IGNORED

Need Help With Greenside Bunker

Note: This thread is 1370 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

This is quite embarrassing.  I've been playing golf for about 25 years, average low 80, but suddenly I've been struggling so much in greenside bunkers this past few weeks.

2 weeks ago, shot 79 (avoided all bunkers), last week shot 89 (11 strokes in 4 bunkers), earlier today shot 91 (14 strokes in 5 bunkers).

I've watched countless youtube videos on bunker lessons over the years, just this past week I watched about 20+ different videos but still struggled.

I went back to the basic routine, wide stand, dig feet in, bent knees, stable stand, open my (56) sand wedge slightly, play the ball about 2-3 inches in front of the middle with about 60% weight on front foot, aim slightly left of target, hit the sand 2-3 inches in front of the ball.  Ball just went low and straight into the bunker lip and bounced back into the bunker, and when I eventually got out, just barely off the bunker lip into the rough.

This is so frustrating, I used to be able to get the ball on the green almost every time, but all of a sudden, I struggle like I've never played bunker before.  Can anyone shed some light into this frustrating issue, thanks.

Edited by MrQster

Check out this video and the accompanying thread.

Check also your grip.  Back in April, we figured out my grip was quite bad;  I spent quite a bit of time during lockdown just working on gripping differently.  Somehow when we came back I was a lot better at sand shots.

The part where you avoid bunkers is fantastic too.  When shot planning, I mentally treat the bunkers as if they're aquatic penalty areas. Obviously I don't play them that way when the ball actually ends up in one.

• Like 1
  • Thumbs Up 1

-- Michael | My swing!