IGNORED

A couple beginner questions

Note: This thread is 5872 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Hello everybody. I'm very new to playing the game of golf and obviously to this forum. I've enjoyed watching the game my whole life, just now recently am in a place where I can afford both time and money to play it. I played 2 rounds late last fall and a round a few weeks ago. I wanted to be as accurate as possible in my stroke count and went from a 140 to a 128 and this past time I shot a 121. Not good, but not bad for a person who is learning how to swing the club still. I had previously only gone to the ranges a handful of times.

I took a lesson last fall and am going to start more regular lessons in the next couple weeks. I am fortunate that my area has one course that's a 9 hole par 3 and another course that is 27 holes of par 3.

I know that a driver is useless for me at this point. I still have a very slow swing speed as I'm just trying to make good contact and go straight (more important to me than distance). My newbie questions are as follows:

What clubs would be most useful for me to work on at the driving range? I was thinking 3 or 5 wood, a couple irons and my pitching wedge, but your input would be appreciates.

What clubs would a beginner want to use on these par 3 courses? The longest hole on any of them seems to be around 200 yards. Again, my distance is low due to slow club speed. I know that will improve in time. I plan on going to the range a couple days a week and playing 9-18 holes every couple/few weeks as I get more comfortable with my swing.

Any suggestions on the best way to utilize my time at the range would be appreciated as well.