IGNORED

Buying New Irons Where to Start?

Note: This thread is 4740 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

I'm looking to replace my irons and I'm finding it quite complicated.

First off I'm currently sporting MD Golf 3-SW which must be about 10 Years old. These were oversize, cavity backed 'game improvement irons' bought off the shelf. I've got on well with them but now I'm far from a beginner (6hcp), they are a bit worn and who is to know if they are the correct fit!. I'm fairly convinced they don't suit me as some of my distances are a bit weak although I can produce arrow straight mid iron shots at will. Needless to say they need replaced.

The problem is I find it so hard to narrow it down to what I want. I'm fairly sure I want some kind of 'player's iron'. In fact I like the look of some blades quite a lot. I like the tradition, I like the style and I like the simplicity of a nice blade like Miura Blades 2007. I like the idea that I would get a very good fitting for them. I've seen them for 825gbp and that price I like but I've also seen them quoted for 1300gbp- crazy!

Lastly I worry that for the sake of vanity or nice to look at clubs (which I would feel good about) and bearing in mind they are very good quality of course, I still wonder if I'd be doing myself a disservice by not going for something that is a bit more forgiving? There is no point in being billy big balls with the blades if they are going to cost me a stroke or any part of a stroke per round. I suppose it is a question of the gain in workability vs the punishment for off centre strikes.