Jump to content
Subscribe to the Spin Axis Podcast! ×
IGNORED

Found Tee Shot After Taking a Drop


Note: This thread is 1748 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Recommended Posts

Posted

Hello all,I hit my tee shot and it was assumed the ball went into a hazard. After our search I dropped near the hazard and played my third shot only to find my ball original further up. What’s the ruling on this. Thank you.


  • Administrator
Posted

This is going to hinge on some things.

You “assumed” it went in the water, but did you have “KVC” - “Knowledge or virtual certainty”?

How long did you search? After your search, did you have “knowledge or virtual certainty”?

Most likely:

  • You search, didn’t find your ball, and likely (in your opinion) thought you had that KVC.
  • You dropped at the best estimate for where your ball crossed.
  • You played the shot, as that was the ball in play.
  • You found your original ball, but since you’d (likely) done the above, it was just another random ball, basically. It does tell you that maybe next time look “better” as you’d have saved yourself a shot, but it’s just a ball you pick up and ignore, basically, as the ball you substituted and played was fine.

That’s all “most likely.” If you dropped a ball WITHOUT the KVC, that is a different can of worms.

P.S. Here’s another topic about this:

 

  • Informative 1

Erik J. Barzeski —  I knock a ball. It goes in a gopher hole. 🏌🏼‍♂️
Director of Instruction Golf Evolution • Owner, The Sand Trap .com • AuthorLowest Score Wins
Golf Digest "Best Young Teachers in America" 2016-17 & "Best in State" 2017-20 • WNY Section PGA Teacher of the Year 2019 :edel: :true_linkswear:

Check Out: New Topics | TST Blog | Golf Terms | Instructional Content | Analyzr | LSW | Instructional Droplets

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted

I was always under the impression that once you declared a ball lost and dropped a ball, that was it. Once you declare a ball lost and drop another, the original is out of play.


  • Administrator
Posted
5 minutes ago, Esox said:

I was always under the impression that once you declared a ball lost and dropped a ball, that was it. Once you declare a ball lost and drop another, the original is out of play.

You can’t “declare” a ball lost.

  • Informative 1

Erik J. Barzeski —  I knock a ball. It goes in a gopher hole. 🏌🏼‍♂️
Director of Instruction Golf Evolution • Owner, The Sand Trap .com • AuthorLowest Score Wins
Golf Digest "Best Young Teachers in America" 2016-17 & "Best in State" 2017-20 • WNY Section PGA Teacher of the Year 2019 :edel: :true_linkswear:

Check Out: New Topics | TST Blog | Golf Terms | Instructional Content | Analyzr | LSW | Instructional Droplets

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted

I'm old. We considered the act of dropping a ball a declaration that the original was lost and the dropped ball was in play. If you didn't think it was lost, why drop another?

 


  • Administrator
Posted
8 minutes ago, Esox said:

I'm old. We considered the act of dropping a ball a declaration that the original was lost and the dropped ball was in play. If you didn't think it was lost, why drop another?

@Esox, the ball could never be “declared” lost. It could be “deemed” lost, but that was a “rules” thing - a player’s actions could result in this “deeming” but a player couldn’t say, for example, “I deem it lost.”

Also, a ball can’t be “lost” in the Rules in a penalty area (or a water hazard), even if it’s a “lost” ball in English.

This is the Rules of Golf forum, so the words we use are going to have the meanings and definitions and usages that apply in the Rules of Golf.

@Red, you replied, but you just quoted my post and didn’t say anything new.

Erik J. Barzeski —  I knock a ball. It goes in a gopher hole. 🏌🏼‍♂️
Director of Instruction Golf Evolution • Owner, The Sand Trap .com • AuthorLowest Score Wins
Golf Digest "Best Young Teachers in America" 2016-17 & "Best in State" 2017-20 • WNY Section PGA Teacher of the Year 2019 :edel: :true_linkswear:

Check Out: New Topics | TST Blog | Golf Terms | Instructional Content | Analyzr | LSW | Instructional Droplets

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted (edited)
15 hours ago, Esox said:

I'm old. We considered the act of dropping a ball a declaration that the original was lost and the dropped ball was in play. If you didn't think it was lost, why drop another?

 

If you are 'old' you will surely be familiar with the pre 2019 definition of 'Lost Ball'.

The new version says 

Lost/1 – Ball May Not Be Declared Lost

A player may not make a ball lost by a declaration. A ball is lost only when it has not been found within three minutes after the player or his or her caddie or partner begins to search for it.

For example, a player searches for his or her ball for two minutes, declares it lost and walks back to play another ball. Before the player puts another ball in play, the original ball is found within the three-minute search time. Since the player may not declare his or her ball lost, the original ball remains in play.

Edited by Rulesman

Posted
23 hours ago, Red said:

Hello all,I hit my tee shot and it was assumed the ball went into a hazard. After our search I dropped near the hazard and played my third shot only to find my ball original further up. What’s the ruling on this. Thank you.

A critical fact is needed to make a ruling: whether there was Knowledge or Virtual Certainty (ie 95 per cent certainty), at the time you dropped that second/substituted ball, that the ball not found had come to rest in the penalty area. You cannot "assume" where the ball is. The ruling depends on that fact. 

A. If KVC does not apply: Player has put a ball in play under an inapplicable rule (having initially played from the tee, dropping in the vicinity of the penalty area is not permitted without KVC the ball is in there). Because the player does not know the location of the original ball (when that substituted ball is dropped) the player gets one penalty stroke for taking S&D relief (18.1) and another two penalty strokes for doing so from a wrong place (14.7) - because the player was required to return to the tee to play. This is highly likely to be a serious breach, so the player must return the tee to play his fifth stroke (counting strokes are original stroke plus 3 penalties, the stroke from the wrong place does not count). Failure to return to the tee means DQ in stroke play, or zero points for the hole in Stableford, unless corrected before playing from the next tee.

B. If KVC applies: Player has proceeded correctly with the second/substituted ball and it is in play lying three.

In each case, the original ball has no further role in the hole as it has become a wrong ball.

 

 

  • Informative 1

  • 2 months later...
Posted (edited)
On 12/5/2020 at 8:42 PM, fredf said:

 

B. If KVC applies: Player has proceeded correctly with the second/substituted ball and it is in play lying three.

Wouldn’t the dropped ball, now in play, be lying two?

Edited by hunterdog
Grammar

Driver - Callaway Razr

3-wood - TM Stealth

7-wood - Titleist 

Irons - 5 through PW, Epon 503

Vokey Wedges

Putter - Odyssey TriHot 2

 


  • Administrator
Posted

No. You can’t just drop a ball if you’re supposed to be proceeding under stroke and distance.

Erik J. Barzeski —  I knock a ball. It goes in a gopher hole. 🏌🏼‍♂️
Director of Instruction Golf Evolution • Owner, The Sand Trap .com • AuthorLowest Score Wins
Golf Digest "Best Young Teachers in America" 2016-17 & "Best in State" 2017-20 • WNY Section PGA Teacher of the Year 2019 :edel: :true_linkswear:

Check Out: New Topics | TST Blog | Golf Terms | Instructional Content | Analyzr | LSW | Instructional Droplets

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted
16 minutes ago, hunterdog said:

Wouldn’t the dropped ball, now in play, be lying two?

 

8 minutes ago, iacas said:

No. You can’t just drop a ball if you’re supposed to be proceeding under stroke and distance.

I’m confused, if, as fredf suggested, the player was correctly proceeding under KVC that the original ball was in a penalty area, and drops a ball, outside of the penalty area, wouldn’t the dropped ball be lying two?
 

If the ball was deemed lost, the player should return to the spot from the last play, drop, and, again, be lying two, correct?

Driver - Callaway Razr

3-wood - TM Stealth

7-wood - Titleist 

Irons - 5 through PW, Epon 503

Vokey Wedges

Putter - Odyssey TriHot 2

 


  • Administrator
Posted
1 minute ago, hunterdog said:

 

I’m confused, if, as fredf suggested, the player was correctly proceeding under KVC that the original ball was in a penalty area, and drops a ball, outside of the penalty area, wouldn’t the dropped ball be lying two?
 

If the ball was deemed lost, the player should return to the spot from the last play, drop, and, again, be lying two, correct?

Oh I get what you’re saying. The player hit the ball after dropping hence he lay three.

On 12/4/2020 at 8:07 PM, Red said:

After our search I dropped near the hazard and played my third shot…

 

Erik J. Barzeski —  I knock a ball. It goes in a gopher hole. 🏌🏼‍♂️
Director of Instruction Golf Evolution • Owner, The Sand Trap .com • AuthorLowest Score Wins
Golf Digest "Best Young Teachers in America" 2016-17 & "Best in State" 2017-20 • WNY Section PGA Teacher of the Year 2019 :edel: :true_linkswear:

Check Out: New Topics | TST Blog | Golf Terms | Instructional Content | Analyzr | LSW | Instructional Droplets

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Note: This thread is 1748 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now


  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • TST Partners

    PlayBetter
    Golfer's Journal
    ShotScope
    The Stack System
    FitForGolf
    FlightScope Mevo
    Direct: Mevo, Mevo+, and Pro Package.

    Coupon Codes (save 10-20%): "IACAS" for Mevo/Stack/FitForGolf, "IACASPLUS" for Mevo+/Pro Package, and "THESANDTRAP" for ShotScope. 15% off TourStriker (no code).
  • Posts

    • Day 430 - 2025-12-04 Slow motion backswings (with chippy shots) with AlmostGolf balls.
    • Day 24 (4 Dec 25) - Spent about an hour working with the new 55° wedge in the backyard.  Kept all shots to under 20yds.  Big focus - not decelerating thru downswing and keeping speed up with abbreviated backswing.  Nothing like hitting a low flighted chip with plenty of check spin and then purpose to float a pitch of similar distance.  
    • Day 114 12-4 Put some work in on backswing, moving the hips correctly, then feeling over to lead side. Didn't hit any balls was just focused on keeping flowy and moving better. I'll probably do another session tonight and add in some foam balls.
    • Didn't say anything about your understanding in my post.  Well, if you are not insisting on alignment with logic of the WHS, then no.  Try me/us. What do you want from us then?? You are not making sense. You come here and post in an open forum, question a system that is constructed with logic, without using any of your own and then give us a small window of your personal experience to support your narrative which at first sight does not makes sense.  I mean, if you are a point of swearing then I would suggest you cut your losses and humor a more gullible audience elsewhere. Good heavens.
×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.