IGNORED

Fixed my slice/pull by doing the opposite to Hogan!

Note: This thread is 1111 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

This isn't an anti-Hogan post, far from it, but I thought I'd share my variation on the Hogan set-up because it really has done wonders for me. My "bad" shot has always been a pull slice or if I leave the face open (rarely) a normal slice. I'm self-taught but have used the fundamentals as as my main source of guidance. Hogan set up his swing to guard against the hook, his bad shot. That got me thinking isn't a pull slice/normal slice basically the polar opposite of a hook?

Keeping the same stance (that is my right foot is about 6 inches behind my left foot, set-up for a draw) exactly the way Hogan suggested. I did the exact opostite of what Hogan said to do with my feet. That is, I turned my right foot away from me about 20 degrees (to encourage a full hip turn) and:

This is the biggest discovery I would urge all slicers to try, instead of fanning out my left foot, I have it pointing slightly inwards so its almost trying to point at the ball. It feels like there's quite alot of tension but that's the key to it. If you concentrate on keeping it there through impact (basically just hitting into your new hard left side) then I guarentee you wont drag the club inside through impact like slicers do, its basically impossible to do!

I'm hitting a consistant mid-height draw EVERY time! Had to share this with you guys because I figured if it could help me then it could help someone else in the same boat (I'm given to understand there are a few slicers out there!)

Shot a 76 yesterday, never been so excited about golf!
  • Thumbs Up 1

In the Bag:

R7 Draw, stiff Exsar FS2
F-50 3-wood, stiff Exsar FS2