IGNORED

My Swing (TomR13)

TomR13

I've been Playing Golf for: A couple times a year for 20 years but very regularly the last 2 years.
My current handicap index or average score is: 16
My typical ball flight is: Was a draw/hook, now its a fade/slice
The shot I hate or the "miss" I'm trying to reduce/eliminate is: fat and thin shots, make solid contact

I've been playing regularly for the last 2 years between 18 and 36 holes per week.  Driving range only once a month.  I recently went for my first lesson because I felt like a hit a wall with improving my handicap which has been 15-16 since the end of last season .   I told the instructor that my first goal was to just make better contact and eliminate fat/thin shots (as much as possible). My normal ball flight was thin draw or thin straight until the 2 weeks prior to the lesson when I had developed a somewhat frequent low hook.  

The instructor Nick asked me if I wanted to try for a quick fix or if I want something long term and I told him long term as I really want to continually set goals to improve.  After some swings, balance testing,  video, and swinging with a pressure pad and showing me the results, which were really quite obvious watching the video, he gave me three things to work on.

#1 My grip.  He had me move it more to my fingers, the line between thumb and index finger on my left hand pointing toward my right shoulder.

My previous grip was similar to this one. Diagonal across fingers/palm.  Capture1.PNG.da100410b8483ccdc71b47065eff2b01.PNG

The right hand change he had me make felt a LOT different from what I had been doing.  He had me move it counterclockwise from what I normally did with the thumb/index finger line pointing more toward my sternum or slightly to the right of sternum.   

#2 My posture > I had a clear "C" shape, like hunched over.  He wanted me to try to straighten that out.  Also keep weight in arches of feet and find better balance.