Jump to content
Subscribe to the Spin Axis Podcast! ×
IGNORED

Golf Rule Inquiry - When is the hole over?


Note: This thread is 2263 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Recommended Posts

Posted

Player hits hole-in-one to an elevated par 3 green. Player does not realize it and finds what he thinks is his ball behind the green in a green-side bunker. Player hits shot from bunker to 3 feet of flagstick and when removing flagstick realizes his original ball hit off the tee-box holed out. I know it is a two-stroke penalty for hitting an incorrect ball, what I am hoping for is the hole be technically over since the ball was holed out. Last bit of information - it happened on the last hole of the match. Anyone have any insight or point me in the direction of a rule that would be greatly appreciated.


  • Moderator
Posted
2 hours ago, Hack Golfer said:

Player hits hole-in-one to an elevated par 3 green. Player does not realize it and finds what he thinks is his ball behind the green in a green-side bunker. Player hits shot from bunker to 3 feet of flagstick and when removing flagstick realizes his original ball hit off the tee-box holed out. I know it is a two-stroke penalty for hitting an incorrect ball, what I am hoping for is the hole be technically over since the ball was holed out. Last bit of information - it happened on the last hole of the match. Anyone have any insight or point me in the direction of a rule that would be greatly appreciated.

The hole was over when his ball was holed. The player couldn't get any penalty strokes from playing the wrong ball or making a practice stroke because he no longer had a ball in play.

  • Upvote 2

Bill

“By three methods we may learn wisdom: First, by reflection, which is noblest; Second, by imitation, which is easiest; and third by experience, which is the bitterest.” - Confucius

My Swing Thread

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • Moderator
Posted

Its Rule 6.5, in both Match Play and in Stroke Play the hole is over when the player holes his shot.  Interpretation 6.5/1 further clarifies that the hole is over, even if he plays another ball.  If he mistakenly concedes the hole to his opponent, the concession is not valid, as the hole was over prior to the concession being made.

  • Upvote 2

Dave

:callaway: Rogue SubZero Driver

:titleist: 915F 15 Fairway, 816 H1 19 Hybrid, AP2 4 iron to PW, Vokey 52, 56, and 60 wedges, ProV1 balls 
:ping: G5i putter, B60 version
 :ping:Hoofer Bag, complete with Newport Cup logo
:footjoy::true_linkswear:, and Ashworth shoes

the only thing wrong with this car is the nut behind the wheel.

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted

Also, not regarding the OP circumstance, but in regards to when a hole is over for other TST readers -

In match play, a hole is over when the opponent concedes the hole.
In match play, there are several rules which can occur that stipulate a player loses the hole and that hole is over.

In stroke play, once a player hits their tee shot, the previous holed play is over. (this is in regards to when a player may have a rules violation and would need to rectify before proceeding or be DQ'ed)

And there are other situations when a hole is over, but they are not "right off the top of my head at the moment"

Johnny Rocket - Let's Rock and Roll and play some golf !!!

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Note: This thread is 2263 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now


  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • TST Partners

    PlayBetter
    Golfer's Journal
    ShotScope
    The Stack System
    FitForGolf
    FlightScope Mevo
    Direct: Mevo, Mevo+, and Pro Package.

    Coupon Codes (save 10-20%): "IACAS" for Mevo/Stack/FitForGolf, "IACASPLUS" for Mevo+/Pro Package, and "THESANDTRAP" for ShotScope. 15% off TourStriker (no code).
  • Posts

    • Day 430 - 2025-12-04 Slow motion backswings (with chippy shots) with AlmostGolf balls.
    • Day 24 (4 Dec 25) - Spent about an hour working with the new 55° wedge in the backyard.  Kept all shots to under 20yds.  Big focus - not decelerating thru downswing and keeping speed up with abbreviated backswing.  Nothing like hitting a low flighted chip with plenty of check spin and then purpose to float a pitch of similar distance.  
    • Day 114 12-4 Put some work in on backswing, moving the hips correctly, then feeling over to lead side. Didn't hit any balls was just focused on keeping flowy and moving better. I'll probably do another session tonight and add in some foam balls.
    • Didn't say anything about your understanding in my post.  Well, if you are not insisting on alignment with logic of the WHS, then no.  Try me/us. What do you want from us then?? You are not making sense. You come here and post in an open forum, question a system that is constructed with logic, without using any of your own and then give us a small window of your personal experience to support your narrative which at first sight does not makes sense.  I mean, if you are a point of swearing then I would suggest you cut your losses and humor a more gullible audience elsewhere. Good heavens.
×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.