IGNORED

when to switch to blades

donkba
Note: This thread is 5689 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

ive been playing for about 2 years and am playing off 14. my current clubs are mid sized cavity backs and the reason i am off 14 is because i cannot hit my driver very well (average about 220 yards) and due to the fact that i have not got a full set of clubs (driver, 6i, 8i, 9i, sw, putter) so some greens are out of reach. i hit my irons very well and it is probably the strongest part of my game, my distances are: 6i - 180 yards
8i - 150 yards
9i - 140 yards
sw - 100 yards
so you see, i have trouble on the course where i would normally use a 5 iron because i have to muscle a 6 iron the same distance and the 7 iron and pw distances, so i am looking for some new irons to last me a while and was wondering whether you think i would be ready for blades based on the distance i hit my current clubs (btw im fairly consistent with them) as i was thinking if i get cavity backs and get to about 5 handicap or below, i would need some blades anyway, but if i got blades now and got down to 5 with them, then i would not have to change clubs.

You don't need blades when you reach single and below. There are pros using cavity backs all the time.

To find out what you need, take a trip to your local dealer and try out different sets.

Ogio Grom | Callaway X Hot Pro | Callaway X-Utility 3i | Mizuno MX-700 23º | Titleist Vokey SM 52.08, 58.12 | Mizuno MX-700 15º | Titleist 910 D2 9,5º | Scotty Cameron Newport 2 | Titleist Pro V1x and Taylormade Penta | Leupold GX-1

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

as i was thinking if i get cavity backs and get to about 5 handicap or below, i would need some blades anyway, but if i got blades now and got down to 5 with them, then i would not have to change clubs.