IGNORED

I'm Lost

Hi everyone,

this is my first post. I’m 48 years old, both kids are in college so I have more free time on my hands. Why not pick up golf? Seemed like a good idea. 

I’ve golfed before. Maybe twice a year for the last 30 years. Whenever friends or family wanted to play. Nothing serious. 

I took a lesson from a local pro back in December and he gave me some general advice. I have a golf net in my backyard so I started practicing and recording my swing. I live in the Phoenix AZ area. That lead me down a rabbit hole of suck. I noticed every thing I was doing wrong. That lead me to buying a bunch of training aids that have probably made me worse. Just got back from the driving range and at best I haven’t improved. At worst I’ve regressed. 

When I first recorded my swing I noticed I was flipping the club at impact. Then I noticed I was casting. Then I noticed I wasn’t using my hips enough. All thes revelations took place over a couple of months. 

so, I’m lost. No idea what to do or what to work on. Any have a similar journey? Any advice is appreciated. 

Thanks!!!

5 hours ago, JohnnyUtah said:

Hi everyone,

this is my first post. I’m 48 years old, both kids are in college so I have more free time on my hands. Why not pick up golf? Seemed like a good idea. 

I’ve golfed before. Maybe twice a year for the last 30 years. Whenever friends or family wanted to play. Nothing serious. 

I took a lesson from a local pro back in December and he gave me some general advice. I have a golf net in my backyard so I started practicing and recording my swing. I live in the Phoenix AZ area. That lead me down a rabbit hole of suck. I noticed every thing I was doing wrong. That lead me to buying a bunch of training aids that have probably made me worse. Just got back from the driving range and at best I haven’t improved. At worst I’ve regressed.