IGNORED

Hand pain

FlyingAce
Note: This thread is 1422 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

This is my first time getting hand pain in the 4 years of playing golf and I am not sure if it is from overuse, injury or incorrect form. The pain is on the back of my left hand (right hand player) below my middle finger’s knuckle. No issues gripping clubs, slight discomfort at takeaway but severe sharp pain at impact. Pain goes away rather quickly until the next impact. I started noticing mild pain maybe two weeks ago but yesterday was the first time I had to drop my clubs after impact because of the pain. Mild trigger finger with the middle finger. My swing path mostly just sweep the grass without taking divots so I am not pounding into the ground much. 

Talked to a friend who is an orthopedic surgeon - he said bones are unlikely broken or fractured, but could be soft tissue injury. Since he is not a golfer, he has no idea how this could happen.

I know I should stop playing golf and let my hand rest/heal, which I am doing for the rest of the week. But just wondering if anyone had similar experiences to share.

I was only able to finish 9 holes yesterday but I played one of my best 9, scoring a 37!!! Woohoo!

• Like 1

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

No pain like that. I have arthritis in several of my fingers, but thankfully they don't hurt. I had golfer's elbow last year and still battle a neuroma in my left foot. If I were a horse, I would be buried behind the shed right now.

35 minutes ago, FlyingAce said:

I was only able to finish 9 holes yesterday but I played one of my best 9, scoring a 37!!! Woohoo!

Nice!

- Shane

1 hour ago, FlyingAce said: