Jump to content
IGNORED

Found Tee Shot After Taking a Drop


Recommended Posts

Hello all,I hit my tee shot and it was assumed the ball went into a hazard. After our search I dropped near the hazard and played my third shot only to find my ball original further up. What’s the ruling on this. Thank you.

Link to post
Share on other sites

  • phillyk changed the title to Found Tee Shot After Taking a Drop
  • Administrator

This is going to hinge on some things.

You “assumed” it went in the water, but did you have “KVC” - “Knowledge or virtual certainty”?

How long did you search? After your search, did you have “knowledge or virtual certainty”?

Most likely:

  • You search, didn’t find your ball, and likely (in your opinion) thought you had that KVC.
  • You dropped at the best estimate for where your ball crossed.
  • You played the shot, as that was the ball in play.
  • You found your original ball, but since you’d (likely) done the above, it was just another random ball, basically. It does tell you that maybe next time look “better” as you’d have saved yourself a shot, but it’s just a ball you pick up and ignore, basically, as the ball you substituted and played was fine.

That’s all “most likely.” If you dropped a ball WITHOUT the KVC, that is a different can of worms.

P.S. Here’s another topic about this:

 

  • Informative 1
Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

I was always under the impression that once you declared a ball lost and dropped a ball, that was it. Once you declare a ball lost and drop another, the original is out of play.

Link to post
Share on other sites

  • Administrator
5 minutes ago, Esox said:

I was always under the impression that once you declared a ball lost and dropped a ball, that was it. Once you declare a ball lost and drop another, the original is out of play.

You can’t “declare” a ball lost.

Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

I'm old. We considered the act of dropping a ball a declaration that the original was lost and the dropped ball was in play. If you didn't think it was lost, why drop another?

 

Link to post
Share on other sites

  • Administrator
8 minutes ago, Esox said:

I'm old. We considered the act of dropping a ball a declaration that the original was lost and the dropped ball was in play. If you didn't think it was lost, why drop another?

@Esox, the ball could never be “declared” lost. It could be “deemed” lost, but that was a “rules” thing - a player’s actions could result in this “deeming” but a player couldn’t say, for example, “I deem it lost.”

Also, a ball can’t be “lost” in the Rules in a penalty area (or a water hazard), even if it’s a “lost” ball in English.

This is the Rules of Golf forum, so the words we use are going to have the meanings and definitions and usages that apply in the Rules of Golf.

@Red, you replied, but you just quoted my post and didn’t say anything new.

Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

15 hours ago, Esox said:

I'm old. We considered the act of dropping a ball a declaration that the original was lost and the dropped ball was in play. If you didn't think it was lost, why drop another?

 

If you are 'old' you will surely be familiar with the pre 2019 definition of 'Lost Ball'.

The new version says 

Lost/1 – Ball May Not Be Declared Lost

A player may not make a ball lost by a declaration. A ball is lost only when it has not been found within three minutes after the player or his or her caddie or partner begins to search for it.

For example, a player searches for his or her ball for two minutes, declares it lost and walks back to play another ball. Before the player puts another ball in play, the original ball is found within the three-minute search time. Since the player may not declare his or her ball lost, the original ball remains in play.

Edited by Rulesman
Link to post
Share on other sites

23 hours ago, Red said:

Hello all,I hit my tee shot and it was assumed the ball went into a hazard. After our search I dropped near the hazard and played my third shot only to find my ball original further up. What’s the ruling on this. Thank you.

A critical fact is needed to make a ruling: whether there was Knowledge or Virtual Certainty (ie 95 per cent certainty), at the time you dropped that second/substituted ball, that the ball not found had come to rest in the penalty area. You cannot "assume" where the ball is. The ruling depends on that fact. 

A. If KVC does not apply: Player has put a ball in play under an inapplicable rule (having initially played from the tee, dropping in the vicinity of the penalty area is not permitted without KVC the ball is in there). Because the player does not know the location of the original ball (when that substituted ball is dropped) the player gets one penalty stroke for taking S&D relief (18.1) and another two penalty strokes for doing so from a wrong place (14.7) - because the player was required to return to the tee to play. This is highly likely to be a serious breach, so the player must return the tee to play his fifth stroke (counting strokes are original stroke plus 3 penalties, the stroke from the wrong place does not count). Failure to return to the tee means DQ in stroke play, or zero points for the hole in Stableford, unless corrected before playing from the next tee.

B. If KVC applies: Player has proceeded correctly with the second/substituted ball and it is in play lying three.

In each case, the original ball has no further role in the hole as it has become a wrong ball.

 

 

Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.



  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • Support TST Affiliates

    TourStriker PlaneMate
    Golfer's Journal
    Whoop
    SuperSpeed
    FlightScope Mevo
    Use the code "iacas" for 10% off Mevo and the code "iacasjan21" for 10% off SuperSpeed.
  • Posts

    • I agree completely.  Two reasons.  First, when you've learned Aimpoint Express, you've learned to collect the information presented in those books, for every single golf course you'll ever play in your life.  No need to buy another greens book, ever.  Second reason, once you have the book, you still have to learn  how to turn the arrows and numbers into an actual read.  Yeah, you'll know the putt goes left, but you need to learn how to estimate how FAR left it will go.  Aimpoint Express teaches you not just how to collect the data, but how to actually use the data to determine your start line.  I haven't priced an Aimpoint clinic for a few years, but I'll just about guarantee that the clinic price would be less than buying three greens books, and quite possibly less than buying just two.
    • I've been buying the Strackaline combo books. The price of yardage/green book combo is $125, and yardage only is $29-$47. A guy on Youtube was saying you should only buy the yardage book, and spend the $78-$96 you save on learning Aimpoint. Any thoughts?
    • And those who continue to downplay it prolong how long it will continue to be used. A friend postulated that the word is much more common in the south. Can't say that's true or not, but it "feels" somewhat accurate. "We" (my age group) said it some in the early 90s, but even by the time I graduated from HS we knew it wasn't a good word to say at all. I can't remember I said the word other than when discussing the "word" itself since 1996 or earlier.
    • At the range, I just set my phone on a table at waist height, but they make these cool little snake looking phone holders that you can attach anywhere; this is just one example: Selfie Snake Universal Phone Stand - Black - Walmart.com - Walmart.com  
    • Those are bad reasons. Read up, and do the right thing. Unless/until we can get to a good % of vaccinations, the economy, our daily lives, etc. will continue to be affected.
  • Today's Birthdays

    1. casamarina
      casamarina
      (64 years old)
    2. Coach crabb
      Coach crabb
      (54 years old)
    3. jaxxes
      jaxxes
      (30 years old)

×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...