Jump to content
Subscribe to the Spin Axis Podcast! ×
Note: This thread is 1893 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Recommended Posts

Posted

3 part embedded ball question.  This was my tee shot into a par 3 today. Hopefully the photo shows what happened—the ball plugged hard right against the edge of the green. 
 

First, is this ball on the green or on the fringe? If it’s on the fringe, is it embedded? If so, would I have been entitled to relief?

 

Thanks in advance!

F5A8D077-77AE-45CE-9456-F7F8C6DE3FB0.jpeg


  • Administrator
Posted

Green, and you get relief anywhere in the general area.

Erik J. Barzeski —  I knock a ball. It goes in a gopher hole. 🏌🏼‍♂️
Director of Instruction Golf Evolution • Owner, The Sand Trap .com • AuthorLowest Score Wins
Golf Digest "Best Young Teachers in America" 2016-17 & "Best in State" 2017-20 • WNY Section PGA Teacher of the Year 2019 :edel: :true_linkswear:

Check Out: New Topics | TST Blog | Golf Terms | Instructional Content | Analyzr | LSW | Instructional Droplets

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted

Embedded ball relief is when a ball is embedded in closely mown areas through the green.
Areas which are closely mown are tees, fairways, first cut of green collars and the green.

When a ball is embedded anywhere else on the course, your options are play it as it lies, 
or declare it as unplayable.

Johnny Rocket - Let's Rock and Roll and play some golf !!!

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • Administrator
Posted
2 hours ago, Club Rat said:

Embedded ball relief is when a ball is embedded in closely mown areas through the green.

This isn't correct, John. It's anywhere in the general area, as I said above.

https://www.usga.org/content/usga/home-page/rules/rules-2019/rules-of-golf/rules-and-interpretations.html#!ruletype=fr&section=rule&rulenum=16&subrulenum=3

Quote

(1) Ball Must Be Embedded in General Area. Relief is allowed under Rule 16.3bonly when a player’s ball is embedded in the general area.

2019 Rules changed this.

Erik J. Barzeski —  I knock a ball. It goes in a gopher hole. 🏌🏼‍♂️
Director of Instruction Golf Evolution • Owner, The Sand Trap .com • AuthorLowest Score Wins
Golf Digest "Best Young Teachers in America" 2016-17 & "Best in State" 2017-20 • WNY Section PGA Teacher of the Year 2019 :edel: :true_linkswear:

Check Out: New Topics | TST Blog | Golf Terms | Instructional Content | Analyzr | LSW | Instructional Droplets

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted
On 9/26/2020 at 3:51 AM, iacas said:

 

2019 Rules changed this.

Re the original question; the definition previously said a ball touching the green is on the green. Where has that statement been moved to? I can't find it.


Posted
On 9/25/2020 at 9:51 PM, iacas said:

2019 Rules changed this.

Thanks Erik, I missed that change in 2019.
I have always favored a change from closely mown areas to allow relief in other areas.
Most course irrigation systems run on preset timers regardless if it's raining or after a heavy rainfall.
 

 

IMO, a player should have been entitled to relief due to water saturation from rainfall or sprinkler systems in areas
which were almost to the point of being casual water on the course.

Johnny Rocket - Let's Rock and Roll and play some golf !!!

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • Administrator
Posted
2 hours ago, Rulesman said:

Re the original question; the definition previously said a ball touching the green is on the green. Where has that statement been moved to? I can't find it.

Areas of the course. Rule 2.

Quote

A ball is always treated as lying in only one area of the course:
    •    If part of the ball is in both the general area and one of the four specific areas of the course, it is treated as lying in that specific area of the course.

 

Erik J. Barzeski —  I knock a ball. It goes in a gopher hole. 🏌🏼‍♂️
Director of Instruction Golf Evolution • Owner, The Sand Trap .com • AuthorLowest Score Wins
Golf Digest "Best Young Teachers in America" 2016-17 & "Best in State" 2017-20 • WNY Section PGA Teacher of the Year 2019 :edel: :true_linkswear:

Check Out: New Topics | TST Blog | Golf Terms | Instructional Content | Analyzr | LSW | Instructional Droplets

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted
4 hours ago, Rulesman said:Re the original question; the definition previously said a ball touching the green is on the green. Where has that statement been moved to? I can't find it.

He was referring to the change that allows for relief for an embedded ball anywhere in the General Area.  Not whether or not the ball is on the green...

In David's bag....

Driver: Titleist 910 D-3;  9.5* Diamana Kai'li
3-Wood: Titleist 910F;  15* Diamana Kai'li
Hybrids: Titleist 910H 19* and 21* Diamana Kai'li
Irons: Titleist 695cb 5-Pw

Wedges: Scratch 51-11 TNC grind, Vokey SM-5's;  56-14 F grind and 60-11 K grind
Putter: Scotty Cameron Kombi S
Ball: ProV1

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted
22 hours ago, David in FL said:

He was referring to the change that allows for relief for an embedded ball anywhere in the General Area.  Not whether or not the ball is on the green...

First question on original post.

Quote

First, is this ball on the green or on the fringe?


 

On 9/27/2020 at 7:19 AM, iacas said:

Areas of the course. Rule 2.

 

Doh 😳 Of course. Where else would it be. ???

Thanks

  • Like 1

Posted
6 hours ago, Rulesman said:

First question on original post.


 

Doh 😳 Of course. Where else would it be. ???

Thanks

Sorry to be splitting hairs. The specific correct reference is 13.1a: "A ball is on the putting green when any part of the ball: touches the putting green.."

Rule 2 is picking up broader context, including the general approach on how to treat a ball in more than one area of the course. 

And as the ball is on the putting green, the player does not have an entitlement to 'embedded' ball relief, but can mark the ball and repair the damage, then must replace the ball in the precise same spot.


Posted
11 hours ago, Rulesman said:

13.1a does point to the specific issue in the picture ie 2.2c

If part of the ball is both on the putting green and in another area of the course, see Rule 2.2c.

Your question was: " the definition previously said a ball touching the green is on the green. Where has that statement been moved to? I can't find it." The answer is Rule 13.1a.


  • Administrator
Posted
8 hours ago, fredf said:

Your question was: " the definition previously said a ball touching the green is on the green. Where has that statement been moved to? I can't find it." The answer is Rule 13.1a.

And 13.1a refers back to 2.2, as I noted.

Quote

If part of the ball is both on the putting green and in another area of the course, see Rule 2.2c.

Either one gives the correct answer.

Erik J. Barzeski —  I knock a ball. It goes in a gopher hole. 🏌🏼‍♂️
Director of Instruction Golf Evolution • Owner, The Sand Trap .com • AuthorLowest Score Wins
Golf Digest "Best Young Teachers in America" 2016-17 & "Best in State" 2017-20 • WNY Section PGA Teacher of the Year 2019 :edel: :true_linkswear:

Check Out: New Topics | TST Blog | Golf Terms | Instructional Content | Analyzr | LSW | Instructional Droplets

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted
1 hour ago, iacas said:

And 13.1a refers back to 2.2, as I noted.

Either one gives the correct answer.

Agree, both of those rules get you to the correct answer to the situation in the OP but they both do not answer Rulesman's question. He asked where is the statement that a ball touching the green is on the green and there is only one rule (13.1a) that makes that statement.

Rule 2.2c does not say a ball touching the green is on the green. On the contrary, it provides a formula that explains when a ball touching the green is on the green and when a ball touching the green is NOT on the green.

 

 

 


  • Administrator
Posted

I disagree. 2.2 also addresses the situation.

Erik J. Barzeski —  I knock a ball. It goes in a gopher hole. 🏌🏼‍♂️
Director of Instruction Golf Evolution • Owner, The Sand Trap .com • AuthorLowest Score Wins
Golf Digest "Best Young Teachers in America" 2016-17 & "Best in State" 2017-20 • WNY Section PGA Teacher of the Year 2019 :edel: :true_linkswear:

Check Out: New Topics | TST Blog | Golf Terms | Instructional Content | Analyzr | LSW | Instructional Droplets

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted
41 minutes ago, iacas said:

I disagree. 2.2 also addresses the situation.

Yes, 2.2 addresses the OP. But 2.2 does not answer Rulesman's question where in the rules does it say "a ball touching the green is on the green".

Interestingly, this 'which rule' dimension exemplifies a significant difference between Rules exams prepared on either side of the ditch. In my experience, the USGA does not grill their exam takers on Rule numbers for specific issues. The R&A invariably does and that exercise can become extremely hairy. This is one reason why the USGA exams are fairer, IMO.


  • Administrator
Posted
3 minutes ago, fredf said:

Yes, 2.2 addresses the OP. But 2.2 does not answer Rulesman's question where in the rules does it say "a ball touching the green is on the green".

Again, though it won't say exactly what you typed in quotes, it says that a ball touching the general area and another area of the course is in that other area of the course. That includes the putting green, and is the "correct" answer here, and even Rule 13.1 says "If part of the ball is both on the putting green and in another area of the course, see Rule 2.2c."

Using either rule, you can arrive at the right answer, as even 13.1 refers you to 2.2.

Erik J. Barzeski —  I knock a ball. It goes in a gopher hole. 🏌🏼‍♂️
Director of Instruction Golf Evolution • Owner, The Sand Trap .com • AuthorLowest Score Wins
Golf Digest "Best Young Teachers in America" 2016-17 & "Best in State" 2017-20 • WNY Section PGA Teacher of the Year 2019 :edel: :true_linkswear:

Check Out: New Topics | TST Blog | Golf Terms | Instructional Content | Analyzr | LSW | Instructional Droplets

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Note: This thread is 1893 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now


  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • TST Partners

    PlayBetter
    Golfer's Journal
    ShotScope
    The Stack System
    FitForGolf
    FlightScope Mevo
    Direct: Mevo, Mevo+, and Pro Package.

    Coupon Codes (save 10-20%): "IACAS" for Mevo/Stack/FitForGolf, "IACASPLUS" for Mevo+/Pro Package, and "THESANDTRAP" for ShotScope. 15% off TourStriker (no code).
  • Posts

    • Day 430 - 2025-12-04 Slow motion backswings (with chippy shots) with AlmostGolf balls.
    • Day 24 (4 Dec 25) - Spent about an hour working with the new 55° wedge in the backyard.  Kept all shots to under 20yds.  Big focus - not decelerating thru downswing and keeping speed up with abbreviated backswing.  Nothing like hitting a low flighted chip with plenty of check spin and then purpose to float a pitch of similar distance.  
    • Day 114 12-4 Put some work in on backswing, moving the hips correctly, then feeling over to lead side. Didn't hit any balls was just focused on keeping flowy and moving better. I'll probably do another session tonight and add in some foam balls.
    • Didn't say anything about your understanding in my post.  Well, if you are not insisting on alignment with logic of the WHS, then no.  Try me/us. What do you want from us then?? You are not making sense. You come here and post in an open forum, question a system that is constructed with logic, without using any of your own and then give us a small window of your personal experience to support your narrative which at first sight does not makes sense.  I mean, if you are a point of swearing then I would suggest you cut your losses and humor a more gullible audience elsewhere. Good heavens.
×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.