Jump to content
Check out the Spin Axis Podcast! ×

Recommended Posts

Posted

I was out at the wknd on a course that I had never played before in a society.

My tee shot came to rest between line of golden furz bushes and cart path.  I looked at the lie and figured I could advance this ball nicely down the fairway.  It wasnt the bush that was bothering me but the cart path. Playing partners were high handicappers ( I'll explain why this was relevant ) and only issue they saw was the bush, not the fact that my ball was about 12" from the edge of the path right along the OOB line.  They could not see how a concrete path that was almost 1ft in front of my ball could be deemed to be interfering with my swing.  I have spent lot of time and money to get my swing where I am coming down on the ball with -3 or -4 Deg angle of attack and bottoming out maybe 4 to 5" in front of the ball.   My club was most definitely going to catch the path.  The two guys I was with couldnt grasp this and said any relief I get would be from the bush ( 1 drop shot ) and not free relief from the path which because if they were hitting it then they would have no issue with the path. ie High handicappers only see whats behind the ball,  not whats in front of it.   Ask a scratch golfer to hit a ball 3" infront of a concrete path.  Easy,  just hit it cause they are not concerned with whats behind the ball as they will be striking a descending blow.  High handicapper on the other hand is going to be coming down in most cases a few inches behind the ball and will be put off by the path behind the ball.  I just punched it out from where it was as didnt want to upset any one.  So in short what would you have done.  ?


  • Moderator
Posted
3 minutes ago, jfrain2004 said:

I was out at the wknd on a course that I had never played before in a society.

My tee shot came to rest between line of golden furz bushes and cart path.  I looked at the lie and figured I could advance this ball nicely down the fairway.  It wasnt the bush that was bothering me but the cart path. Playing partners were high handicappers ( I'll explain why this was relevant ) and only issue they saw was the bush, not the fact that my ball was about 12" from the edge of the path right along the OOB line.  They could not see how a concrete path that was almost 1ft in front of my ball could be deemed to be interfering with my swing.  I have spent lot of time and money to get my swing where I am coming down on the ball with -3 or -4 Deg angle of attack and bottoming out maybe 4 to 5" in front of the ball.   My club was most definitely going to catch the path.  The two guys I was with couldnt grasp this and said any relief I get would be from the bush ( 1 drop shot ) and not free relief from the path which because if they were hitting it then they would have no issue with the path. ie High handicappers only see whats behind the ball,  not whats in front of it.   Ask a scratch golfer to hit a ball 3" infront of a concrete path.  Easy,  just hit it cause they are not concerned with whats behind the ball as they will be striking a descending blow.  High handicapper on the other hand is going to be coming down in most cases a few inches behind the ball and will be put off by the path behind the ball.  I just punched it out from where it was as didnt want to upset any one.  So in short what would you have done.  ?

I'd have taken relief, probably.  You decide what interference is, they don't.  Unless you're in a competition, and an official can help make sure you get it right.  Or you might play two balls, under Rule 20.1c(3), if you're in a competition and want to be certain you get it right.  Of course, your Nearest Point of Complete Relief and Relief Area might have been further into the bush, in which case I'd have played it as it was.

  • Informative 1

Dave

:callaway: Rogue SubZero Driver

:titleist: 915F 15 Fairway, 816 H1 19 Hybrid, AP2 4 iron to PW, Vokey 52, 56, and 60 wedges, ProV1 balls 
:ping: G5i putter, B60 version
 :ping:Hoofer Bag, complete with Newport Cup logo
:footjoy::true_linkswear:, and Ashworth shoes

the only thing wrong with this car is the nut behind the wheel.

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • Administrator
Posted

I'm going to push back a little bit, assuming:

  • The cart path is actually 12"+ away from you
  • It's at ground level, not elevated
  • You were hitting a 6I or shorter.

I hit some shots with a towel here and my club didn't contact the towel here 12" in front of my ball position. It's slightly elevated above the mat. I hit on average 4-5° down. Ten swings, didn't hit the towel once. All a 6I.

It's right on the edge of what I'd likely consider relief. I'd probably grant it in a tournament, were I a rules official, but… I don't know that I'd have taken relief myself if I was in that situation (and I'm a bit better than a 6).

It has to be reasonable that the path affects your lie, stance, or area of swing. I'd think you may have a better chance of your stance being slightly on the path than the clubhead hitting it.

But again, it's a grey area for me (this specific situation), and… it assumes the above bullet points are all true.

Erik J. Barzeski —  I knock a ball. It goes in a gopher hole. 🏌🏼‍♂️
Director of Instruction Golf Evolution • Owner, The Sand Trap .com • AuthorLowest Score Wins
Golf Digest "Best Young Teachers in America" 2016-17 & "Best in State" 2017-20 • WNY Section PGA Teacher of the Year 2019 :edel: :true_linkswear:

Check Out: New Topics | TST Blog | Golf Terms | Instructional Content | Analyzr | LSW | Instructional Droplets

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • Moderator
Posted
54 minutes ago, iacas said:

But again, it's a grey area for me (this specific situation), and… it assumes the above bullet points are all true.

I do agree with this, its pretty much impossible to make a definitive ruling based only on a typed description.  In addition to the factors listed, it would also depend on the intended line of play, whether it was more perpendicular to the path (interference more likely), or more parallel (less likely).  I based my initial response on the OPs claim that there was indeed interference.  But based on his description, my best guess is that his relief area would have been into the bushes.

Dave

:callaway: Rogue SubZero Driver

:titleist: 915F 15 Fairway, 816 H1 19 Hybrid, AP2 4 iron to PW, Vokey 52, 56, and 60 wedges, ProV1 balls 
:ping: G5i putter, B60 version
 :ping:Hoofer Bag, complete with Newport Cup logo
:footjoy::true_linkswear:, and Ashworth shoes

the only thing wrong with this car is the nut behind the wheel.

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted
2 hours ago, jfrain2004 said:

I was out at the wknd on a course that I had never played before in a society. I just punched it out from where it was as didnt want to upset any one.  So in short what would you have done.  ?

Not sure I'm picturing it correctly.

Was the path parallel to or perpendicular to the line of play?

How were the bushes orientated?


Posted

Path was directly between ball and green. Nearest point of relief was  probably the other side of path as there was only a thin slip of ground between the path and oob (small bushes on all of it) all along which the path was interfering with my stance or swing. 


  • Administrator
Posted
2 hours ago, jfrain2004 said:

Path was directly between ball and green. Nearest point of relief was  probably the other side of path as there was only a thin slip of ground between the path and oob (small bushes on all of it) all along which the path was interfering with my stance or swing. 

I'm having trouble picturing this. Could you take a photo of the area with your ball near where it was, or draw a picture, or point us to Google Earth or something?

Erik J. Barzeski —  I knock a ball. It goes in a gopher hole. 🏌🏼‍♂️
Director of Instruction Golf Evolution • Owner, The Sand Trap .com • AuthorLowest Score Wins
Golf Digest "Best Young Teachers in America" 2016-17 & "Best in State" 2017-20 • WNY Section PGA Teacher of the Year 2019 :edel: :true_linkswear:

Check Out: New Topics | TST Blog | Golf Terms | Instructional Content | Analyzr | LSW | Instructional Droplets

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted

The description is confusing. 

I agree it is a grey area for me.

Do you get a drop if you are worried about hitting the path? What is the definition of interference? Like, reasonably sure it will interfere or could interfere?

Can you purposely not take practice swings to confirm, so you can take the drop. 😉

 

Matt Dougherty, P.E.
 fasdfa dfdsaf 

What's in My Bag
Driver; :pxg: 0311 Gen 5,  3-Wood: 
:titleist: 917h3 ,  Hybrid:  :titleist: 915 2-Hybrid,  Irons: Sub 70 TAIII Fordged
Wedges: :edel: (52, 56, 60),  Putter: :edel:,  Ball: :snell: MTB,  Shoe: :true_linkswear:,  Rangfinder: :leupold:
Bag: :ping:

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now


  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • TST Partners

    PlayBetter
    Golfer's Journal
    ShotScope
    The Stack System
    FitForGolf
    FlightScope Mevo
    Direct: Mevo, Mevo+, and Pro Package.

    Coupon Codes (save 10-20%): "IACAS" for Mevo/Stack/FitForGolf, "IACASPLUS" for Mevo+/Pro Package, and "THESANDTRAP" for ShotScope. 15% off TourStriker (no code).
  • Posts

    • Wordle 1,652 X/6* 🟨⬜⬜⬜⬜ ⬜⬜🟨⬜⬜ ⬜🟩⬜🟩🟩 ⬜🟩🟩🟩🟩 ⬜🟩🟩🟩🟩 ⬜🟩🟩🟩🟩 Yup - one of those Wordle moments….
    • The term I hear most often is "double teeing" which means the course/club has starting times from both the #1 and #10 tee.  I have encountered this many times and we know if we are the first group off #10, we may well get to #1 and have to wait because there are groups still with tee times yet to tee of #1.  In most instances, where the course/club has a starter, he normally explains this situation.  In this case, the pro advised what you would could/would encounter making the turn to #1.  And, that is exactly what happened.  Probably would have been wise to talk to the pro after playing back 9 and ask when you could go off #1 since apparently that club does not double tee.   Regardless, the outburst towards the other group was uncalled for.  And, I don't blame the member for being upset.  As a member of a private club, you are responsible for the actions of your guest.  I have played many times as a guest in the UK and I am pretty damn sure my host was responsible for my actions while at the club.  I know at the clubs I have belonged to here in the US, that is the way it is.  As a matter of fact, the member may find himself being brought before management and facing possible suspension.  So, I don't blame him for being upset.  However, as the host, he really should have stepped up and put a stop to the OP's actions.  OP makes this statement "I now understand that standards are different on the "private course." But I'll take those lessons to the muni, too."  No, the standards are not different.  You, sir, seem to be just a bit hard headed and belligerent, even if you are college professor...which possibly explains a lot.   JMHO
    • Day 32: worked for about 10 minutes on my drill. Filmed it as well for a check in. I think it’s slightly better but still seeing some issues. 
    • Day 44 (26 Dec 25)  -  played in the Friday men’s shootout with a twist - used the Toney Penna persimmons and MacGregor blades - had a blast playing these clubs.  They really help in zoning in on making solid ball contact.  Scoring was solid - had several looks at birdie and had a few par saves.  Overall a day of focused course management. 
    • Day 2: 2025.12.27 Eighteen holes at Kauri Cliffs. Focusing on trying to keep flex in right leg during backswing.
×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.