Jump to content
Subscribe to the Spin Axis Podcast! ×
Note: This thread is 5510 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Recommended Posts

Posted
Today, I hit a drive which came to rest about an inch behind the 100 yard marker. This course has stakes that stick out of the ground for yardage markers which are just on the edge of the fairway. I was playing by myself, so I took a drop, but I'm wondering what the ruling would be. I wasn't up against it, but I certainly would have crashed into it on my downswing. Would this be the same as landing on a sprinkler head or something similar?

Any ideas?

Posted
I believe this falls under man made object, i believe you get, one (or two, cant remember) clubs lengths no closer to the hole.

Matt Dougherty, P.E.
 fasdfa dfdsaf 

What's in My Bag
Driver; :pxg: 0311 Gen 5,  3-Wood: 
:titleist: 917h3 ,  Hybrid:  :titleist: 915 2-Hybrid,  Irons: Sub 70 TAIII Fordged
Wedges: :edel: (52, 56, 60),  Putter: :edel:,  Ball: :snell: MTB,  Shoe: :true_linkswear:,  Rangfinder: :leupold:
Bag: :ping:

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted
Most courses I have seen with poles for markers have poles that come out of the ground. It is usually PVC and there is a corresponding how for the pole so you pull it out and then put it back in. If it is imovable then I would have to think you would get a free drop because of immovable man made object.

Posted
It was wooden, about 4 inches across and immovable from what I can tell. I took a club length. Seems like I did the right thing. Thanks for the replies.

Posted
  anthony said:
Today, I hit a drive which came to rest about an inch behind the 100 yard marker. This course has stakes that stick out of the ground for yardage markers which are just on the edge of the fairway. I was playing by myself, so I took a drop, but I'm wondering what the ruling would be. I wasn't up against it, but I certainly would have crashed into it on my downswing. Would this be the same as landing on a sprinkler head or something similar?

You're entitled to one club length no nearer the hole (man made obstruction).


Posted
  cougar978 said:
You're entitled to one club length no nearer the hole (man made obstruction).

He was entitled to determine the nearest point of relief, THEN measure one club length from that point, not closer to the hole.

Rick

"He who has the fastest cart will never have a bad lie."

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted
That stinks that it was permanent.

Yeah all the courses I have played the yardage markers as described by the OP do not move.

In my SasQuatch carry bag.
909D2 9.5* (Aldila Voodo Shaft)
FT 3W 15* (Fujikura E370 Shaft Stiff Flex)
FT Hybrid 21* Nuetral (Fujikura Fit On M Hybrid Stiff Flex)
FT Hybrid 24* Nuetral (Fujikura Fit On M Hybrid Stiff Flex)Irons: X22 Tour 5 thru PW (True Temper Dynamic Gold S300) 2* upright (also...


Posted
Stance and one club length.

Driver: Titleist 907D2 9.5 Stiff
Hybrid: Adams Pro Black 18*
Irons: Mizuno MP60 (4-PW)
Wedges: Vokey SM 50/54/58/62
Putter: Yes! CallieBall: TM PentaHome course: DeBell Golf Club http://www.debellgolf.com/


Posted
  leezer99 said:
Stance and one club length.

Not sure what you mean by "stance," but you get to find the nearest point that provides you full relief (both stance and stroke path but NOT line of play) from the obstruction. Then you get one club length from that point, not nearer to the hole.

That is, unless there's a local rule declaring the markers to be an integral part of the course. From the local rules for Rancho Park here in LA:
  None said:
Yardage Markers - All 200, 150, and 100 yard markers (posts) may be removed. The base of these posts is considered part of the course. If the ball should come to rest near these bases, no drop without penalty is allowed.

In the bag:
FT-iQ 10° driver, FT 21° neutral 3H
T-Zoid Forged 15° 3W, MX-23 4-PW
Harmonized 52° GW, Tom Watson 56° SW, X-Forged Vintage 60° LW
White Hot XG #1 Putter, 33"


Posted
  zeg said:
Not sure what you mean by "stance," but you get to find the nearest point that provides you full relief (both stance and stroke path but NOT line of play) from the obstruction. Then you get one club length from that point, not nearer to the hole.

Gotta say... that's a silly rule. Relief from the movable part but none from the immovable part? I would bet that if there was ever a USGA sanctioned competition there, that local rule would be suspended for the tournament. It simply makes no sense to penalize a player for a one in a thousand hard luck lie where the rules normally allow relief.

Rick

"He who has the fastest cart will never have a bad lie."

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted
  Fourputt said:
Gotta say... that's a silly rule. Relief from the movable part but none from the immovable part? I would bet that if there was ever a USGA sanctioned competition there, that local rule would be suspended for the tournament. It simply makes no sense to penalize a player for a one in a thousand hard luck lie where the rules normally allow relief.

agreed. unless it is below ground or something along those lines.

In my bag:

some golf clubs

a few golf balls

a bag of tee's some already broken the rest soon to be

a snickers wrapper (if you have seen me play, you would know you are not going anywhere for a while)

and an empty bottle of water


Posted
Yeah, I haven't ever seen that and had to read it three times when I was getting ready to play there for the first time a few weeks ago. I have no idea what the thinking is, but they're very clear about it. Maybe Shindig has some inside knowledge, I know he plays there regularly...

In the bag:
FT-iQ 10° driver, FT 21° neutral 3H
T-Zoid Forged 15° 3W, MX-23 4-PW
Harmonized 52° GW, Tom Watson 56° SW, X-Forged Vintage 60° LW
White Hot XG #1 Putter, 33"


Note: This thread is 5510 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now


×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...