IGNORED

How good is the average casual golfer?

jrm1493
Note: This thread is 5883 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

OK, I am currently a 26 handicap, and it is a very honest handicap because I count all my strokes and penalites and built a spreadsheet to calculate everything (I'm an engineer so I like doing that kind of thing). I don't consider myself a good golfer but it seems that when I go to the range I'm usually above average. When I go to the high-end public course range I seem to hit the ball about average to slightly above average compared to the other people out there, and when I go to the crappy range / batting cages close to my house I'm almost always the best one there.

My problem is that it seems like everyone you talk to about golf usually shoots "around 90". Well my all time best is a 92; are most of these people lying and if not where do they practice? In my group from work we have about 8 people that play occasionally and I usually win with a score around 100, although there are a couple other guys who can beat me. When I play with my dad and his friends they usually shoot around 90 so they are better than me (my dad is a 6 so he usually shoots in the high 70s), but most of them are in their 50s and have been playing for 25 years. I can hit the ball past most of them but they have me beat on consistency.

So my question is this: of the hundreds of thousands of golfers teeing it up on a Saturday morning all over the world, what is the true median score shot (no mulligans, gimmies outside a foot, etc..)? My guess is its around 110, but I don't really play courses that cost over $50 so the play may be better at higher-end courses. What do yall think?

Driver: Callaway X460 Tour
3 Wood: Callaway X
Hybrid: Adams A3
Irons: X20 Tour 4-PW
Wedges: X-Forged 50, 54 & 58