Jump to content
IGNORED

Ball Striking Equipment


GloriaDG
 Share

Recommended Posts

A player at our club shanked a ball which lodged in her golf bag!! I advised that she had to take a penalty drop under the spot where it had lodged, but after I was asked  whether there might be a second penalty for striking ones own equipment (inadvertently of course!)  I am sure this is no longer a penalty, but could not find the appropriate rule to confirm this.

Any help please?

Link to comment
Share on other sites


  • Moderator

There’s no penalty at all. There’s no penalty for accidentally hitting an outside influence and since the ball came to rest on it, she must take relief.

Bill

“By three methods we may learn wisdom: First, by reflection, which is noblest; Second, by imitation, which is easiest; and third by experience, which is the bitterest.” - Confucius

My Swing Thread

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • Administrator
24 minutes ago, billchao said:

There’s no penalty at all. There’s no penalty for accidentally hitting an outside influence and since the ball came to rest on it, she must take relief.

Her own bag is not an outside influence, it’s her equipment. Same result though.

11.1a

  • Informative 1

Erik J. Barzeski —  I knock a ball. It goes in a gopher hole. 🏌🏼‍♂️
Director of Instructor Development, 5 Simple Keys®/Golf Evolution • Owner, The Sand Trap .com • AuthorLowest Score Wins • Golf Digest "Best Young Teachers in America" 2016-17 • "Best in State" 2017-20 • WNY Section PGA Teacher of the Year 2019 • Penn-State Behrend Head Coach • • • • • • • • • • :aimpoint: :edel: :true_linkswear:

Check Out: New Topics | TST Blog | Golf Terms | Instructional Content | Analyzr | 5SK.com | LSW | Instructional Droplets

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • 2 weeks later...

Obviously this would be different if she was on the putting surface...Not the shank situation (I hope) but the fact of your ball striking your equipment! You would then incur a penalty?

Link to comment
Share on other sites


As long as it's accidental, no penalty, see rule 11.1a.

  • Thumbs Up 1

Dave

:callaway: Rogue SubZero Driver

:titleist: 915F 15 Fairway, 816 H1 19 Hybrid, AP2 4 iron to PW, Vokey 52, 56, and 60 wedges, ProV1 balls 
:ping: G5i putter, B60 version
 :ping:Hoofer Bag, complete with Newport Cup logo
:footjoy::true_linkswear:, and Ashworth shoes

the only thing wrong with this car is the nut behind the wheel.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
 Share



  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • TST Partners

    TourStriker PlaneMate
    Golfer's Journal
    ShotScope
    The Stack System
    FlightScope Mevo
    Direct: Mevo, Mevo+, and Pro Package.

    Coupon Codes (save 10-15%): "IACAS" for Mevo/Stack, "IACASPLUS" for Mevo+/Pro Package, and "THESANDTRAP" for ShotScope.
  • Posts

    • This whole video is worth watching, but the marked spot below shows what many amateurs do and then what you should be doing.  
    • 1. Average 150+ ball speed and max over 155. I can hit 150 but am averaging high 140s.  2. Handicap to high 3. I have fluctuated in the 4s and 5s this year but really want to have that be 3s and 4s.  3. Average 10 greens a round.  4. Scrambling at 50%. 
    • I really can't see the commissioner route. That is a real grind and I don't see Tiger wanting to devote that much time to the Tour.  I do see him teeing it up in the Senior Majors. He may say no now, but he is just too competitive not to play. 
    • I am a believer in golf instruction, but I'm not the best student. I much prefer to play rather than practice, and when the off season comes I get pretty busy and don't take the time to practice. I've had instructions from 2 different people and I've liked both, but I had my back issues start up when I just started with one. I find people like the gentleman in the op exasperating. I don't care if you don't want to bother with golf instruction, but I also don't want to listen to your rant. Read the room, so to speak.
    • Day 1: Trying to get into this challenge again, again. Starting today since I had a lesson. I feel like I have gotten to a point in my golf ability where I am creating a video game character with a limited number of stat points to distribute. Every time I add points to one area, they get taken from another area. I need to improve my commitment to practice and practice methods to really get out of this mode. This time I have to work on my backswing again, again - more turn earlier, more width, more depth. Have a simple thought for the downswing since it's not what needs to be fixed first - hit a push and finish low.

×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...