🏌🏼‍♂️
Director of Instructor Development, 5 Simple Keys®/Golf Evolution • Owner, The Sand Trap .com • AuthorLowest Score Wins • Golf Digest "Best Young Teachers in America" 2016-17 • "Best in State" 2017-20 • WNY Section PGA Teacher of the Year 2019 • Penn-State Behrend Head Coach • • • • • • • • • • :aimpoint: :edel: :true_linkswear:

Check Out: New Topics | TST Blog | Golf Terms | Instructional Content | Analyzr | 5SK.com | LSW | Instructional Droplets

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Just now, iacas said:

Huh?

The most notorious bunker, at my local, is so deep you can't see the green from the bottom of it.  Unless it hasn't rained in a good while it is always full of water.  There is no getting the ball out of it or even seeing where it is.  The ball is lost.  Although you have every reason to suspect it is in there somewhere; that somewhere cannot be determined.  You have to put another ball in play...or contract a pearl diver...which are in short supply around here.

In der bag:
Cleveland Hi-Bore driver, Maltby 5 wood, Maltby hybrid, Maltby irons and wedges (23 to 50) Vokey 59/07, Cleveland Niblick (LH-42), and a Maltby mallet putter.                                                                                                                                                 "When the going gets tough...it's tough to get going."

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • Administrator
6 minutes ago, Piz said:

The most notorious bunker, at my local, is so deep you can't see the green from the bottom of it.  Unless it hasn't rained in a good while it is always full of water.  There is no getting the ball out of it or even seeing where it is.  The ball is lost.  Although you have every reason to suspect it is in there somewhere; that somewhere cannot be determined.  You have to put another ball in play...or contract a pearl diver...which are in short supply around here.

It's not really the same kind of "lost" if you're virtually certain it's in there - you still get relief. It's not like you're required to take stroke and distance (like with a truly "lost" ball).

Erik J. Barzeski —  I knock a ball. It goes in a gopher hole. 🏌🏼‍♂️
Director of Instructor Development, 5 Simple Keys®/Golf Evolution • Owner, The Sand Trap .com • AuthorLowest Score Wins • Golf Digest "Best Young Teachers in America" 2016-17 • "Best in State" 2017-20 • WNY Section PGA Teacher of the Year 2019 • Penn-State Behrend Head Coach • • • • • • • • • • :aimpoint: :edel: :true_linkswear:

Check Out: New Topics | TST Blog | Golf Terms | Instructional Content | Analyzr | 5SK.com | LSW | Instructional Droplets

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

7 hours ago, Piz said:

I understand and reckon my score accordingly.  The thing is...a bunker full to the brim, in these parts, is hardly an "abnormal" condition.  The last few months it is the norm.  My gripe is that the greens were not intended to be defended by ponds.  One day I'm trying to get up and down from a greenside bunker.  No problem...an interesting challenge.  The next day it's a lost ball.  That does not seem right.

The Rules aren't that mean. A ball which the player is certain is in an abnormal course condition but cannot locate or cannot retrieve is not a "lost ball". Okay, he or she might have to buy a new one but it'd not "lost" in the sense of Rule 18.

R16.1e. Relief for Ball Not Found but in or on Abnormal Course Condition


If a player’s ball has not been found and it is known or virtually certain that the ball came to rest in or on an abnormal course condition on the course, the player may use this relief option instead of taking stroke-and-distance relief:

The player may take relief under Rule 16.1b, c or d, using the estimated point where the ball last crossed the edge of the abnormal course condition on the course as the spot of the ball for purposes of finding the nearest point of complete relief.

  • Like 1
  • Thumbs Up 1
  • Informative 1
"Age improves with wine."
 
Wishon 919THI 11*
Wishon 925HL 4w
Wishon 335HL 3h & 4h
Wishon 755pc 5i, 6i, 7i, 8i & 9i
Tad Moore 485 PW
Callaway X 54*
Ping G2 Anser C
Callaway SuperSoft
Titleist StaDry
Kangaroo Hillcrest AB
Link to comment
Share on other sites


Note: This thread is 1156 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Unfortunately, your content contains terms that we do not allow. Please edit your content to remove the highlighted words below.
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

 Share



  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • Support TST Affiliates

    TourStriker PlaneMate
    Golfer's Journal
    FlightScope Mevo
    Direct links for Mevo, Mevo+, and Pro Package. Save 10% on Mevo with coupon code "IACAS" as well.
  • Posts

    • 😄 My breath is smelling better today...
    • YES! authentic caesar dressing is the best.  To me, it's like making authentic carbonara. 
    • Time for the 2023 NCAA football primer! NCAA College Football Coaches Poll | USA Today Sports The USA TODAY Sports football coaches poll is conducted weekly throughout the NCAA college football regular season. See the Top 25 rankings from the head coaches. Latest recruiting rankings... A few more seasons of this, and ND is back!  2023 Recruit Football Team Rankings In order to create the most comprehensive Team Recruiting Ranking without any notion of bias, 247Sports Team Recruiting Ranking is solely based on the 247Sports Composite Rating. Some updated news, UCLA and USC petitioned and were accepted into the Big10. A shrewd move my both teams. I can understand from the Big10 perspective that in the modern era of college football regionality doesn't matter as much as it use to. The Big10 and the Pac12 has always had a tie through the Rose Bowl. Also, if we are heading towards few, and larger, super conferences then the Big10 is solidifying they will be one of them.  The next domino to fall might be Notre Dame to the Big10. ND's primary TV rights is with NBC, which now has succeeded in getting rights to Big10 games. ESPN has been locked out of Big10 games under the new Big10 media rights deal. Right now, ND needs to spend about $100 million to get out of their contract with the ACC. Teams in the Big10 are reported to get like $65+ million per year in their new TV contract. So, I could see ND easily absorbing that amount.  I try not to be such a romantic about things. I do not mind eliminating regionality to college football. With the now every expanding NIL deals for college football players, restructuring makes sense to me. I think the current 120+ schools for D1 football should be split up into the top 40-50 teams who actually want to spend money on football seriously, versus those that don't. They can still have football, and still play the upper devision, but they can have their own championship.  Only 13 teams have won the BCS championship or college football playoff. If you look at the top 40 teams who are willing to spend money on college football, close to half come from two conferences, the Big10 and the SEC. 
    • I almost forgot there was a food thread. Last night's dinner: Pulled chicken Caesar salad. Lots of garlic and anchovy paste in the dressing. The chicken was barbecued so it had a subtle smokey flavor.
    • Driver, 4W (17°), 4H (20°), 5H (23°)
  • Today's Birthdays

    1. alexfisher
      alexfisher
      (43 years old)
    2. Fkstang
      Fkstang
      (53 years old)
    3. marygujjari
      marygujjari
      (30 years old)
    4. RRTXgolfer
      RRTXgolfer
      (78 years old)
    5. Wanzo
      Wanzo
      (43 years old)

×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...