Pictures or it won't/didn't happen! 😄
I believe almost everyone talks to the ball whether it be golf, baseball, basketball or any other sport. Notice a field goal kicker with the game on the line, not only are they talking, they are praying!
Its explained in those rules, but generally it means that you started the hole, but didn't putt out. It could be the hole was conceded, your putt was conceded, or your opponent is in with a score you cannot beat. For those, you post the score you most likely would have made. For holes you did not even start, you post a score equal to par plus any any handicap strokes you would get, based on your full Course Handicap.