IGNORED

Struggling With Driver After Returning to the Game

Note: This thread is 1354 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

I've been playing golf recreationally for about 20 years now (I'm 34) and have always wanted to improve, but still stuck in the 100-110 range after years of lessons and thousands spent. I took about 2 years off of golf due to lack of time and money, as well as frustration with the game. However, with my wife starting up with new clubs and lessons, I've been getting back into golf this summer, having played a few times and practicing at the range.

The reason I've never been able to shave strokes off my score is that I simply have not been able to strike the ball consistently. Fat and thin shots have been less of an issue as of late, but I've been a victim of severe slicing (more a problem of the past) and severe hooking (more of a recent problem). I love the short game and have practiced it a lot, and my putting is generally about 15-16 putts per 9. Distance is not a problem either, but I can't hit my tee shot and consistently play from the wrong fairway or incur penalty strokes and have any shot at even averaging a bogey over the course of a round.